We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, okay service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Self catering apartments have all that one may ask for. Including view of the mountains and sparkling pool.

Downside was the one-person reception, which meant you would wait 100% of the time. Breakfast was missing variety, but good view of the greens.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

If you are a golfer, its probably a good choice. But otherwise, it doesn't have a great location for Stellenbosch (need to drive 10-15 minutes to get to have dinnner in town for instance), accomodations are OK, staff is undertrained ( e.g. at breakfast had to try twice to get non-herbal tea when I asked for black or english breakfast tea), I had booked 3 nights by mistake and when trying to cancel the last night, at first was told I could, later was told I had to go thru booking.com, they said check with the hotel, etc - a waste of time, they finally said I couldn't, which is perhaps is correct - but should have been clearer from the beginning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank az-france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

it was the 7th time in Devonvale, now refurbished and even better as before!
Golf and Wine very close and Stellenbosch with all the resaturants in the neighborhood.
Also the restaurant of Devonvale serves good food for accepable prices!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Horst R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have been staying at Devonvale for four weeks jan-feb 2014. What a wonderful place! Everything is exactly where you want it. We rented a Holiday House which was superb. Large enough for us to invite two friends to visit us and no problems with three toilets...

Restaurant is extremely good and priceworthy with very very nice staff.

The golfcourse has an excellent layout and you can play it many times without getting bored. A little faster greens would be nice but what the... To us the best course in Stellenbosch.

We are also hoping to be able to return next year and we will be back if our health allows us.

There are only two drawbacks which might be mentioned: Wifi is not working very well but that goes for all South Africa. Telekom is not doing a good job. The other is that there are not enough golf carts at the club. I have hip problems that will be operated within two weeks so next year I hope to be able to walk the course!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Guest
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our place and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.
I would like to let you know that we already ordered more golf carts for the season 2014/2015. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience, but we never had such a big demand for golf carts then this year.
See you next year.
Kind regards
Esther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Devonvale is a beautiful golf resort and just half an hour away from Cape Town. Perfect option for a family or group driving and would like to stay in the vicinity of a small town yet be close to city. Stellenbosch has some lovely restaurants should you wish to step out.
The resort doesn't have many food options, but has a nice little canteen.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shravan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel was booked for us by our TravelAgent and what a good choice it was. The rooms were pristine clean and well equipped. The staff were extremely friendly and fell over themselves to be helpful. The restaurant manager was an absolute delight giving care and attention to every aspect of your stay. The set meal in the restaurant was 3 course,fine dining,at 130Rand which represented exceptional value for money. If you want to explore the Winelands this is an excellent base.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnfurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

What a fantastic place to go and play golf. Set right on the coast with many holes crossing water or valleys. The views were just awesome and the course is in great condition. The greens are not too quick due to protection from the breeze!

The 2 bed lodge I stayed in was nice but just needed a bit of an update paint and decor wise but was comfortable. You cannot take your car to your lodge so are ferried about by the hotel shuttles and golf carts which are quick and timely. The clubhouse serves good food and wine and if you like there is a casino on site as well. The guys at the golf club are really helpful and keep you on track.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
951 reviews
6.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,063 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
946 reviews
5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £63 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing