We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Cold, clinical and unfriendly. I stayed for 3 days (wedding at neighbouring venue) - the cleaning staff - who do not wash dishes apparently - only "service" the room at 2pm. Service means make bed, change towels - no real cleaning. Room service only until 20:30 ... No eggs one morning at breakfast ...R100 to replace a damaged key card...Staff seem frightened of putting one step wrong - so don't actually move. Overpriced, overpromised and totally underwhelming

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PamGuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Mrs Guilherme

We were all very surprised when we received your revue, as all your family members enjoyed their stay with us and want to come back again.
What you describe as cold and clinical is for other people a very stylish and modern design.
It is true that we don't clean the dishes in the rooms as families cooks up a storm and use each and every pot and we would need hours to clean this up again. The staff comes in daily and cleans the whole room or apartment and does not only make the beds. It is very difficult for the cleaning staff to handle all rooms at once. They already start at 6am every morning and not at 2pm, most guests enjoy to sleep late and only want their rooms cleaned after they've had breakfast and are ready for the new day. This means the cleaner can only go in the rooms after 10 or 11 and as mentioned, they are not able to prepare all 60 rooms at the same time and do all the dishes in the apartment as well.

It is also not fair to write that we didn't have eggs for breakfast. You came quite late for breakfast and the waiters explained to you that you have to wait a few minutes as the delivery of the stock came late too and the supplier just arrived - all the guest before had eggs and you were served a few minutes later with eggs as well.
If you check our hotel booklet and our webpage you will find the information that the kitchen takes the last order at 9pm.

Regarding your room card: The deposit of the room key was displayed on all invoices and if you loose or damage the card you have to pay the R100 which is a normal in the hospitality business.

I, myself was on duty on that wedding weekend and I had lovely responds from the guests, as we also organized shuttles, found lost properties, made special arrangements for the guests and the bride, groom, in-laws, friends & families were very happy, it is a pity that you didn't enjoy your stay.

Kind regards
Esther Provoyeur
- Hotel Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    145
    32
    16
    9
See reviews for
64
127
9
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Our sons family wedding , meant that numerous family and guest stayed overnight at Devonvale. Your staff were both friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble.
All Loved the stay.
Thank You for a professional , and friendly stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Vanessa
I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us.
I would like to give back a compliment as you were great guests and it was a pleasure arranging all requests around your stay.
We wish you, the young couple and your family all the best for the future and I am sure we will see you again another time.
Kind regards
Esther
- Hotel Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Expected this place to be better based on reviews.... disappointed in general.

When we arrived the staff was unfriendly and we seemed as though we were an inconvenience to them (not many people staying in the 30 room lodge, so maybe we were)
Things we noticed:
1) No Smoke Detector in room
2) Only one roll of toilet paper in bathroom
3) No Tissue/Kleenex in rooms
4) No wash cloths (maybe this is common in South Africa)
5) No sheet on the bed
6) Very uncomfortable beds
7) No ice machine
8) Reception was closed from 10p-6a, so if you had questions or problems at those times, no luck
9) Went to the bar to get a drink at 9:45 (the sign said open until 11) - but they told me they closed early because nobody was in there and turned me away

Would not recommend

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther P, Manager at Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest
thank you for submitting your review which I would like to respond with this email:
- When you arrived the smoking detector in one room was faulty which had to be replaced - this was done on the next day. This missing detector didn't make your stay unsafe as all the other rooms including corridor had the detectors. Those detectors are more for us to know when someone is "smoking" in his/her room.
- The rooms/apartment gets cleaned every day where we keep one toilet roll on the holder and one toilet roll as a spare. Under normal circumstances (and even if somebody has any healthy/medical problems) those 2 rolls should be enough for 2 people per day. Unfortunately toilet rolls get stolen when we put more than necessary in the bathrooms - I apologize if those 2 rolls were not enough for you per day.
- No sheet /washing cloths: We try to run our hotel eco-friendly and ask our guests to assist us with this mission. We also explain this in our hotel booklet and as many other hotel we suggest to use towels more than once if possible, but if you need to have more you can ask for assistance. In your case we even changed your towels more than once per day as you requested fresh towels every time. Most people are not using sheets anymore but they are asking for good linen which we provide - we respect every request and hand out extra sheets and face cloths to guests as described in the hotel booklet.
- 99% of the people are loving the new beds and asked were they can buy it. It is very difficult to please everybody's sense, which is the same for wine, food, colour, movies... etc. But we believe in the opinion of most of our guests who recommend and feel comfortable in those beds.
- Sorry, we didn't know that you are looking for ice as we could have organized it for you, even that your apartment (room 17) has the fridge with the ice department which provides an ice tray as well.
- yes, it is true that the reception closes at 10pm in the evening but it says in the booklet and at reception that you can dial 5000 and we will assist you - I was on duty and didn't receive any call where I could have assist you with.

Thank you for your understanding.

Kind regards
Esther
- Hotel Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hotel in general was very good. Nice rooms and Pool. Reception staff very helpful. The restaurant was not however of the standard we had come to know and love in SA. The menu was not very inspiring and the food quality for both dinner and breakfast was standard at best. This was the only disappointment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Self catering apartments have all that one may ask for. Including view of the mountains and sparkling pool.

Downside was the one-person reception, which meant you would wait 100% of the time. Breakfast was missing variety, but good view of the greens.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st paul france
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

If you are a golfer, its probably a good choice. But otherwise, it doesn't have a great location for Stellenbosch (need to drive 10-15 minutes to get to have dinnner in town for instance), accomodations are OK, staff is undertrained ( e.g. at breakfast had to try twice to get non-herbal tea when I asked for black or english breakfast tea), I had booked 3 nights by mistake and when trying to cancel the last night, at first was told I could, later was told I had to go thru booking.com, they said check with the hotel, etc - a waste of time, they finally said I couldn't, which is perhaps is correct - but should have been clearer from the beginning.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank az-france
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt Germany
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

it was the 7th time in Devonvale, now refurbished and even better as before!
Golf and Wine very close and Stellenbosch with all the resaturants in the neighborhood.
Also the restaurant of Devonvale serves good food for accepable prices!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Horst R K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,846 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
601 reviews
4.2 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
391 reviews
5.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate

Property: Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Address: Bottelary Road, Stellenbosch 7605, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing