We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week at Die Laan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
Columbia, Maryland, Usa
1 review
“A week at Die Laan”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Fantastic rooms, nice private pool, very comfortable, and great food. Could use a little more variety with the warm breakfast, but the rest of the food was terrific. Close to great restaurants and touristy area, but far enough that it is nice and quiet. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is such detailed commentary that helps us to improve our guests' experience at 22 Die Laan Guest House.

I would really appreciate specific suggestions regarding the warm breakfast.

And we hope to see you back at our establishment at some point in the future!

Kind regards

Ounin Arndt
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    20
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
14
25
8
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just spent a week at the Die Laan Guest House in February. So many great things to say about this place!....

The staff were so friendly and helpful. They always greeted me with a smile at breakfast and didnt hesitate to let me print out something on the printer or provide me with an outlet adapter for the week. Even the owner, Ounin, made a point to welcome us personally. There were a few days when there was town roadwork being done out front and while the noise was not a bother at all, Ounin was so nice to apologize and ensure we were enjoying our stay.

The breakfast here is amazing! Great selection of fruits, cereal, eggs and sausage everyday. They usually had a homemade treat as well which was always the highlight - kudos on the berry smoothie and banana muffins!

The rooms were beautiful and clean and the bathrooms were big and modern. The room had a TV with movie selections and the free wifi was unbeatable.

The location was great, an easy walk to the university or to the downtown shops.

If I am ever lucky enough to visit Stellenbosch again I will stay there without question and recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms, so book right away if considering it! Ask for a room by the pool, its q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Guest

What an absolute pleasure to receive your review! Thanks for everything you said, and for how specifically you commented on so many aspects pertaining to our guest house.

It really is gratifying to get such appreciative feedback from a guest, as very member of our team works really hard to ensure that the needs of our guests are met as best possible.

We hope to be able to host you again at 22 Die Laan Guest House at some point in the future.

Kindest regards

Ounin Arndt
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iwerne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our party of four could not have had a better experience. Just everything was perfect. The staff at 22 Die Laan could not have been more friendly, helpful or attentive. Breakfast was a delight, beautifully presented with an excellent selection. The rooms were very clean and well presented. The location was perfect and we were guided to some excellent restaurants within five minutes walk. Stellenbosch is a vibrant town within easy reach of Cape Town. This was a true 5 Star experience which we will have great pleasure in recommending to all our friends travelling to the region.

Room Tip: The rooms with a clear pool view are the best and we particularly liked Tilla
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pwi747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest

Wow, what a review! You have no idea how much it means to each and everyone at 22 Die Laan Guest House to get such wonderful feedback.
We strive daily to make our guests' stay as comfortable, pleasurable and memorable as possible, so it is with the deepest gratitude that we take cognisance of your comments.

We wish you the best; may we have the privilege of hosting you again at some point in the future.

Kindest regards

Ounin Arndt
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have a great stay with 22 Die Laan Guest House. The room was very nice and clean and the service was great. Only 5-10 minutes' walk to the city centre. We had to leave for the airport prior to "normal" breakfast hours, but that was no problem because the staff prepared a lovely breakfast for us anyway. Would recommend the Guest House to everyone visiting Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneLindskou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Guest

How wonderful to receive a review such as yours - thank you very much!!

It really gives me great satisfaction that the hard work and effort of all the staff is noticed. Every single member of our team strives to attend to the needs of our guests as best possible, in order to make their stay with us as comfortable as possible.

We look forward to hosting you at 22 Die Laan Guest House again at some point in the future.

Warm regards

Ounin Arndt
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Good value for money. Rooms are good and I would also always use them. The proposed recommendation would be to provide access to the main stream channels on satelite TV. I get the sense that customers only have access to the secondary channels

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Valter *
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review 22 Die Laan Guest House. I am glad you had a positive experience staying with us.

Thank you also for the suggestion regarding the TV channels. However, we provide a full Bouquet TV Package as used by most Guest Houses and Hotels. In fact, we offer the extra SKY News channel, which is not standard. We also provide die Dutch BVN News channel which is also not standard. Our TV channels include all the best SA Sports and Movie Channels, as well as a variety of News and Religious channels as well as a weather channel.

Kind regards

Ounin Arndt

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Askim, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2013

The guesthouse 22 Die Laan has a very good position near the town center. Only like 10 minutes walk. The rooms are large with good bed. The service are excellent , and you really get a VIP feeling. The feeling was to have a own swimming pool in the room as it was just a step out of the room. The tv was very small and up in the roof so it was quite useless, but there are better things to do in Stellenbosh then look on tv. Personal is helpful selecting wine farms of special interest to visit

Room Tip: Take a suite in the garden as they are larger , and the pool is outside the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for appreciative review. It really means a lot to get such positive feedback, especially about our personnel and the service that they strive to keep at a level of excellence on a continuous basis.

We are especially thrilled that we made you feel like a VIP, and it will be a privilege to host you again in future.

Kind regards

Ounin Arndt
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Everything was great and comforable and clean and great linen.
Nothing to small for them to help out from directions to borrowing a tape measure.
My only suggestion would be to have a summer (cotton)dressing gown in the hot months.

will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andromahi *
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
22DIELAANGUESTHOUSE, Owner at 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear guest

How wonderful to receive such positive feedback. Thank you so much for your specific comments - that is what helps us at 22 Die Laan Guest House to know what our guests want and need, and how we can continually improve our service and amenities/facilities.

I am also grateful that the efforts of the staff and managers are noticed, because everyone on our team works very hard to serve our guests as best possible.

We certainly look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards

Ounin Arndt
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.4 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
814 reviews
0.3 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,826 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#30 of 112 in Stellenbosch
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation

Property: 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation
Address: 22 Die Laan Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa (Formerly 22 Die Laan Guest House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At this 6 bedroom luxury establishment in the oak-lined Avenue on the banks of the Eerste River in Stellenbosch, only 4 minutes’ walk from all restaurants, museums, art galleries, shops, the Coetzenburg Sport Stadium & University of Stellenbosch, luxury meets the most modern facilities. Relax in this home-away-from-home where you’ll find the intimacy – yet privacy – you need whilst travelling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 22 Die Laan Self-Catering Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing