We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place for a romantic lunch”
Review of Jordan Restaurant

Jordan Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: George Jardine from his Cape Town buisness has opened a new restraunt
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a romantic lunch”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

While driving from Cape Town we stopped at Jordan, hoping to get a table. There is a small, casual deli spot here to get a sandwich and some superb wine. And there is a nicer patio on which one can spend a couple of hours eating fantastic food, drinking superb wine, and getting incredibly attentive service. For the patio, one needs a reservation. We were lucky; there was a cancelation, so we sat on the patio. Ah, the view! One looks out at the vineyard, a lake, and the mountains. The food is among the best in the wine country. Fish, meat, game, you name it, all delicious and prepared with great originality. The high point was the desert--a poppy seed soufflé, perfectly prepared and brought to the table by the chef herself. You'd have a hard time finding a nicer spot for a long lunch.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank whaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    165
    58
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“TRANSCENDENTAL”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

To be honest, I have commented after dining here before, but another life-changing experience later and I feel compelled to testify, again! I bear witness to the food, the food and nothing but the food. Exhibit1. A 3D edible portrait, depicting "Kuite" (aka fish roe) and smoked pork cheek on an island forest of nasturtiums and a trove hidden treasures (Pic submitted). Exhibit 2. The Foie Gras Epic: seared foie gras with a bouillon of Angus Steak and marrow dumplings. Singularly, the Foie Gras of my life. (Pic submitted). Thank you, my Lady, that is my testimony.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nick581218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

being someone that eats out a lot i was looking forward to n nice meal,but to my disapointment it was not to be,except for the fact that they charge R 275 for a two course meal and R325 for a three course meal the food was average and the portions quite small.this outing i will skip next time.Thats beside the fact that it is a long drive in on a very narrow road.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank schoeman b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Bakery Deli Part - very disappointing”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Went to the Deli part of the Restaurant for my daughters Birthday celebration. The view was spectacular and lovely surroundings. The lunch was a disaster. The steak salad was was anything but appetising and this was ordered by three of the party. The rest was average. We went and selected dessert at the the Bakery and that was great. Overall experience was not great!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Breakfast”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My twins, Bryan and Megan booked a special breakfast at Jordans for their mother on Mothers Day. The view is special and the brunch of a high standard. Sitting inside (too cold out) the wafting aroma of the bakery items nearly drives one to distraction - gosh it's great!!! So great food. ambiance, service and value for money. The main restaurant looks like a need to book as well. Only negative - so wanted one of the choc tarts but all had been reserved - oh well have to return then.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jordan Restaurant also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Jordan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing