We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous, one of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous, one of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

When we arrived were pleased to learn there was valet parking, as its really busy in the centre of Stellenbosch and drove around 4 times trying to find a space!! The staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, we were given good advice where to go & where not to go.
We stayed in room 3 above reception, it was spacious & luxurious with a huge comfy bed & tv. We had views out over Church Street and didn't have any of the noise problems mentioned in other reviews.
Breakfast was lovely, you could have continental and/or cooked breakfast, all of which was perfection. We ate out by the pool, lovely setting & looked after by attentive staff.
The evening menu was limited but this reflects the quality of their food as only the best will do, we felt it was very reasonably priced considering what we had.
If I could, I would stay here forever!!

Room Tip: Take advantage of valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superlois987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    515
    157
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
84
418
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in room 1, which is sized like a 3star London hotel, barely room for the bed. Situated right above the open kitchen you hear clanking and talking till late at night. The only window looks out to a wall with a lamp only 2 feet away - imagine my shock when we saw someone walking by, and realized outside the only window was actually an indoor corridor to the lift!!. Can you imagine a 5 star hotel room without a window?!?! To top it off, the bed was quite uncomfortable and air con noisy.
On the bright side, the dinner was excellent, both in service and quality of the food, and breakfast was nice.
Staff were nice and professional, but - we arrived early evening and were told things would soon close. We went out half an hour later anyways and discovered a great wine tasting street party with music and lots of complimentary wines served, just down the block. We were really surprised the staff hadn't recommended it, half an hour later and we would have missed out the fun.
Had the manager or any of the staff asked how we enjoyed our stay we would have definitely told the, but I suspect they know why they don't ask the tenants of room 1...
Our one and only disappointment out of 8 hotels on a 10 day South African vacation

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Opher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent a relaxing couple of days at the hotel before heading off to ride the Cape Argus Cycle Tour. From the moment you arrive the great service, atmosphere and staff makes for a wounderful and relaxing stay. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff who go out of their way to accommodate guests. This was the second time we visited the Hotel and were happy to see that their very high standards remain.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkArendse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had the most wonderfull stay at the Coopmanshuijs Hotel. Thank you Ilzebet, your are such a gracious host. Excellent supper - best Kabeljou (fish) I have had in years. And the bonus is that Coopmanshuijs is in the middle of Stellenbosch in interesting Church street. Lizzy

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

A big thumbs up for Elizabeth (the owner). Such an elegant lady with beautiful tastes which shows in every bit of this lovely B&B. The rooms are lovely, done up with the elegance of the old charm.
Right in the heart of the lovely town of Stellenbosch you could not ask for a better location. You have the choice of a variety of restaurants right at your doorstep. The Spa at the hotel was wonderful.
We had the privilege of having elizabeth offer to take us personally for our wine tour which was fantastic. Delaire, Tokara, Rust en Verde, Ernie ells all had something unique to offer besides their lovely wines. The breakfast was delicious. If you want to stay in town and visit the wine yards in the day this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vas76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

The minute we arrived at Coopmanhuijs the manager, Elizabet, made us feel incredibly welcome and it wasn't long before I was wishing I'd booked for 2 nights instead of 1.

I just read a very negative review of this hotel posted not long ago and it goes to show expectations are everything when it comes to enjoying (or not in his case) a hotel. The website refers to '5 star quality' which i agree is a bit misleading as it's clearly a 4 star hotel by most people's standards.

But what a delightful 4 star hotel it is - we stayed in room 8 which was perfectly adequate in size and had a balcony overlooking the small pool. There was definitely nothing faulty towers about our stay here and I've been fortunate to stay at some incredible 5 and 6 star hotels throughout the world.

The location really is perfect to explore Stellenbosch town centre and the street is full of really nice cafes/bistros and shops.

Breakfast was good but not outstanding (i have to agree that they should change to fresh OJ) - if we had stayed for 2 nights I would have had lunch or dinner as I saw some of the lunch dishes being served and they looked good.

However we had dinner at Delaire Graff which is stunning and Elizabet very kindly drove us there and collected us after dinner. Another reason I love staying in good boutique hotels - they often go out of their way to help you.

Next time I come to Stellenbosch I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanpa_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

This establishment appears to have a serious identity crisis; it is certainly not a 5-star Boutique Hotel, but should probably best be described as a 4-star Townhouse Hotel, though on the amazing experience we had there this month two stars is generous. We arrived for the final three nights of what had been an excellent South African vacation, having reserved a "Deluxe Suite with two en suite bathrooms". On arrival we were shown to a small, dark and noisy double bedroom, with a single bathroom. Fortunately I had the detailed booking confirmation with me, and the bewildered front desk staff were able to print-off an identical confirmation from their system, yet the reality is that this hotel does not have any suites ! In fact the biggest issue at Coopmanshuijs is that they have tried to create too many rooms, with the result that none of them, despite some good bathrooms, are 5-star ! The GM was absent, so the front desk staff tried really hard to find us alternative accommodation in the area, but with no success, so we were stuck with making the best of it, and picked the best room that Coopmanhuijs had available; this was a considerable improvement over the first offering, but was still probably not more than 33sq,m. including a 9sq.m bathroom. Most rooms I saw were relatively small, dark and/or noisy. Late in the afternoon the GM arrived, and was effusively apologetic, blaming her marketing department and the booking system; I demonstated that the room I had supposedly booked was through the hotel's own Website, and had been offered for a year or more. I even pursuaded her to go into the Website in my presence, where it still boasted that "Three of the 14 bedrooms have their own small lounges ...." In fact, as I write this report, the Website has still not been amended, despite her assurances, and this is truly unacceptable practice ! There are actually 16 rooms in the hotel, so maybe one might draw conclusions as to where the extra two rooms came from ? Incidentally, I had even been charged a deposit based on an apparently fictitious rate which was 150% of that for the best room that actually exists ! Whatever, we had no alternative but to make the best of it with our new room, and set out to enjoy Stellenbosch Town, for which the hotel is indeed excellently located. I am fully aware that Coopmanhuijs has received a lot of favourable ratings, but tend to think that some guests are not really benchmarking true 5-star establishments, possibly because, once you eliminate the non-existent suites, Coopmanshuijs does not charge 5-star rates. 5-Star means getting it right from the moment you enter the premises, not dropping the ball and then mounting a charm offensive. 5-Star also means that you might expect used glasses, bottles and towels to be removed from the pool area, something that did not happen for an hour or more while we were there. 5-star means not reprimanding junior staff in front of guests. 5-star should probably mean having freshly squeezed juice for breakfast, or cornflakes available, or traditional marmalade, or a toaster that can produce toast in less than 6 minutes per slice. The 'Fawlty Towers' tag came unprompted from another guest after witnessing the daily toast debacle, but it truly fitted our experience here. The front desk staff certainly did their best to recover things, and junior staff are all friendly and helpful, but somehow there's a poor atmosphere and apparently little to smile about. This hotel has masses of potential, but the owners need to decide what to make of it. It can be a 5-star boutique hotel, but that will require remodelling and reducing the number of rooms, jacking-up the service and putting-up the prices. If it is to be a 4-star Townhouse hotel with small rooms, then make that decision, drop the pretention, and improve the atmosphere. I regret to write such a bad review, but we are experienced international travellers, including within South Africa, and this was a debacle of extraordinary proportions. The fact that the Website is still unamended is unprofessional, inexcusable and speaks for itself.

Room Tip: Do not trust the Website ! Call the hotel and get an exact specification of what you are actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing