We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

. . . in a great location.
We were in room 10 which has a small balcony which was nice to sit on in the early evening.
The room and bathroom were big enough and really clean and comfortable with the mush need aircon.
Everything we had read about the hotel was true, nothing was too much for the staff to do for us.
Everyone there was really friendly and courteous. Good selection of food for breakfast - dinner menu needs more to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

705 - 711 of 871 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2013

Our stay at Coopmanhuijs was excellent. It is a beautifull small hotel. The location is great, in the middle of the center of Stellenbosch. The room was clean. The best thing was the great service the employees of Coopmanhuijs provided.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

You can't go wrong with this boutique hotel.
Rooms 8 and 11 are great.
Location is perfect.
Everything in walking distance.
You will feel like family here.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else, even if it was given to me free!
Extra tip: Donna is a fantastic massage therapist. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Numbers 8 and 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

When we arrived were pleased to learn there was valet parking, as its really busy in the centre of Stellenbosch and drove around 4 times trying to find a space!! The staff were welcoming and nothing was too much trouble, we were given good advice where to go & where not to go.
We stayed in room 3 above reception, it was spacious & luxurious with a huge comfy bed & tv. We had views out over Church Street and didn't have any of the noise problems mentioned in other reviews.
Breakfast was lovely, you could have continental and/or cooked breakfast, all of which was perfection. We ate out by the pool, lovely setting & looked after by attentive staff.
The evening menu was limited but this reflects the quality of their food as only the best will do, we felt it was very reasonably priced considering what we had.
If I could, I would stay here forever!!

Room Tip: Take advantage of valet parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superlois987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed for one night in room 1, which is sized like a 3star London hotel, barely room for the bed. Situated right above the open kitchen you hear clanking and talking till late at night. The only window looks out to a wall with a lamp only 2 feet away - imagine my shock when we saw someone walking by, and realized outside the only window was actually an indoor corridor to the lift!!. Can you imagine a 5 star hotel room without a window?!?! To top it off, the bed was quite uncomfortable and air con noisy.
On the bright side, the dinner was excellent, both in service and quality of the food, and breakfast was nice.
Staff were nice and professional, but - we arrived early evening and were told things would soon close. We went out half an hour later anyways and discovered a great wine tasting street party with music and lots of complimentary wines served, just down the block. We were really surprised the staff hadn't recommended it, half an hour later and we would have missed out the fun.
Had the manager or any of the staff asked how we enjoyed our stay we would have definitely told the, but I suspect they know why they don't ask the tenants of room 1...
Our one and only disappointment out of 8 hotels on a 10 day South African vacation

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Opher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Spent a relaxing couple of days at the hotel before heading off to ride the Cape Argus Cycle Tour. From the moment you arrive the great service, atmosphere and staff makes for a wounderful and relaxing stay. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff who go out of their way to accommodate guests. This was the second time we visited the Hotel and were happy to see that their very high standards remain.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkArendse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We had the most wonderfull stay at the Coopmanshuijs Hotel. Thank you Ilzebet, your are such a gracious host. Excellent supper - best Kabeljou (fish) I have had in years. And the bonus is that Coopmanshuijs is in the middle of Stellenbosch in interesting Church street. Lizzy

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,035 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
938 reviews
0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
339 reviews
0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
680 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £115 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing