We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel is hard to fault.

Warm, friendly welcome. Charming, helpful staff. Great food and atmosphere.

The room was small, but cosy and complete. Great to see that wi-fi is included too.

The hotel is located in a quiet street near the centre of Stellenbosch within easy walking of lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Lovely little hotel in the centre of town. Surrounded by outdoor cafes/restaurants, gift stores, galleries very up market. Beautiful town with lovely oak lined narrow one way streets, and yes parking meters. But the hotel does have secure underground parking. The only thing being you have to double park in front of the hotel in the narrow street because you cannot get a parking spot, run into the hotel get someone to go and park your car. You cannot do it yourself, it is a real pain. The same when you want to get your car.The girls at reception are so helpful and friendly. Joanne is exceptional what a gem she goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Also Jana she was in early and usually took us to our car in the garage because the parking attendant wasn't in yet. (We play golf and had some early tee times). These 2 girls just stood out but everyone else also so friendly everyone has a smile.
For some reason we seem to get all the upstairs rooms, this was no exception. Thank goodness they have a lift, a very, very slow one at that, but if you have bags it is necessary. The corridors and stair cases are narrow, but the wall are decorated with lovely prints and mirrors.
The room is small and took a bit of time to decide where to place our 2 large suitcases so they would be out of the way. There is a wardrobe which has a safe, small fridge well stocked with drinks alcoholic and non and a little hanging space. A door leads onto a small balcony overlooking the pool where you can have smoke if you need to. The bed is exceptionally comfy but the quilt had a few noticeable stains on it, being white it could of easily been bleached to remove the satins. The room also has ac, hair dryer, basic toiletries and many large bath towels.
The bathroom is quite roomy with under floor heating, a bath, separate shower, bidet, toilet and 2 individual hand basins. The shower is one of those which hangs over the middle of the shower with a wonderful strong spray. It's like being under a waterfall. The hair dryer is in the bedroom attached to the side of a small writing desk.
Breakfast was included. A long table in the centre of the dining area has yogurts, fruit, meats, pastries, croissants, cheese and breads. The main hot food is ordered from the menu. Very good selection such as French toast, poached eggs with salmon and hollandaise served on a muffin, omelettes and bacon eggs to name a few. Recommended.
The hotel has excellent free wifi in rooms no connection problems or drop out. You get a code that lasts for 3 days then you can get another if your stay is any longer.
The hotel also has a bar, where I noticed you can also get a cappuccino.
Didn't use the pool or the spa facilities so cannot make any comment.
Overall a pleasant stay and the service fantastic. Just couldn't make my review excellent because of the 'crampy' feel of the room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

At Coopmanhuijs we arrived after a 11 hours flight and it was the warmest welcome one can imagine: a glass of wine and a plate with different cheeses, some fruit and ham. Just to make us feel at home and not to let us go and sleep on an empty stomach. The service in general made us feel special. The sommelier has an excellent choice of wines. The chef the cuisine has creative and tasteful recepies, which result in wonderful dishes. Our room was situated at the back of the hotel, overviewing the pool. The hotel is situated in a cosy part of Stellenbosch center. We did not use the spa facilities.The combination of this all makes Coopmanhuijs a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CNH_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Our one night stay was too short. However we were warmly welcome from Wonder and his colleages.
Elizabeth was very kind and flexible and offered us a late check out as our plane was late at night. This small city is safe and offer you a great variety of Restaurant, Wine bars and nice shopping for African Souvenirs.
Thank you
Thierry and Family
Zurich

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Thierry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Third time in Stellenbosch, first time at Coopmanhuijs, and I will return. We had rooms at the front of the hotel and I don't remember being given the choice to upgrade to a room around the pool, which does not mean it did not happen. However, when I return I will require a room at the back to be more quiet. It did not bother me that much as it gets pretty quiet around 11 at night, but it would make our stay more enjoyable.

The service is impeccable from everyone, cooked breakfast is delicious, rooms have a lot of character but the bathrooms are very modern. Nice living room with a fire going in the evening, as it was getting chilly at night outside. We did not use the restaurant but we will next time. The location is central, we walked everywhere.

I wondered though, why if I did not put my turndown chocolates away in a drawer, they disappeared the next day, Same for the piece of fudge that we received on arrival, I left it on my night table to be savoured later, but it disappeared the next day. To be honest, nothing else disappeared but still it's bizarre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kisha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our friends were dropping us off at the hotel, after a long Garden Route trip. We had a triathlon bike, IronMan gear and four cases of wine with us, with no drop off spot in front of the hotel. By the time we had unloaded our luggage a few meters down the street, a staff member had noticed our plight and came properly equipped to haul all our stuff back to the hotel. Check in was a breeze and we were out on Dorp Street for a leisurely stroll. A very nice cafe right next door for a jolt of caffeine and we started looking for a place to eat. Look no further than the hotel's restaurant. We started at the hotel bar, where a very knowledgeable barkeep recommended an excellent wine, which saw us through dinner.
Breakfast was excellent.
The rooms are a bit tight and don't really have a view. The hotel is seems to be a collection of houses, which were somehow connected together to make a larger entity. Very well done!

Room Tip: No one room is alike in this hotel. I would suggest a room on the back side of the hotel, since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trilife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Helenas Restaurant at the Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel and Spa is a welcome break after too many too predictable lunches and dinners.

Excellent food, excellent wine with extremely good service is what this restaurant is about. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will take the drive back to Stellenbosch for just this experience.

Well done to a establishment that is head and shoulders above the rest.

Room Tip: I have stayed here a few times and all the rooms are perfect. Choose to suite your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,907 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £124 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing