We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the heart of Stellenbosch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Stellenbosch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I booked my wife and I into this little boutique hotel for one night after we returned from separate trips overseas. The idea was to just get away from all that was waiting for us at home and enjoy a cosy hotel, watch TV or something and eat good food. The Coopmanhuijs did not disappoint in any area. From the moment we walked in we were treated like royalty. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and proficient. As the hotel is in the heart of the trendy part of Stellenbosch, walking out the friend door you will find yourself faced with many options for lunch or dinner. The hotel has some parking bays so just give your keys to management and they will park your car so you need not worry about security or finding parking anywhere. You will not need your car as most of what you would want to see is in easy walking distance. Breakfast is wonderful so be sure to leave sufficient time in your schedule to sample a bit of everything on the buffet table and cooked breakfasts from the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    495
    154
    29
    12
    8
See reviews for
80
407
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The 5 star boutique hotel is well located right in the heart of Stellenbosch in Church Street, within walking distance to a host of lovely shops and restaurants. Guests have the option of 3 different room types: Petite Rooms, Classic Courtyard Rooms and Classic Manor Rooms – totaling 16 rooms. Each room is carefully finished with a welcome note, Charlotte Rhys amenities, under-floor heating in the bathrooms, fully stocked mini-bar (additional cost), romantic turn down, and separate toilet to bathroom.

The hotel has everything you need from dining options in the newly vamped restaurant, a spa with a 2 treatment rooms, sauna and steam room, wine and lounge bar, free internet, swimming pool, valet parking and very wheelchair friendly.

The staff by far ensured your every need was met, and welcomed you with a smile and open arms. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I highly recommend this property, for a romantic weekend away in the winelands. Just remember to close the bedroom windows at night, before tucking in for the night if your room faces the street.

Room Tip: Stay away from a street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was the second stay at this establishment,the previous one being some time ago. We,that is my wife and i were keen to see if the establishment was up to the same standard as it was before. We were pleasantly surprised-not only was it up to the same standards but was even better. We also dined in the hotel one evening and this was an excellent meal served by first class waiters

Room Tip: We had room no 5. This was one of the better rooms but could be a bit noisy in the evenings as it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

I'm not sure why this place had such great reviews. We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in May. The location is supurb and I do appreciate the property's beauty and history but...

rooms - uhm... my husband and I are not large people... We booked one of the larger rooms (I think most rooms are "larger" and they have 2 smaller rooms) but we didn't even really have space to open our suitcase. It was so clausterphobic in there that we tried to only go back to the room to sleep. The common areas of the hotel also feel very tight with very narrow hallways. It was quite a relief when we moved to the asara hotel for the next leg of our trip..

service - I found this quite average. People were polite but I did not feel they were nearly as friendly as the other hotels we stayed in in S.Africa. In fact I don't remember engaging in any conversation with the staff here at all!

breakfast - not terrible but was by far the worst of the 4 hotels I stayed at on this trip. The cold food was ok. there was a good selection of fruits, breads/pastires, cerials, cheese and coldcuts. For the hot breakfast my husband and I both ordered omlettes which were overly salty, dry, and just not worth eating when there's so much good food elsewhere in stellenbosch. For the second day we didn't even bother with the hot food and suck to the cold options.

spa - given this hotel is "coopmanhuijs boutique hotel and spa" I assumed they would have proper spa facilities. When I tried to book a couple's spa, I was told they only have one masseuse and that we could either take turns getting a massage or they could hire an external masseuse to come to the property. We gave this a miss and went to a proper spa.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yamachika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have just returned home after 6 days at this hotel........long enough to get a real impression!
Its true the rooms are a little on the small side but the bathrooms are spacious. Nice and quiet (room 16). You can step outside the hotel and you are in the best part of Stellenbosch, loads to see (great little shops, cafe's and restaurants). Eat at the restaurant, eat Nadia's cakes (world class) and relax after dinner in the lounge by the fire. So laid back and relaxing on the surface but underneath its running on rails. The team at this hotel really do have it right! Special thanks to Wonder who really made the stay a delight (my name is Stevie, you can imagine the fun we had with that!). Look no further, stay here.....you will not be disappointed :-)

Room Tip: Room 16 was great but go for one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smw2440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel is hard to fault.

Warm, friendly welcome. Charming, helpful staff. Great food and atmosphere.

The room was small, but cosy and complete. Great to see that wi-fi is included too.

The hotel is located in a quiet street near the centre of Stellenbosch within easy walking of lots of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Garthri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Lovely little hotel in the centre of town. Surrounded by outdoor cafes/restaurants, gift stores, galleries very up market. Beautiful town with lovely oak lined narrow one way streets, and yes parking meters. But the hotel does have secure underground parking. The only thing being you have to double park in front of the hotel in the narrow street because you cannot get a parking spot, run into the hotel get someone to go and park your car. You cannot do it yourself, it is a real pain. The same when you want to get your car.The girls at reception are so helpful and friendly. Joanne is exceptional what a gem she goes out of her way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Also Jana she was in early and usually took us to our car in the garage because the parking attendant wasn't in yet. (We play golf and had some early tee times). These 2 girls just stood out but everyone else also so friendly everyone has a smile.
For some reason we seem to get all the upstairs rooms, this was no exception. Thank goodness they have a lift, a very, very slow one at that, but if you have bags it is necessary. The corridors and stair cases are narrow, but the wall are decorated with lovely prints and mirrors.
The room is small and took a bit of time to decide where to place our 2 large suitcases so they would be out of the way. There is a wardrobe which has a safe, small fridge well stocked with drinks alcoholic and non and a little hanging space. A door leads onto a small balcony overlooking the pool where you can have smoke if you need to. The bed is exceptionally comfy but the quilt had a few noticeable stains on it, being white it could of easily been bleached to remove the satins. The room also has ac, hair dryer, basic toiletries and many large bath towels.
The bathroom is quite roomy with under floor heating, a bath, separate shower, bidet, toilet and 2 individual hand basins. The shower is one of those which hangs over the middle of the shower with a wonderful strong spray. It's like being under a waterfall. The hair dryer is in the bedroom attached to the side of a small writing desk.
Breakfast was included. A long table in the centre of the dining area has yogurts, fruit, meats, pastries, croissants, cheese and breads. The main hot food is ordered from the menu. Very good selection such as French toast, poached eggs with salmon and hollandaise served on a muffin, omelettes and bacon eggs to name a few. Recommended.
The hotel has excellent free wifi in rooms no connection problems or drop out. You get a code that lasts for 3 days then you can get another if your stay is any longer.
The hotel also has a bar, where I noticed you can also get a cappuccino.
Didn't use the pool or the spa facilities so cannot make any comment.
Overall a pleasant stay and the service fantastic. Just couldn't make my review excellent because of the 'crampy' feel of the room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a heated pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing