We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous boutique hotel in central Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed for just over a week. It's a beautiful old building in central Stellenbosch -- converted into a hotel in recent years. A far cry from the usual hotels which are cookie cutter designs ... each room seemed to be different (but all beautiful!). It can be a bit confusing, but once you learn which little corridor your room is behind, it's all good.

We got an excellent deal on booking.com (off season) and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was delicious -- a wide range of cooked options made-to-order and nice fruits, cereals, pastries, breads, cold meats & cheeses too. The staff were wonderfully welcoming and helpful without being at all intrusive. Our room wasn't massive but was perfect for our needs -- after all, in a town like Stellenbosch you'll be out and about a lot! The bathroom was really nice, with a rain shower and underfloor heating (appreciated in the Cape winter).

Parking in Stellenbosch can be a bit of a nightmare, so the (free) valet parking was a nice touch too!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the little bit extra in nice weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pj1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

The place is amazing, very clean and comfortable. All the staff were very kind and could give us many hints about the city, region and activities.

The place is very central, near restaurants and sophisticated pubs, and just next to the historical Doorp Street.

Had a wonderful time there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro Henrique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We had a great stay here for 2 nights. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and made sure we were happy during our stay. Location is perfect and you can walk around Stellenbosch easily. The rooms are very nice with a great bed and a balcony where we could actually enjoy the sun! A very nice breakfast and excellent coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_HCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

This is quite a special little place, very well situated for a visit to central Stellenbosch. Quality linen, very comfortable and charming room.

The breakfast is also great, and they quickly made a plan and produced a great English breakfast when the electricity was cut in Stellenbosch at 8am, breakfast-time. They need a power generator at this level of hotel.

The service at breakfast was charming, Libby does a great job. Unfortunately I cannot say the same about Wonder at the front desk, he always appeared somewhat bewildered. This morning I phoned at 7 am to see whether they have newspapers, and even when these arrived shortly thereafter, he did not bother to send me a paper. One should not only have received a newspaper of your choice at this level of hotel, he could have sent it to my room, seeing that I phoned for one!

Great place, they should however attend to the front desk. They need another Libby!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Hooggenoeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Found the Hotel by mistake as I was in another hotel just close by. I must say it was one of the good mistakes I have made in the last few weeks! The environment is very warm inside, not only in terms of the temperature, but starting with the entire staff. The way everyone interacts with you, it makes you feel at home away from home. Extremely friendly staff and always ready to help, and always with a genuine smile!
The hotel itself is well located in the heart of Stellenbosch, very clean inside, and with heated floors in the bathrooms, which is quite handy in Cape Town's winter.
I had the opportunity to try the breakfast, and again, it was good and with an acceptable variety.
There is a free fast internet wireless service, which is indeed "fast", and good variety of TV channels in the rooms.
Thank you guys, I had a real good time in Stellenbosch, and mostly thanks to you, so be assured that I will be back...

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I booked my wife and I into this little boutique hotel for one night after we returned from separate trips overseas. The idea was to just get away from all that was waiting for us at home and enjoy a cosy hotel, watch TV or something and eat good food. The Coopmanhuijs did not disappoint in any area. From the moment we walked in we were treated like royalty. All the staff were super friendly, helpful and proficient. As the hotel is in the heart of the trendy part of Stellenbosch, walking out the friend door you will find yourself faced with many options for lunch or dinner. The hotel has some parking bays so just give your keys to management and they will park your car so you need not worry about security or finding parking anywhere. You will not need your car as most of what you would want to see is in easy walking distance. Breakfast is wonderful so be sure to leave sufficient time in your schedule to sample a bit of everything on the buffet table and cooked breakfasts from the menu.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The 5 star boutique hotel is well located right in the heart of Stellenbosch in Church Street, within walking distance to a host of lovely shops and restaurants. Guests have the option of 3 different room types: Petite Rooms, Classic Courtyard Rooms and Classic Manor Rooms – totaling 16 rooms. Each room is carefully finished with a welcome note, Charlotte Rhys amenities, under-floor heating in the bathrooms, fully stocked mini-bar (additional cost), romantic turn down, and separate toilet to bathroom.

The hotel has everything you need from dining options in the newly vamped restaurant, a spa with a 2 treatment rooms, sauna and steam room, wine and lounge bar, free internet, swimming pool, valet parking and very wheelchair friendly.

The staff by far ensured your every need was met, and welcomed you with a smile and open arms. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

I highly recommend this property, for a romantic weekend away in the winelands. Just remember to close the bedroom windows at night, before tucking in for the night if your room faces the street.

Room Tip: Stay away from a street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamaraWithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
864 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £124 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing