We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay.the staff are very helpful.hotel is in the best street in town.Great room no street noise despite being in a busy part of town. Can't fault this hotel,staff go the extra mile and nothing is to much for them!

Room Tip: Room 7 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (884)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

683 - 689 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a charming boutique hotel with lots of character and wonderful, friendly, and always helpful staff. Its a warm place in the heart of Stellenbosch, on a street with nice shops, art galleries and restaurants. Thank you Ilzebet, Jo-Anne and team; you were perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yusuf41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Coopmanhuijs Hotel was a perfect stay for us. The staff was the friendliest that we encountered. They created an incredible display on our breakfast table for my wife's birthday and really made us feel welcome and cared for. The room was better than advertised, perfectly located, and extremely comfortable. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Book a room on the back of the hotel away from the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacksonhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of Stellenbosch. The hotel online booking system is efficient and while your credit cards are asked for , you only pay on departure. Considering that this is a relatively small hotel the check in process is done quickly and efficiently. Yet after a minutes in our bedroom I had to ask when our lugage would arrive. The rooms are well equiped , rather small for the price , and our room 9 had a pretty poor view - a roof top with some satelite dishes. When will hotels learn , that an extra room is sometimes the marginal room that reduces quality. So check what room you have been allocated to. Look in the cupboard and you will find a decent coffee plunger, and other things you would expect of a multi star hotel. Plenty of restaurants in close proximity, but try the hotel's restaurant which is cossy, provides good meals with excellent service. But in all, a good hotel to stay in when visiting the Western Cape winelands.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Coopmanhuijs Hotel last week and we loved every second.

This boutique hotel perfectly compliments the charm of Stellenbosch and makes you feel from the very start that you are at home with friend and family.

I want to personally thank the manager, Lizbeth who went out of her way to insure our vacation (beyond our stay in the hotel) was perfect, from the car rental to recommending and booking us at a wildlife game reserve in Sambona.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tariq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Beautifully restored old home and excellent sleeping facilities and bathrooms with under floor heating that helped in the cold wet winter days.

The finest detail are attended to eg vanity kit that provides much more than the ordinary hotel.

From the booking and throughout my stay all needs were catered for very well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool and courtyard have a balcony to sit and relax on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It is hard to be anything less than enthusiastic about this smart boutique hotel.

From the warm and chipper welcome by the staff at the front desk, to the servers at the exceptional buffet breakfast, to the gracious and knowledgeable manager about local wineries, restaurants, the best route back to the airport, etc., everything was flawless.

Free and speedy valet parking, free wifi, a fireplace library for an after dinner drink or coffee, and perusal of books about South Africa, it was all wonderful.

The hotel is in the center of a very walkable and historic town, with restaurants of every style and price range nearby. The hotel restaurant is also very good, with imaginative food and a nice wine list.

We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank boybanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
3.1 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
954 reviews
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,065 reviews
0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
354 reviews
0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
697 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £121 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing