We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as relaxing and friendly as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Luanda, Angola
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Still as relaxing and friendly as ever”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I keep on coming back to Coopmanhuijs, and the experience continues to be as good as the first time. This time though, unfortunately I had one of the small rooms just close to the dining room, and definitely it was not one of their best rooms. If you have a choice (I didn't...), then choose one of the rooms upstairs.
Nevertheless, this is still probably the most friendly and genuine staff, I have found in all hotels I have visited so far in South Africa, and the hotel itself is nice and comfortable. If you plan to stay in Stellenbosch, then I strongly recommend Coopmanhuijs...
And by the way, you will never be sorry for their Wi-Fi connectivity. It is simply fantastic.
Thank you guys!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    165
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
433
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This charming hotel is a historic building in a great location in the centre of historic Stellenbosch. It has been renovated to a great standard. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. They have all the usual amenities wifi, cable tv, minibar etc. Our room (no.4) was large with a spacious bathroom (roll top bath, separate power shower, double basins etc).
The staff were very efficient, warm and friendly. The General Manager Ilsebeth was charming and happy to help with any request. The wine tour she took us on was a great afternoon.
The restaurant had good food and wine and the breakfast had a huge range of choice.
It was fantastic value for money- although I suspect this had more to do with the £ to Rand exchange. The local area has some great bars and cafes. We also ate at Ernie Els restaurant 'The Big Easy' on Dorp St- it was excellent. My wife used the Spa facilities and said it was fabulous.
This was a memorable stay and I would unreservedly recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a quick look through the doors of other rooms - ours was No. 4 and seemed much larger than so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJBerkshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Thought the location of the hotel was perfect, right in the heart of Stellenboch. The reception area was warm and inviting, the bar was not so comfortable and basic. Loved the sitting room/snug with an open fire and very relaxing sofa's. Unfortunately, on one occasion we wanted to have pre dinner drinks in the sitting room, but was being used for a management meeting so had to sit in the bar instead! Our room was small, but comfortable with a beautiful bathroom and tea/coffee facilities. The head chef is truly gifted. The food was amazing. All the staff were very friendly and could do enough for us. We didn't like the fact we had to ask for our car to be brought round to the hotel every time we wanted to go out. If we needed anything from the car we had to describe what we wanted and it was delivered to our room. We couldn't go to the car ourselves? I do understand the hotels predicament with car parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Delightful property in central Stellenbosch and surrounds. Made to feel very welcome,
Rooms excellent, and a great breakfast to start your day. Llzebet, Jo-Anne and staff make you feel very welcome, felt as if I was leaving good friends on departure. We are looking forward to our return visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNP1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotel is perfectly located within Stellenboch. It has a real 5 star look and feel. Their service levels are also 5 star. The staff is very friendly and they are eager to assist. They are prepared to go the extra mile. The decor is beautiful. Try Helena's Restaurant for scrumptious dishes. We will definitely stay at Coopmanshuijs again. Rubina

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

As most people do these days before booking a hotel, I read reviews of various hotels in Stellenbosch to ensure that my husband and I had the best hotel, especially as we were celebrating our anniversary. All the reviews I read were very good and therefore I chose Coopmanhuijs. On arrival, our room wasn't ready, but this was fine as were were heading straight out to lunch. There is nothing special about the rooms, it's simple and you have what you need. The hotel is located in the town and therefore very convenient. Parking for the hotel is away from the hotel, which is not so nice. We had dinner at the hotel, and the food was just ok. Nothing to write home about. The problem arose the next morning when we didn't have any hot water at 06:30am. As a hospitality management professional, I completely understood and my husband and I were happy when staff said that maintenance will be with us in ten minutes later. Forty minutes later, still no maintenance. We had to call down to reception several times to find out what was going on. Should management not have called US? In the end we had to use the spa showers to shower, which is a huge inconvenience. The manager offered to comp my spa treatment which was booked for 08:00 in order to compensate for all of the inconvenience, so naturally, I went down to the spa only to be told that there wasn't a therapist available for me. So, I went to reception to speak to the manager who tried her best to blame someone else for the mistake. This hotel was very rapidly becoming a joke. Not only were we inconvenienced, the compensation offered was not available and the manager was not taking us seriously. What do you do when the manager of the hotel cannot be bothered? After our horrible morning at Coopmanhuijs, we spent the day touring, to come back and find a bottle of red wine and a note from the manager apologising for the lack of hot water. It was a nice gesture, but completely wasted on us as we were travelling the following morning. I would have rather had hot water and my spa treatments. From one manager to another, you handled our problem very badly. I suggest training in customer relations. We will not be coming back to your hotel and thank you for making our anniversary celebration as uncomfortable as you possibly could.

Room Tip: If you encounter any problems during your stay, good luck.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassim-Lomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe_Bester, General Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Our published check-in time is 14:00 and the Cassim-Lomax party arrived at
12:00. As our hotel was full and their room not yet prepared, we immediately
made a last minute booking for them at one of South Africa's top restaurants,
where they then had lunch. On arrival back at Coopmanhuijs, we welcomed
them to their room with some complimentary treats in celebration of their
Anniversary:

* Bottle of Cap Classique sparkling wine
* 2 ginger beers (requested)
* Cheese platter for two
* Happy Anniversary cake, baked by our chef

Obtaining parking in Stellenbosch (as in many historic European towns) is
often a challenge. This is why we publish our valet parking service and offer it
verbally to all guests upon arrival - unless they find their own parking before
entering our foyer, as was the case here.

When hot water geysers break down, they invariably do so without warning,
often causing great inconvenience. The thermostat of the geyser in question
unfortunately failed between Friday night and Saturday morning.

When our General Manager arrived at Coopmanhuijs on Saturday morning at
07:00, she took over Mr Lomax's telephone call from the Night Auditor at
Reception. Without mentioning the geyser problem, Mr Lomax requested that
our General Manager move the couple to another hotel - which she promptly
arranged - only to receive a call from Mr Lomax a few minutes later, cancelling
the request.

Upon then learning that their geyser had failed, our General Manager at once
arranged for them to use the ablution facilities in our spa (the only option
available, as our hotel was full). She also offered them complimentary spa
treatments.

At around 07:10, our maintenance manager, Phanos Gudo, arrived at
Coopmanhuijs. Our General Manager telephoned Mr Lomax and asked
whether she might send Mr Gudo to attend to their geyser, to which Mr Lomax
agreed. Mr Gudo then went to their room, and knocked. Ms Cassim opened
the door and exclaimed, "What are you doing here? What do you want?" In his
respectful and unassuming manner, Mr Gudo then asked whether he might be
permitted entry to repair the geyser. 30 minutes later, the thermostat was
replaced; and 30 minutes after that, the room had hot water.

Ms Cassim had booked her spa treatment for 08:00 Saturday morning, as did
one of her friends, who was also staying at our hotel. When the booking was
made, Ms Cassim was informed that only one spa therapist would be
available on Saturday morning.

Saturday morning at 08:00, Ms Cassim's friend arrived at the spa for his
treatment. When Ms Cassim came down at 08:30, she found the spa occupied
by her friend. Ms Cassim became angry and cancelled her spa treatments.
As a hotelier with 30 years' experience, our General Manager is always
prepared to address reasonable complaints conveyed in a courteous manner.
Alas, in this instance, Ms Cassim did not afford her an opportunity to do so; in
fact, Ms Cassim never even looked at our General Manager.

At Coopmanhuijs, our guests are our greatest asset - as is evidenced in
several volumes of Guest Comments books and in our rating on this site. It is
a privilege that we respect and treasure. We take immense pride in hosting
some of the world's most genteel guests - people who know that machines do
occasionally fail and who then respond to such inconveniences with aplomb.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay.the staff are very helpful.hotel is in the best street in town.Great room no street noise despite being in a busy part of town. Can't fault this hotel,staff go the extra mile and nothing is to much for them!

Room Tip: Room 7 is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewlloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,794 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing