We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Paterswolde, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Extremely nice hotel in the middle of Stellenbosch. Old building, very nicely decorated and remodeled. Luxurious rooms, excellent service, very good breakfast and extremely nice and helpful personnel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmvdhulst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    165
    30
    12
    8
See reviews for
87
433
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
506 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I spent a few days in Stellenbosch with some girlfriends and we stayed at the Coopmanhuijs; we are really glad we did! It's well worth the money. It is quaint, charming, the rooms are very well appointed and the hotel is immaculately clean. Breakfast is delicious and you can't beat the location. We would definitely stay again!

NOTE: It's really nice to have the pool, but it is small and there are only (if memory serves me) 6 lounge chairs. If you don't get one, you are outta luck. A few of the guests there during our stay were "campers" unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalStaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A wonderful little boutique hotel located in the center of Stellenbosh within walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel, while small, has a French feel to it, and it you did not know it, you could be in Paris. Rooms and public spaces are indeed small, however. If that doesn't bother you, this is a cozy spot to spend your time in Stellenbosh. We only ate breakfast which was good. Staff were excellent and always ready to meet your needs.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckv500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This was a fabulous visit to Stellenbosch. The only problem we had was with the ome way system but that was our issue, fabulous place to stay and great food. The staff are so welcolming - fabulous place to stay

Room Tip: As far as I am aware all rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel because it was quite close to Cape Town airport and have not been disappointed. The staff were very helpful over something I left on the plane. As it was Valentines Day all the restaurants claimed to be fully booked but the hotel managed to squeeze us in and we had the Valentines Special which made a wonderful start to our holiday.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank howard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This little hotel has 16 rooms in a busy street with lot of bars and restaurants around but not noicy at all when in room. Beautiful decorated with polite and helpful staff. Breakfast delicious with both cold and warm options. Only con was our room. Very small when you have 3 suitcases. No where to place them but the floor. Minibar was pricy compared to other similar places we stayed. We had a balcony which was nice because there are no place to sit in the room for two persons. Still, we will book again if back in Stellenbosch.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank EBR308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is superbly located right In the middle of Stellenbosch. Quiet, (but worth checking out were your room is located as street-facing could be noisy) but close to everything. We were warmly greeted by Lisibet (not sure of spelling!) a lovely lady who couldn't do enough to help and booked various excellent restaurants for us, advised about wineries etc. Our Classic room was beautifully decorated, not huge, but we did have a huge balcony that more than made up for it. (Petite is very small!) The bathroom was lovely, very large, great shower and pristine. Great toiletries. Outside the pool area is beautiful and a real oasis in the city. The front terrace is great to people watch over a glass of wine. Breakfast was first class and we also had dinner in the restaurant which also excellent. We stayed in 8 different hotels during our month's trip, all of which were fantastic, but this was definitely the best value for money for the quality.

Room Tip: Classic top floor with balcony (petite very small!) are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,795 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 16 in Stellenbosch
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#2 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing