We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Comfort in Stellenbosch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

What a charming boutique hotel! We had a wonderful one night stay at the Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel and Spa. We were greeted at the door, and the valet whisked our car away. (Note, parking is very tight in Stellenbosch). There was some slight confusion about our room key, but it was sorted out quickly and we were shown to our beautiful room, with a balcony. Our room was picture-perfect; everything at the hotel is just as lovely as the photos on the hotel's website. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the very long bathtub was a real treat. The common areas of the hotel are beautiful, and we had a cozy early evening hour reading by the fireplace in the library/lounge. Breakfast deserves special mention. There is an incredible selection of delicious foods to choose from, and the breakfast area is lovely. The service is attentive without being overbearing, and we loved the location--walking distance to all the great restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisTravel4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear IllinoisTravel4Fun,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

Beautiful hotel with excellent customer service. No task was to much to ask from any staff member. Food was excellent in the restaurant and breakfast was awesome. Lots of choices. This will be the hotel we use whenever we come back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kimindo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear kimindo63,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Coopmanhuis hotel is situated in one of the classic buildings of Stellenbosch. If you go there with your GPS, be aware that the address is listed as Church Street on their website, but our Garmin GPS listed it by its Afrikaans naam Kerkstraat. Moreover, getting there can be a bit tricky as the direction of the numerous one-way streets in the heart of Stellenbosch was shown by our GPS exactly opposite to what they actually are. Church Street/Kerkstraat is one of the main smaller tourist roads with several restaurants, galleries and gift shops. On street parking is limited and metered, and using valet parking is the best option when coming by car.
While the building is old, major attemps were made to bring the rooms to modern standards. However, in some cases (including our room) you may need to climb one flight of steep stairs to get to your room. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge. The breakfast buffet has plenty of options. The in-house restaurant (reservations can be required) was good, and the staff very friendly.
All in all a good base for exploring the Stellenbosch/Franschhoek area, if you like the charm of historic places.

Room Tip: If you have walking problems are at least do not well on steep staircases, ask for a room on the gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tmk010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear tmk010,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had. Just arrived in the country and this was my first stop. Close to the airport in Capetown. Best service in my life. Charm galore. Well appointed room with large bathroom. They inundated me with kindness during my stay. Ran out to park my car. Ran out with an umbrella. Great breakfast, hot and buffet. They explained new foods to me. Quiet, clean, and in the center of old town. Love it. I am taking a circuitous route around country and will return several times.

Room Tip: Beats me. Mine was charming and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garyarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Garyarizona,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

Would you be so kind as to post a review on our Helena’s Restaurant page as well?

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My partner, Mary, and I decided to splurge on this trip, our first to South Africa, by finding and booking this lovely boutique hotel "on line." We loved what we saw at the hotel web site and we were not at all disappointed from the moment we walked in on Friday June 20th until we departed on Tuesday June 24th. Wonder, the doorman and general concierge, and Ilzebet, the General Manager, made Mary and I feel warm and welcome as if this was our home when we entered. Ilzebet even up-graded us during our check-in to a larger bedroom with a balcony, overlooking the swimming pool, for which we were very grateful. Although our stay was during the winter or "cold season," we had stunning, sunny weather with glorious blue skies for the entire time of our stay in this well-placed boutique hotel in the heart of Stellenbosch. The heated floor in the bathroom was especially appreciated by Mary and I when we would wake early in the morning to bathe and get ready for our day of wine touring in the Stellenbosch area. The bed mattress was firm and comfortable. the balcony was an ideal place to enjoy a "sun-downer" before heading out for dinner. All restauarnats were within easy walking distance from this charming boutique hotel. Breakfasts were a feast with every possible dish one could want all available either on the buffet table or through ordering off the menu with the very polite and efficient staff. A special touch is the table between the bar and the kitchen which always has cold water - with gas or without gas - for a quick drink during the day when going in or out of the hotel. The lobby area also has a comfortable and cozy living area with a fireplace where one can wait quietly for a taxi to the airport, as we did on our last day there. The Wifi internet service in this wonderful hotel was faster and better than anything we had had in our hotel in Cape Town, so that was also very pleasing to us, enabling us to send photos from our wine tours back home to the USA to our children, families and friends. we highly recommend staying here for the warm, friendly, charming staff, the quiet ambience, the delicious and filling breakfasts, the very carefully decorated and well done bedroom and bath in the rooms and the total package one gets when staying here for several nights, as we did.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the pool so you are in the back, the quiet side of this wonderfully pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomTerrific51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear TomTerrific51,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Coopmanhuijs is in a great position right in the centre of town. The bedroom was well equipped as was the bathroom. Good quality bed, bed-linen, carpet and towels.

Heated bathroom floor was especially good as it was cool enough while we there. Not huge rooms by Australian standards, but still big enough for a travelling couple with large suitcases.

Light sleepers may have a problem as external noise, filtering through the walls and ceiling, left us in no doubt that the rooms beside and above us were occupied. However, everything seemed to settle down by 10 pm and we were not greatly inconvenienced.

The in-house restaurant, Helena's, provided good quality meals, but with a limited menu for lunch and dinner. The acoustics were vey good and the tables well spaced. One minor complaint being low and uncomfortable chairs which did not match the table height very well at all.

The front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and very attentive and went out of their way to make sure we did not lack anything during our stay. We stayed at the Coopmanhuijs for five days and thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CeeJay1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all our guests' comments as these assist us greatly in improving our products and services.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is not my first visit to this charming hotel, nor will it be my last! We spent a night on business and as always, the greeting by the staff made you feel right at home. The car was parked, the bags weer carried and we were shown our room. The great comfortable bed was covered in crisp linen and a generous bathroom with fluffy towels completed the picture.
Breakfast was a good spread and I although did have an issue, prompt attention by the owner resolved the issue to my satisfaction.
A really lovely way to spend time in the beautiful town, right in the heart of it all. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level are much quieter, although I have not had a bad room so far! Wifi is free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanevanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma-Afrika, Manager at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear ShanevanJ,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa.

We value all of our guest’s comments highly as it is important for improving our services and product.

We hope to welcome you back soon. Thank you once again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
3.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
865 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
633 reviews
3.6 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 33 Church Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Spa Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#1 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
#3 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £124 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1713, Coopmanhuijs was one of the first grand residences in the heart of historic Stellenbosch, and is now surrounded by the town's many stylish shops, galleries and museums. The rooms in the Manor House and newly built rooms overlook a outdoor pool and a walled courtyard. Guests can enjoy meals from the Provencal kitchen and dine at leisure with a glass of fine Cape wine in the courtyard or in the intimate Helena's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel Stellenbosch
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing