We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of 10 Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
10 Alexander
Ranked #1 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for 3 weeks in 10, Alexander and it was fantastic!!! Everyone is very friendly and it is very clean!!! We were very welcome and they helped us in all things. We will come back next year again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Katrin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Getting this review from a world class athlete really made our day. It was such a pleasure having you here. Look forward to next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    84
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
75
135
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed here during the wine festival in Stellenbosch... when an establishment gets only brilliant reviews, the cynics among us might start to wonder if the reviews are fake. But I can guarantee you, they are not. Every compliment are well deserved. The rooms and property are kept spotlessly clean, neat and tidy. The communal kitchens (yes, there are more than one) are stocked with good quality coffee and rusks. There is also all the necessary equipment to do some self catering. The rooms are bright, sunny and spacious. The garden and pool are very relaxing. Hosts are friendly and caring. Great breakfast, especially the freshly baked scones and do try the "secret scrambled eggs"! The location is also ideal, very close to the CBD, and university (safe walking distance), close to the R44 for trips to the beach or Cape Town or Paarl, but still in a quiet street. I can recommend this place to anyone. This is "five stars in the guest's eyes" accomodation!

Room Tip: There aren't any bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
What a lovely review, Thank you so much. Really enjoyed having your mum here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Excellent stay, wish we could stay longer.The family is extremely kind, very homely atmosphere. They take their time to approach every guest personally. The breakfast was magnificent. We were very well taken care of, excellent in every little detail

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barend N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
You made it easy to spoil you. Thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were directed to 10 Alexander in the last moment since it was impossible to find any hotel room in Cape Town. This turned out to be the absolutely highlight in terms of accomodation, beautiful sorroundings & friendly and caring atmosphere. Somebody here really want to do the best for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael Schultz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
We really enjoyed having you here. It was a pleasure spoiling you. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Awesome garden around the swiming-pool, comfy room, well-equiped kitchen, mouthwatering breakfast... Felt like home, even better as it was hassle-free ! Too bad : could only stay one night (late booking) but it was a great one, but not long enough to prepare nice belgian style garlic mussels for the hosts. Maybe next time. Thank you guys !

Room Tip: Some rooms are perfect for families !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sé B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Those promised garlic mussels is a promise to be kept. Chez Leon in Brussels was a highlight for us. Looking forward to your version. In return, we will serve seafood Risotto with truffle infusion to make you miss home. Really appreciate your company, and the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 21 January 2014

The place is wonderful, there is a garden full of colored flowers and a pool is beside the building, so that you immediately think you have made the right choice. It is a family-run guest house, where people is very kind and available, always ready to give suggestions, but also offering you a stunning breakfast in the morning. The rooms are big and well furnished, they have all things you need, and each area has the cuisine beside where you can cook. At night you can rest well because the place is very silent, but you have to take care of mosquitos in advance, since they often try to disturb your sleep, anyway nothing cumbersome! The place is close to the centre, with the mall, where you can find anything you need.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cicci0Bacicci0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
We appreciate the kind words. We have taken your comment regarding mosquitoes to heart and have taken steps to address it. All rooms now have a plug-in insect repellent, a spray to avert them, and fans which prevent them from flying. Next time, you will not be bothered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Comfortable beds, excellent copious breakfast, genial hosts, kitchen plus picnic table outdoors for guests adjacent small swimming pool and fragrant garden, fairly easy walk into downtown Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Oskelaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
10Alexander2013, Owner at 10 Alexander, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.6 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
346 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#9 of 112 in Stellenbosch
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 10 Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 10 Alexander

Property: 10 Alexander
Address: 10 Alexander Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 10 Alexander 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and run, rustically appointed 10 Alexander is perfectly located to visit local attractions, restaurants and museums on foot. Wine farms, Franschoek, Hermanus and Cape Town are in close vicinity. We provide up to date advice on the best restaurants and wine-tasting options, based on feedback from recent guests. All 8 rooms have own its bathrooms, six of which are en-suite. Tea/coffee facilities are available in a fully equipped kitchenette plus a comprehensive bouquet of TV options. Free parking is on-site and secure. We also provide complimentary Wi-Fi in addition to a swimming pool, barbeque and shady patios, with bird watching as a side attraction. 10 Alexander is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of the whole of the Western Cape in a relaxed and ambient setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 10 Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing