We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My Fiance and I visited this estate in July, it was recommended by a friend of ours.
I have to say from the time of booking the accommodation via email the service was fantastic.
We were fortunate to visit on a weekend where the weather had cleared. The service is unsurpassed, these people are the best in the country as far as we are concerned. The staff are extremely friendly and caring, no expense or effort is spared to ensure you have the best stay possible.
Both the restaurants are first class from food to service. We can't fault these guys and I highly recommend you visit and stay at this estate.

The private lodges are fully kitted with everything you need, from Nespresso machine, ipad, ipod dock, LCD pop up TV, private pool, and butlers kitchen.

Even the roads in the vinyards are paved!

Stunning views from the lodge over the valley and vinyards.

The spa is also excellent.

They really went out of their way for us!

Thank you! we will see you again soon!

Room Tip: You need to stay for a minimum of two nights to try and enjoy the spa and both restaurants. 3 night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kinetic46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

I have never stayed in a more magical place. The views are fantastic and the service is phenomenal. The accommodation is very obviously 5 star and we took full advantage of our private pool. Sadly we only stayed for 1 night but our friends (staying next door) extended their trip and enjoyed the facilities.I had a light lunch served in our lodge for a few family and friends on the day we arrived and everyone including myself was raving about the food. We hosted our wedding party at Delaire on the Sat night and people are still talking about the food and wine. We had breakfast in our room on our final day and it was the perfect ending to a brilliant stay. We can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindyS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

my wife and i took 2 days off to visit stellenbosch while we were in cape town.
we decided on the Delaire graff estate.
the rooms and views were to die for.
even though it rained the whole time, it was fantastic,service, food and free transport to local restaurants.
try the Reuben's restaurant in the nearby franschhock fantastic food and great value.
their own wine was fab and they give you free glass every evening with free canapés.
it was expense but worth every penny.
only 45 mins from cape town
i also used their car service from cape town and back,well worth it.
pity we didn't get any free diamonds while we were there!!

Room Tip: very few rooms and all individual bungalows, so any one is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lordcave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Wonderful setting with beautifully appointed suites. I loved the sophisticated & chic interiors in our deluxe suite & one of the larger private plunge pools I have seen in a while & that’s all before remarking on the breathtaking views! Totally sublime in my opinion! Service was efficient & discreet & we really loved the touch of the Delaire Graff rose wine waiting for us on ice on arrival. The canapés & champagne for sun-downers was also wonderful touch.

We were very lucky with the weather & experienced one of those stunning winter days in the Cape with bright blue skies & sunshine so this helped us to enjoy a dip in the pool whilst enjoying the mountain views & magnificent sunset.

For me the dinner at Indochine was one of the best dinners I have experienced in Cape Town in a long time. Again, service was wonderful & the food was to-die-for. I believe the chef is local young man & must say that he is a rare talent & is able to plate-up approachable food that everyone can enjoy but in a beautiful & refined way. Well done to him & his kitchen team.

The only down side that we were only at Delaire Graff for one night but I will be sure to return & experience more of the truly magical place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This property really is superb from the wonderful welcome to the beautifully appointed rooms it is another level. The staff were great and the views and general ambience within the hotel very good.

We ended up having room service which was excellent- this being after our canapés and sparkling wine which was a wonderful gesture by the hotel.

Each unit has its own heated pool and the sunsets from our deck were superb!

I would really say is a top 3 destination in SA and that includes all the game farms too!

Special mention to Lauren and Alex- well done guys- your company can be proud of you!

Room Tip: Look to take a luxury suite as they have mountain views. Bring your swimsuit- even in winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We began our four weeks in Africa here. We went to some spectacular places on this trip, but none were more satisfying than Delaire Graff. It was simply stunning in all respects. Our accommodation could not have been more beautifully appointed, and the view (over our plunge pool) was breathtaking. The service was as good as any we have had anywhere in the world. The restaurants were destinations in themselves. The grounds were beautifully laid out and impeccably maintained with views of vineyards and surrounding mountains. Everywhere you looked there was sculpture and other artwork (ask about the back story on the artist who created the dynamic cheetah sculptures that greet you at the gate and adorn the property). Lest one thinks I'm completely in the tank for Delaire Graff, I should mention that the Delaire wines, while good, do not fully live up to the quality of the property itself. However, I'm certain they will be world-class by the time I get back. Everything else is.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrydog44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Our stay at Delaire was more than incredible. There really aren't words to describe how beautiful the estate is and the lodges --- WOW. The website does not do it justice. Seeing everything in person really blew us away. The only problem was we only stayed for two nights! The sunset views from our lodge were the best I have ever seen in my life. Each night as we enjoyed our complimentary champagne and canapes (ummm...amazing btw!) on our deck, we would watch the sun set and the sky looked like it was on fire. The service was top notch - really on a different level. Everyone there knew us and knew we were on our honeymoon. We really felt like royalty the whole stay. The estate itself is breathtaking with incredible views of the winelands and all the way to table mountain and false bay. The gardens are beautiful and the architecture and sculptures around the estate were incredible. The food was the best we had in South Africa - we personally loved our lunch at the Delaire Restaurant with beautiful views of the vineyards. The wine, ALSO incredible. We shipped back 2 cases of the chardonnay and the botmaskop so we could enjoy a piece of Delaire from home!

If you are visiting Cape Town, you must at least visit the estate and dine for lunch at the Delaire Restaurant and do a tasting out on the terrace overlooking the vineyards.If you want to splurge for a special occasion, I HIGHLY recommended staying at the estate. It will be an experience to remember forever.

Room Tip: I'm sure any of the lodges are incredible! Ours was lodge 6 (I think) and was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellenbosch
6.6 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
11.5 mi away
Leeu House
Leeu House
#2 of 11 in Franschhoek
183 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,987 reviews
11.6 mi away
Akademie Street Boutique Hotel and Guest House
0.2 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#2 of 56 in Stellenbosch
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa

Address: R310, Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £868 - £2,880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's Delaire Graff Estate is situated on the magnificent Helshoogte Mountain Pass linking the Cape's two leading wine districts, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. Ten unique lodges each boast their own private heated pool, breathtaking views and comforts including LED flat screens TVs, iPads, bluetooth enabled docking station, wireless internet and the finest Egyptian cotton linen. The ten sumptuously decorated lodges are centred around a main lodge comprising of a private cinema, spa and the Asian influenced Indochine Restaurant while Delaire Graff Restaurant offers bistro chic cuisine. Delaire Graff Spa offers personalised luxurious treatments from Swiss Perfection, Aromatherapy Associates & Mamma Mio. For a more energizing experience the spa offers a fully equipped Techno gym and 22 metre heated infinity pool with Jacuzzi. With art personally selected by Laurence Graff and interiors designed by David Collins, the minimal number of lodges, paired with the extensive facilities offered to guests, Delaire Graff Lodges & Spa is designed to create the ultimate sense of luxury for the most discerning of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaire Graff Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing