We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eendracht Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oude Werf Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stellenbosch Hotel(Stellenbosch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
259
21
14
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
259
21
14
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindochine restaurantprivate heated poolluxury lodgecape townwine tastingabsolute luxurybreathtaking viewsevery amenityattention to detailheaven on earthfabulous locationworld classsouth africawine countrymain restaurantliving roombeautiful property
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Hard to call this a hotel as it is so homely and welcoming. The Studio's are well equiped with great amenities and touches. Free laundry daily. Nespresso as many as you want. Evening canape's and bubbly. Two great restaurants to choose from. Your own infinity pool and deck. A great spa with sauna & steamroom. Very very friendly staff... Notice how they stand up from behind their front desk and greet you by name and ask how your day was...... Or to wish you a wonderful day. They take great intersest in their guests with real care. Breakfast can be sent to your room but the view is too good to. Miss so get up and sit outside in the restaurant.

Room Tip: The ones with a view onto Simonsberg are great, to the west you will have the sunsets and to the east it is quiet with no view but surrounding trees.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moira-anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We srayed in September at this wonderful place for a view days only. The location is great to relax and enjoy the wonderful views and the excellent cuisine. The suites have everything you may want and the decor is beautiful. We had our own pool but unfortunately the weather did not allow a bath. The Spa offers good treatments only the Sauna could be a bit bigger and nicer. The Fitness is great with excellent machines. Breakfast on the sunny terrace was great with wonderful fruits and many other delights. The restaurant at the hotel was good but we liked much more the restaurant at the winyard. The reception offered solutions for every wishes, bicycles, restaurant recommendations and transfers to Stellenbosch, which is a lovely town with shops, restaurants and galleries. The staff is great, very friendly and professional.The rates are very high but we would love to get back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Firstly, I clearly want to state that this review is purely for the lodge and spa. I am a huge fan of the restaurant. We were not guests of the lodge as we went to the restaurant for lunch. I took my overseas guest to the lodge to show him the beautiful setting. We spoke to the two ladies at reception in order to find out room rates etc. He wanted to spend a night in stellenbosch/franschoek the following week. Yes, we were not guests at that moment, but that does not justify the very poor and rude service we experienced. Do they only reserve 5*quality service for their current guests? We were met with exceptionally rude and curt responses to all our questions. It is so sad that these two ladies changed our perception of this very beautiful lodge. We had just come from the Mandarin Oriental in Barcelona where we had checked in as non guests and were treated with 5* calibre service from the start. I wish South African establishments could learn from this and realize that they lost potential clients. This little encounter with the front-office clearly indicates that the service would be unauthentic and pretentious. I know the human element in any business is the hardest to control but it is also the element that can truly leave a bad aftertaste or truly impress a guest. We were left with a truly bitter aftertaste but it was soon clarified after out trip back to the delaire restaurant to sample some sublime wines. Delaire as an estate is hands down my favorite although the service in the lodge needs to be reevaluated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
11  Thank Nadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel is the definition of 5 star. Stunning property with excellent grounds, service, suites, wine and ambiance. If you are looking to surround yourself in elegance and opulence then the Delaire is the spot.

Upon arrival we did a wine tasting, a fabulous setting and a personal 1 on 1 service. We then took a golf buggy back to reception to be re-greeted by friendly happy staff and offered a drink on the pool deck whilst final checks to the room where done.

When we reached the room, one word: wow. Room 10 is a suite (I think most are) we a huge sitting room, with folding doors onto the deck, a huge bedroom with more folding doors onto the heated private pool, a kitchen with refreshments, another kitchenette with complementary refreshments, and a huge bathroom with separate loo. Perfection. There is no need to leave the room!

We ate at Indocine which is a nice setting a food passable but definitely lacking in flavour. However, this didn't ruin the experience but perhaps they need to work on the food a little more to really excel in everything.

Reception staff are very friendly and welcoming. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laypy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

As most of the other reviewers already told you- this place is stunningly beautiful and perfect in every detail. From entrance to hostesses to waiters, food, art, view, etc etc, there's nothing to complain about. Having had a very good lunch here with dried duck, asparagus soup, pork belly and steak and of course paired with delaire wines was without a doubt the best of this vacation. Although your wallet will be much lighter walking out, you'll absolutely feel that it was worth it. Just do it!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews