We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Five Star Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Delaire Graff was the final stop of a wonderful vacation to South Africa and we're so glad we stayed there. When we arrived we were initially worried about how busy the hotel was compared to the other places that we stayed, which typically had a handful of couples in residence. Whilst there are only a dozen or so suites the two world class restaurants, plus the wine estate, meant that there were lots of visitors. However once we were shown to our suite those fears disappeared. The suites are set slightly away from the main building each with accomodation comprising of a spacious living room, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, walk in wardrobe and a private veranda and plunge pool with a fabulous view across the wineland valleys and mountains. They offered complete privacy yet we could be back in the main buildings in only a minute or so's walk. We dined in both restaurants and they certainly lived up to their reputation. The hotel's spa facilities were also excellent and the hotel pool was the largest of all the pools in the hotels that we visited. There were various walking routes around the property which meant we could explore the estate and eventually found ourselves at the top of the estate looking back down and across the stunning valley. The staff made us feel very welcome and were especially helpful on check out day, offering us a day room so that we could make the most of our stay there. We will definitely be returning on our next visit to SA!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    18
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
30
169
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The resort was beautiful and luxurious and the lodges were amazing with great amenities.However we were very disappointed with the poor service.Our TV was not working and they did NOTHING about it. Even though we paid for the luxury lodge with a view, we did not get a view.And the food in Indochine was disappointing. And when we went for breakfast at 7am (when it was officially open for breakfast), they were still sweeping the place and we had a long wait before we got served! For that price we expected better.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ina33401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaire_Marketing, General Manager at Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam

Thank you for your recent posting. Whilst possitive in some aspects, I am concerned that you did not receive the service that you booked and paid for. My team and I pride ourselves in delivering world class service and exceeding guest expectations, we therefore take your claims of poor service seriously and would like to rectify any shortcomings.
All of our luxury lodges without exception have exceptional views of the vineyards. Our deluxe lodges offer garden views and are available at a lower price point.
Detailed guest information is generated and retained by the guest relations team. All rooms are checked prior to guests arrival by our executive housekeeper as well as the guest relations team.
Please would you be kind enough to contact me directly with the details of your reservation and I will look into the matter with urgency.
Kind regards
Jonathan Lithgow
hotel.gm@delaire.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Beautiful location, luxurious private lodges with everything one could possibly want. Magnificent artworks It is a shame that the 'cuisine' is not up to the standard of such a first class establishment especially in their restaurant 'Indochine'. With a first class chef, and there are many in Capetown, it would be truly marvelous! Well worth a visit anyway

Room Tip: All lodges are great with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This resort is a truly hidden jewel in the wine country near Cape Town. we were familiar with the amenities as the website describes the place very well. But when we reached there it was truly out of this world.
Luxury at it best is probaly the best description for this property. Any one visiting Cape town must spend 2 night in this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RajeevNagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
194 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have been married for almost 39 years and I would suggest this property for a honeymoon. Talk about beautifully located in the hills of Wine country. Only 10 villas, beautifully decorated, with your own private plunge pool. You have views of the rolling winelands, or of lush beautiful gardens. Their are 2 reataurants on property, a tasting room, gym, spa, acres for hiking and the most wonderful art collection. You are close by to visit numerous wineries if you can bare to tear yourself away from such a magnifcent property. There is a lot of attention to detail in the rooms, from Yoga mats, coffee makers, snacks, a wonderful bathroom and a great outdoor deck for private sunbathing or nude swimming if your heart so desires. There is a Graff store on the property, however, the jewels at this location are on the smaller size compared to the other cities they are in. There is also a 100% Capri store with wonderful linen clothes.
This place was even romantic for old foggies like us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truffle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Delaire Graff could vie for best lodge in the world. With an incredible property located in the vineyard and staff that far exceeds the number of guests, you certainly feel as if you are on your own private estate. There is a winery and fantastic artwork on the property courtesy of Lawrence Graff, the diamond retailer/owner, and two wonderful restaurants which are open to the public and provide a little life at night, while during the day the property is relatively quiet enabling guests to enjoy their overly spacious suites or the open areas in and around the lodge in total privacy. The only bother may be the staff who seem to know what you are doing at every moment in order to better be able to serve you We watched the Olympic Games Opening Ceremony in the private theater by ourselves, whereupon the nightly complimentary canapes and champagne, and dinner were served. The views of the surrounding vineyards are spectacular. If this isn't the best place in the world, I can't imagine what is.

Room Tip: Lodges # 9 and 10 are less expensive and, thus, do not have the view over the valley and vineyards a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckv500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

This review is for the spa only. We were not lucky enough to stay at the lodges but did have a spa day at Graff.

What can I say? The views are literally breathtaking. The lounge area is the most beautiful at any spa I've been to. Service was lovely. My husband and I both loved our treatments and our therapists. Luxurious but supremely relaxing.

The only complaint we really had was the locker/changing rooms. I really hate to complain b/c everything else was so great but it was so disappointing that it deserves mention. The women's room had a couple of used towels lying around, but my husband said the men's room was pretty filthy (and he's not one to notice or complain). Rather surprising for a spa/resort that prides itself on being first class.

The amenities were just ok. They did have hair dryer, lotions, soaps, etc.
The locker/changing rooms just didn't seem to match the excellence and luxury of the rest of the spa.

All in all, would we return? Absolutely! Perhaps it was an off day for the cleaning crew? The actual treatments and service made up for it x100!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
6.7 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
8.8 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
Clouds Wine & Guest Estate
#1 of 50 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa

Property: Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa
Address: R310, Helshoogte Pass, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Africa's Delaire Graff Estate is situated on the magnificent Helshoogte Mountain Pass linking the Cape's two leading wine districts, Stellenbosch and Franschhoek. Ten unique lodges each boast their own private heated pool, breathtaking views and comforts including LED flat screens TVs, iPads, bluetooth enabled docking station, wireless internet and the finest Egyptian cotton linen. The ten sumptuously decorated lodges are centred around a main lodge comprising of a private cinema, spa and the Asian influenced Indochine Restaurant while Delaire Graff Restaurant offers bistro chic cuisine. Delaire Graff Spa offers personalised luxurious treatments from Swiss Perfection, Aromatherapy Associates & Mamma Mio. For a more energizing experience the spa offers a fully equipped Techno gym and 22 metre heated infinity pool with Jacuzzi. With art personally selected by Laurence Graff and interiors designed by David Collins, the minimal number of lodges, paired with the extensive facilities offered to guests, Delaire Graff Lodges & Spa is designed to create the ultimate sense of luxury for the most discerning of guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Delaire Graff Estate - Lodges and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delaire Graff Estate Hotel Stellenbosch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing