We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albarosa Guesthouse
Ranked #42 of 115 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Albarosa was well signposted and easy to find and located ideally in a quiet road but 3 minutes from main shops and restaurants of Stellenbosch. the house itself is a lovely example of a fine old house, and it feels like staying in someone's much loved home. It felt secure and welcoming with every facility including good wifi. The staff were very efficient and the place is wonderfully clean and comfortable. A cosy fire in the lounge with sweets and an honesty bar provided an evening venue of choice. At breakfast we were proesented with a huge fruit bowl and a wide choice of cerals etc and a cokked breakfast. little touches such as heart shaped leaves on the bed and rosemary in the toast showed real care and love of the place. I would strongly reccomend this place, in fact we would stay here in prefereance to Cape town on any further visits.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CathyMoseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed in the cottage. The booking website we used stated that the cottage had two large double beds, it actually only has one standard double bed and 1 pull out couch. It was also mentioned on the website that there was free WiFi in all the rooms. We could not get wifi in our room. When this was mentioned to the owner he was not very understanding and told me 'bottom line' that is what it is, in other words, take it or leave it. Bad attitude and not conducive to me ever wanting to stay there again, sorry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Visiting my granddaughter in Stellenbosch, I was extremely lucky to find the Albarosa. Very convenient for all purposes, especially as I was able to walk to most places i.e.shops and restaurants on my own while she was at lectures. Host very friendly and staff first class. A true "home from home"

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Wend B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A Marvelous place with great stuff that makes you feel like home, well, it was the first time that I feel sad for leaving this lovely city and want to stay more..., Very good location, the atmosphere inside the property makes you feel like home, and I really appreciate the daily morning fruit bowel :) Thank you Willem...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Iadz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked the Albarosa on the internet, so weren't completely sure what to expect, but it turned out to be an inspired choice. It's location in central Stellenbosch is ideal for exploring this vibrant university town with its many shops, restaurants and bars. Gert, the owner, is a charming and attentive host, ably assisted by housekeeper Jackie and his dog Zulu! The guest house is a haven of quiet, and the breakfasts are always something to look forward to. It's just an ideal loction, and perfectly placed for visting the area's 150 wineries and exporing this wonderful country - and much more attractive than downtown Cape Town. We'll certainly go back next time we're in SA.

Room Tip: We were in the Novel room which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1774Inn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

It was ok, the breakfast was amazing, the room was clean and very nice.
I didn't like the towels, small and not clean. The position it's perfect to visit the city and the winelands area. The owner is very nice and suggested us a very good restaurant where to have our dinner.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Elsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Wonderful stay in Stellenbosch, fantastic location very close to restaurants and town centre. The guest house was nice and quiet with friendly service and a wonderful breakfast! We will definitely call again.


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
434 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Manor Boutique Hotel
River Manor Boutique Hotel
#21 of 115 in Stellenbosch
76 reviews
0.5 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#5 of 115 in Stellenbosch
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Boord Guest House
Boord Guest House
#41 of 115 in Stellenbosch
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baruch Guest House
Baruch Guest House
#15 of 115 in Stellenbosch
152 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albarosa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albarosa Guesthouse

Address: 7 Helderberg Street | Central, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £88 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albarosa Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored Cape-Dutch building has several elegantly furnished and air-conditioned rooms with free wireless nternet available.Relax in the lounge, with its cozy fire place and big range of interesting books, or outside on the patio. A healthy and hearty breakfast is served in the dinning room.This Stellenbosch accommodation offers secure parking and being in the centre of town, it is the perfect starting point for exploration, best done by foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albarosa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing