We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of hospitality and basic facilities in room”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Keren's Vine

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stellenbosch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keren's Vine
Ranked #22 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Denis, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lack of hospitality and basic facilities in room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Regarding all good opinions on tripadvisor and the 4 stars of this guest house, we came here. But really, it doesn't deserve 4 stars, at least 2 stars. It was my worst B&B experiences in South Africa.
Let's begin by the good points :
1. very design
2. Keren naturally kind - as in every kind of guest house

Bad points :
1. No phone and no bell to call the host
In several times, we needed to contact them (internet wasn't work on my laptop and need it to work...) especially when we've been blocked because the mains door was tough to open.
We try to catch them on different way : knocking at their private door, call them, ring to the main phone and to the cell phone. We finally could catch them by the second cell phone.
Never, and never see that before in any guest house and hotel.
2. Seem to disturb the host
When we arrived, they wanted to know at what time we wanted the breakfast in the morning. I couldn't confirm the time because I needed to see on my professional schedule and they couldn't wait 2 minutes, time for me to confirm us. So, I had to phone them on their cell phone to give the good time because they are not reachable in other way.
3 . Pregnant, nobody cames to help us to bring our baggage in the room.
4 . Noising _ a bad wake up
Each room door communicate with the same small corridor parquet and in the center you have the common toilet and the kitchen which means as soon as people walk around, go to the toilets, prepare breakfast... you have some noise. I was woke up the morning earlier because of toilet & breakfast preparation noise.
5 . Not at all "commercial" - any little thanks clients gifts - not hospitality behaviour
In a low season, most of guest house/hotel bargain again their room or offer other service to attract tourist. Here, it is all the contrary : no chocolate or candy on the bed ... It's not a big deal but if you pay by credit card, they inform you that they will charge you some fee (normally, it is comprised in the price). Even if it is not a lot, it's just you don't appreciate this end and not hospitality behaviour.
6 . Breakfast
I would love to write at least a good point on the breakfast but, the bacon they served to us was strong in taste and bad. I do not want to know the quality or the respected of their product shelf-life.
7 . Lack of basic accessories in room
No heater (you can not control it), not hair-dryer, no phone or internal phone, not enough place in bathroom to put our toilet trouser pocket.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TiClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerensvine, Owner at Keren's Vine, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Dear TiClaire,
thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your one night stay was not finished on the high note as Keren’s Vine is known for.
All our rooms are equipped with aircons and hairdryers. On your arrival the aircon was already set on heating. You just needed to press the “on” button. The hairdryer is in the bathroom underneath the basin. Also the internet was working and you got the right passwort. We are sorry that you couldn’t find the hairdryer and couldn’t get your PC connected. We would like to help you, but at no time during your stay did you indicate that you need some more help. (Also regarding the luggage.)
We are not a hotel, but a privately owned four-star guest house. We live in the same house and are therefore easily accessible - most simply by the bell explained to you on arrival. In the evening, once you have called us, we have helped you immediately. I explained once again the door is working like any normal door (turn the knob and pull).
In all of our rooms we provide tea and coffee facilities with all needed ingredients incl. sweets. And we offer Welcome-Sherry as well. Additionally each guest will receive a little farewell gift of a custom-printed droplessdisk. We have presented it to you too.
We also have special winter prices, just yours as well. And we gave you the opportunity to pay with credit card, but the fees what the providers asking for are never included in a cashprice.
Last but not least: Our breakfast is prepared daily from fresh ingredients. We are sorry that we have not matched your taste.
By the way, we have to renewal the star grading every year and we meet all the requirements for 4 stars very well.
It is a pity that none of the offers and conveniences of our house was seen and the wishes and suggestions have not been brought to our attention. Complaining afterwards when the guests are already gone helps neither to improve our services nor to make your stay more enjoyable.
We wish you all the best
Kerstin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
178
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Keren’s Vine is a lovely place to stay when in Stellenbosch – everything is perfect – location, rooms, food, hosts – All your needs are catered for. We wouldn’t stay anywhere else – do not think twice about booking this accommodation you will not be sorry. Only hope we can get back there again sometime. Thanks so much to Kerstin and Rene for having us stay with you

Room Tip: We had room downstairs which was a little dark as it doesnt get the sun but on the good side it woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenCollopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed for two nights and wish we could have stayed more. Arriving at the house we could see this was since place and I liked that it was just out of the city centre. We received a warm welcome from Kerstin and Rene who have done a great job with this place. The rooms were very nice. We took the large suite which was worth the extra money. Large room, tub with views of the mountain and separate shower. The pool area was great for sitting and relaxing. The morning breakfast selection was great and also offered the opportunity to interact its the owners and other guests. Kerstin made a number of suggestions on places for dinner in the area and also for our onward trip to Cape Town. Every suggestion she made was absolutely great. Make sure to consult with Kerstin before you do anything. We also checked our winery list with her and took her suggestions. The only bad winery we visited was the one we selected on our own. I hope we have the opportunity to stay here again and I willbe sending everyone I know to Kerens Vine when they visit SA.

Room Tip: Go for the suite, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We only stayed for one night at the end of our holiday in South Africa, but very much wish we had stayed for longer. Keren's Vine is lovely and maintained to a very high standard. Our room was beautifully comfortable, clean and maintained to a very high standard, and the views of the mountains were just spectacular. Our hosts were excellent at what they did, welcoming us and being very helpful in recommending and arranging dinner reservations. Thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Lovely quiet setting with beautiful views of the mountains. Clean rooms and welcoming hosts. We stayed in the Stellenbosch room which was lovely and opened out onto the pool area. The walk into town was very pleasant and we felt quite safe. Kerstin was very helpful booking airport transfers for our early arrival and organising the Vinehopper tour of the winelands in advance. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stulynne42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

We may have been crazy to go to Stellenbosch in August (winter = rain) but the weather was surprisingly perfect and it was nice being there in the quieter season. I think even it if had rained we would have enjoyed our stay at Keren's Vine. Keren's Vine is a guesthouse in an absolutely beautiful house (it looks like it was very recently built/renovated by a skilled architect!) at the top of a hill a few minutes drive outside of the "town center" area. There's an infinity pool overlooking the mountains and a nice deck that we didn't have a chance to enjoy much, due to it being winter and we had our two days filled with wine tastings and other excursions. We were given the room with Rozendal written on the wall. This room faces the front of the house (away from the pool deck) and it has an enclosed private deck and a shower that protrudes from the bathroom onto the deck so you are surrounded by glass and essentially showering outside. If I ever am lucky enough to have such a nice house I will be adding one of those faux outdoor showers!

René and Kerstin were gracious hosts and René gave us many good recommendations for dining and wineries to visit complete with maps and everything we needed. They even offered to make reservations for us if we wanted them.

Breakfasts were continental style with things like yogurts and cereal and meat, similar to the spreads I remember from travels in Austria and Germany, with the added perk of delicious juices that are everywhere in South Africa (missing those). Also, René would have cooked us eggs if we weren't so full from our delicious dinners the nights before (Rust en Vrede and Terrior, wonderful)!

This is a great place to stay for visiting Stellenbosch and Franschoek (we did both in two days, too short of a visit but we enjoyed it immensely). There's a place to park your car with an electronic gate separating the house and parking area from the quiet street. There were nice touches everywhere, like chocolates on the bed and a plug converter. There was a nice tv, a safe, and internet as well. The common rooms had a nice livingroom and a dining area by the beautiful kitchen. I wish I could live in such a nice house everyday! I hope we get the chance to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookjn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

We stayed in the Stellenbosch Room which may be the best room, as it opens out to the deck of the pool. Although this is a common sharing deck, it was pretty quiet at the time when we stayed there, and we had the deck all to ourselves and could sit there looking at the stars in the night ! The ensuite bathroom was spacious and nice. Overall, the place was very clean and well taken care of.

A little disadvantage may be that the place is a little difficult to locate and it may be a little out of town for those who do not have a rented car like we did. Breakfast was ok, but there is room for improvement.

Overall, we would recommend anyone to stay here. The hosts were nice and helpful on information on Stellenbosch. Kerstin was great - we were supposed to stay for 2 nights, but decided to stay only one instead due to a change in our travle plans, and she was quite flexible on the changes.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mayjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
7.0 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
0.7 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#5 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
The Wild Mushroom Boutique Hotel
#4 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
2.1 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#1 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#8 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keren's Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keren's Vine

Property: Keren's Vine
Address: 4 Rozendal Street | Uniepark/Rozendal, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keren's Vine is situated close to the city centre and the University. We offer you the best modern and spacious facilities and superior comfort. Our Guesthouse is the ideal sleepover location in preparation for your day's activities. Explore the Winelands and the Cape, or just relax at our pool, enjoying the view of the surrounding majestic mountains as Twin Peaks, Jonkershoek and Stellenbosch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing