We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 2 night getaway”
Review of De Hoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Hoek Manor
Ranked #38 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 February 2013

A great side trip to our stay in Cape town. The staff was wonderful. Fast hot breakfast. Cannot go wrong with a stay here. Town is quaint and food choices are vast also. Wine country is a beautiful part of South Africa.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilse H, Manager at De Hoek Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Oeps, I think here was a slip of the finger or Trip Adviser made a calculation mistake!
The review title says: “Perfect 2 night getaway” and then: A great side trip to our stay in Cape Town. The staff was wonderful. Fast hot breakfast. Cannot go wrong with a stay here. Town is quaint and food choices are vast also. Wine country is a beautiful part of South Africa.
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
4 of 5 stars Value
4 of 5 stars Location
4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
But the average shows just 1 star? Not possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for De Hoek Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Our room was on the second floor and was quite spacious and clean. We could hear the church bell chiming every hour, but it didn't interrupt our sleep.
The location was very central in Stellenbosch and the vineyards were not very far away.
A great stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aisling P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Absolutely FABULOUS accommodation. Very friendly staff and very efficient.
Rooms were very spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Location was perfect. Located right in the heart of Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Lovely rooms, well appointed. Only drawback is churchbells from across the road. Great service, staff are welcoming and helpful. Nice breakfasts. Good location in the centre of Stellenbosch. Good restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Good value for money
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Although this hotel is a little pricey I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone traveling to Stellenbosch . I am a frequent visitor to Stellenbosch and try and stay in a different B and B each time. This one is probably my favorite so far. Fantastic location in the centre of town within walking distance of all shops restaurants and university residences (This is important as parking in Stellenbosch is a problem) .my room was spacious tastefully decorated with a great bathroom and high pressure shower,all immaculately clean. The breakfast was delicious and wi fi and aircon very effective . We really had a great stay at De Hoek Manor, just wish we could have stayed longer

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lulu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

We had 2 guests stay at De Hoek in December 2012 and they absolutely loved every minute of it! The room was perfect, breakfast was great and the staff always friendly and ready to help. Definitely recommend De Hoek and will be using them for future guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NSAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Enjoyed my stay very much, accommodation and service was perfect. Everybody is very friendly and helpful, highly recommend a visit. Great location in the heart of Stellenbosch, close to everything you may require.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarragompie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#11 of 55 in Stellenbosch
47 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#24 of 113 in Stellenbosch
176 reviews
0.6 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Manor

Address: 7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £108 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Hoek Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of the university town of Stellenbosch, De Hoek Manor is surrounded by National Heritage buildings and arguably boasts the best address in town. We offer luxury accommodation at great value and pride ourselves in our unrivalled hospitality and friendly yet discreet service. De Hoek Manor consists of five luxurious en-suite bedrooms, two conference venues, large verandas and two private courtyards. Our stylishly decorated bedrooms feature views over the oaks, mountains and Stellenbosch's most iconic landmark, the Dutch Reformed 'Moederkerk' ('Mother Church'). Cafes, restaurants, cinemas, designer boutiques, museums, curio shops, the Eerste River, Stellenbosch University and Boland College are all within easy walking distance. De Hoek Manor is the ideal base for tourists and corporate executives to enjoy and experience the captivating beauty of Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your De Hoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing