We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice”
Review of De Hoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
De Hoek Manor
Ranked #39 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Great choice”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Very cute and small hotel, located in walking distance of all the restaurants and shopping in Stellenbosch. Great staff and spot to explore the wine region. Staff assisted us in finding a taxi when our friend required an early departure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
85
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spanien
1 review
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We just passed by for one day in this beautiful town and stayd in De Hoek Manor. It might be a bit more expensive, but it's worth every penny. Best breakfast of our whole SA trip, delighting nice host give you a very family ambiente. And city centre is in walking distance. Would go there always again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danikoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed at this stylish and well positioned small hotel, on a corner in the most beautiful part of town. There were interesting shops, art galleries and places to eat nearby. We would recommend this to any visitor to Stellenbosch.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Willem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

This is our second stay at De Hoek Manor, and we were given a wonderful welcome back when we made the booking, AND when we arrived. We love the position, especially as parking in Stellenbosch town is impossible, quite congested most days and nights, so to be staying at a hotel with parking, and close to ALL shops, sightseeing in the town, and cafes and restaurants....all within in a few minutes of walking is a treat. Attention to detail here is wonderful, and with personal service. Rooms are spacious, clean and lovely linens. Everything is supplied from gowns to toiletries and every evening a 'turn down' along with exquisite luxury chocolates and a pretty decanter of port/sherry to enjoy at bedtime, and fresh lavender on the pillow! Everything is a treat here! breakfasts are beautifully served with everything you could desire, and
again fresh lavender adorns your place setting. De Hoek Manor knows how to 5* spoil you...and ...without the 5* price!! I think very good value for what you get. Our stays here have made each time in Stellenbosch a JOY! Thank you everyone there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

De Hoek Manor is a beautiful, relatively small guest house located in downtown Stellenbosch, just a block or two from dozens of cafes, restaurants, and shops. And it's right in the middle of South Africa's beautiful wine country, so it's a perfect "home base" for wine tasting and visits to the wine estates.

The room we stayed in was very well appointed -- big, comfortable bed with luxurious linens, spacious bathroom with modern fixtures, and tasteful décor. The little details were noticed and appreciated, including turn-down service and a small bottle of port before bed. Breakfast was included and was comprised of a generous spread of cold items (breads, jams, fruit, yogurt, cereals) and a made-to-order hot component as well (eggs, tomatoes, beans, toast, sausage). The staff was courteous, efficient, and professional.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austria
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Individual rooms with high comfort. Our room had only a small window, but that is due to the style of the building. Other rooms had bigger windows. Comfortable beds and spacious bathroom. The breakfast was very good, fresh and all wishes have been fulfilled. Nice presentation. The location is excellent for starting a tour in Stellenbosch town and also to tour some of the wineyards. Just the the church opposite the Hotel has a bell and that could be disturbing for the ones that do not have a deep sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abusultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The Guest House is in an excellent location in Stellenbosch. It is well run and the staff are very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are good sized and very comfortable. I will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.1 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oude Werf Hotel
Oude Werf Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caledon Villa
Caledon Villa
#26 of 111 in Stellenbosch
174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#51 of 111 in Stellenbosch
104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avenues Guest Lodge
Avenues Guest Lodge
#21 of 111 in Stellenbosch
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Manor

Property: De Hoek Manor
Address: 7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Hoek Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of the university town of Stellenbosch, De Hoek Manor is surrounded by National Heritage buildings and arguably boasts the best address in town. We offer luxury accommodation at great value and pride ourselves in our unrivalled hospitality and friendly yet discreet service. De Hoek Manor consists of five luxurious en-suite bedrooms, two conference venues, large verandas and two private courtyards. Our stylishly decorated bedrooms feature views over the oaks, mountains and Stellenbosch's most iconic landmark, the Dutch Reformed 'Moederkerk' ('Mother Church'). Cafes, restaurants, cinemas, designer boutiques, museums, curio shops, the Eerste River, Stellenbosch University and Boland College are all within easy walking distance. De Hoek Manor is the ideal base for tourists and corporate executives to enjoy and experience the captivating beauty of Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your De Hoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing