We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and quiet. You feel like the only one there”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Hoek Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De Hoek Manor
Ranked #37 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kingston upon thames
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely and quiet. You feel like the only one there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed for three nights whilst visiting my daughter in Stellenbosch. My room had a lovely vaulted ceiling and the bed is enormous with great linen and good pillows. The tea and coffee making facilities are nice with a jar of rusks added.
I'm not sure about the little bottle of ?brandy left by the bed each night - seems unnecessary but I enjoyed the chocolates left each evening. The bathroom is very roomy with a good shower and excellent water pressure.
I think it'd be good if they provided a box of tissues in the room and some body conditioner would be nice.
I had breakfast very early each day so had the room to myself. It was more than adequate; I ordered some oatmeal one morning. They are very helpful and obliging.
My only criticism is that I had to kneel on the floor to lock and unlock my door as it's situation under the low winder and not easy to access. Not a problem for me but if you aren't able bodied it might be.
Not easy to navigate the stairs with a heavy suitcase either...

Room Tip: The church is not a problem so don't be put off by it. The bells are not intrusive at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZaraRozLeona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    39
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
84
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

De Hoek Manor is the best place to be when you visiting Stellenbosch, friendly staff treating guest with respect and always a smile. The Hotel is very clean and very close to the restaurants and places to party. The service is exceptional and this place is really good and will definitely go back again should I need to visit Stellenbosch again

Room Tip: Very quiet, and convenient to many other things.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loyiso Christop... N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

I stayed one night on 30th March 2014. Most unforgettable and frankly, I was sad to leave the very next day. My room was spacious and has a certain charm and character. It does not come across as your 'typical' B&B. My next morning's breakfast was served with a very personal touch. Very friendly staff and each guest has their own table.

De Heok for sure is my nest bed the next time I ever swing by Stellenbosch !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I really like the interior of the hotel and good atmosphere.
Very quiet except the bell from the church (it didn't bother me at all) and lovely restaurants and souvenir shops are just around corner!!
The receptionist was so kind and she even up greaded my room!!
So I was really enjoyed staying the hotel and Stellenbosch!!
I definately would like to stay the hotel again if I have a chance to visit Stellenbosch!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makiko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

the Village with excellent Restaurants are around the Corner, it´s the most convenient Location to stay in Stellenbosch. The Guesthouse itself is very charming but luxury, together with the very friendly staff, just fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We found the comfortable accommodation, services, staff and breakfasts at De Hoek exceptional!
It has a perfect central location opposite the beautiful Moeder Kerk with easy walking to restaurants and shops and is also very conveniently located to the University.
We look forward to returning and will recommend it to friends who visit their children at the University!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandydeBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

De Hoek Manor is lovely house right in the heart of Stellenbosch. The location is excellent and it was nice to have parking outside the hotel.

Our room was very comfortable, the staff were very welcoming and breakfast was very good.

Overall we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stratt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
0.3 mi away
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
107 Dorpstraat Boutique Hotel
#10 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albarosa Guesthouse
Albarosa Guesthouse
#48 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roosenwijn Guest House
Roosenwijn Guest House
#11 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Eendracht
Eendracht
#12 of 50 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fynbos Villa Guest House
Fynbos Villa Guest House
#33 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
de Oude Meul Guest House
de Oude Meul Guest House
#98 of 112 in Stellenbosch
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Hoek Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Hoek Manor

Property: De Hoek Manor
Address: 7-9 Drostdy Street, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — De Hoek Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre of the university town of Stellenbosch, De Hoek Manor is surrounded by National Heritage buildings and arguably boasts the best address in town. We offer luxury accommodation at great value and pride ourselves in our unrivalled hospitality and friendly yet discreet service. De Hoek Manor consists of five luxurious en-suite bedrooms, two conference venues, large verandas and two private courtyards. Our stylishly decorated bedrooms feature views over the oaks, mountains and Stellenbosch's most iconic landmark, the Dutch Reformed 'Moederkerk' ('Mother Church'). Cafes, restaurants, cinemas, designer boutiques, museums, curio shops, the Eerste River, Stellenbosch University and Boland College are all within easy walking distance. De Hoek Manor is the ideal base for tourists and corporate executives to enjoy and experience the captivating beauty of Stellenbosch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Hoek Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing