We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!!!!! (**,)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse
Ranked #25 of 112 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Amazing!!!!! (**,)”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Absolutely amazing! ! ! Thank you for such an incredible stay..
Very clean, , beautiful view, , stunning wine &awesome wine tasting aswell as the breakfast. Definitely coming back!! Thank you so much

Tamar&Sultan

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcpherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    59
    26
    8
    5
See reviews for
32
152
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The comfortable, spacious loft apartment was perfect for a family of four. The bathroom was modern and super clean. Not good for people who struggle with stairs but not a problem for us. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranKoe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The location is superb. The refurbished loft rooms are impressive. Breakfasts were somewhat disappointing with under cooked bacon and warm bread for toast and we constantly had to ask staff to fill milk jugs, cereal pots and coffee urns. But as long as you ask you will get.
Wine tasting was a bit disappointing. A little slow and not very inspired. The wines are lovely if a little expensive. One guest commented that the place feels like its run by students. With conversations between staff going along the lines of how they have mastered the art of looking busy whilst on facebook. Our view if that there is a lack of professionalism about the place. The restaurant is vastly improved from previous visits and this will be worth keeping an eye on as we believe its also due a transformation.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babaloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This was definitely an amazing experience! Marianne Wine Estate managers and their amazing staff made our stay unforgettable! Spacious, comfortable and very clean rooms. Great tasting experience with variety of wines!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A friends wedding at this venue with accommodation. I had a loft room in the main block which was above the working vineyard. A huge room !!! Beautifully appointed and with an equally impressive bathroom. The vineyard is in the most idyllic location with splendid views in all directions. Wine tasting in the main building was efficient rather than enjoyable and the wine was a little slow to arrive but still very nice. As we were staying over breakfast was served in the main tasting room and plentiful and enjoyable. Wasn't my wedding :( but as a location it looked fabulous and everything certainly seemed to run very smoothly.

So wine tasting or getting hitched it's well worth a visit. If you have chance to stay then you won't be disappointed.

Enjoy...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spacegunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Beautiful location. Very quiet, with an authentic Stellenbosch farm feel. Spacious room with big bathroom and big bath tub and double shower. Staff were all very attentive and helpful with recommendations for local activities/eateries. Breakfasts were bacon and eggs, selection of fruits/cereal. Breakfasts could be slightly better. Wifi was useable but 0.6Mbps in rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimeraza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We arrived at Marianne on our second night in the wine lands, and were bowled over with the location. From the impeccably maintained grounds, to the stunning wines (having worked in the wine industry, and tasted many South African wines, Marianne's reds were the finest I have tried, hand down) and the pièce de résistance - the Pool House - this was one of the finest establishments we have stayed in, in South Africa.

Specific thanks to Antoine, who gave us so much time and knowledge for our wine tasting, and Tom to the great restaurant review (La Maison, Franschoek). We will be back!

Room Tip: Pool house, every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kurtdettman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
9.0 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
6.4 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#20 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Summerwood Guest House
Summerwood Guest House
#3 of 112 in Stellenbosch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
7.2 mi away
Le Verger
Le Verger
#57 of 112 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
6.3 mi away
MolenVliet Oosthuizen Family Vineyards
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse

Property: Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse
Address: Valley Road, Off R44 | Between Stellenbosch & Klapmuts, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 112 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marianne Wine Estate & Guesthouse is situated at the foothill of the Simonsberg mountain outside the historic town of Stellenbosch. Come and enjoy heartfelt hospitality and award winning wines in an absolutely breathtaking setting overlooking the Cape Winelands with a picture perfect view of Table Mountain in the far distance. Stay in our wonderfully spacious and stylish loft apartments surrounded by citrus orchards and vineyards or in our spectacular thatch roof Manor house for a truly unique African experience. Relax by one of our two outdoor swimming pools which features panoramic views of the surrounding vineyards and hills. And if you're feeling peckish our Tasting room offers lovely platters and picnics. Experience true Cape living on a working wine farm in the Stellenbosch region, taste our wines and discover our French savoir-faire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Marianne Wine Estate Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing