We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at Klein Welmoed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
Ranked #33 of 111 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay at Klein Welmoed”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at Klein Welmoed for a night while attending a wedding in the area. The guest house is in a beautiful setting and the pictures dont do it justice. The service was fantastic and we felt very welcome there. We would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
20
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Thank you to the wonderful Team at Klein Welmoed . From the beautiful gardens to the luxury rooms ,to the fabulous breakfast , Our stay was faultless. We definitely will be back , and will recommend this to everyone we know .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I felt welcome from the moment I entered Klein Welmoed. The staff are really outstanding and everyday you are greeted and treated as a welcome guest. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed. My only "complaint" is that the curtains are well past their sell-by-date and could do with replacing. The breakfasts were superb and I never left there hungry! I will definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SonjaHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My stay at Klein Welmoed really exceeded expectations. It is a beautiful setting between Stellenbosch and Somerset West with good proximity to many of the highly rated wine farms in the vicinity. There was a welcome feeling of privacy in the cottages and Michelle was the epitome of kindness going out of her way to assist with all my requests. The wine made on the farm is lovely, especially the Sauvignon Blanc and the vineyards made for some wonderful walks. Expect to be accompanied on your walks by the resident border collie and Jack Russell! The staff were efficient, discreet and kind. Altogether a most relaxing break.

Room Tip: The Shiraz Cottages are perfect for the solo traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed in Klein Welmoed for a week during the X-Mas holidays, and it was simply perfect! The estate is incredibly pretty (trees, grape vines, rolling hills) and ideally located for day trips to the Stellenbosch wineries or Cape Town. There is plenty of room for kids to play, and our four children loved the pool. Breakfast whichever way we liked it, and service really focused on our personal wishes. We'd love to come back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maarten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinWelmoed, Manager at Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Good day,

Thank you very much for coming to visit us on the farm. We throughly enjoyed having you around.

Hope to see you and your family again soon.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a beautiful wine farm. Our little cottage was spotless clean lovely decor and everything one needed for a great stay.The breakfast in the morning was served inside or you could sit outside in the sunshine. Nice choice for breakfast and the staff was very friendly.we were staying over the new year period and Michelle was kind enough to book us into a lovely place 96 The Winery which was just down the road from where we a were staying so no busy roads .there was a lovely swimming pool to cool off in and the grounds were very well tended and very pretty.if in this area and looking for a nice little cottage try here it is quite lovely.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 42Maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinWelmoed, Manager at Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Hi,

Thank you so very much for your kind words. We hope to see you again next year when summer arrives.

Take care.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

What a lovely place! Having spent two vacations in cottages of similar pricing and location, Klein Welmoed is our favorite choice for the following reasons 1) the service was friendly and professional, 2) the facilities were beautiful and well maintained 3) the location is picturesque and situated 15 minutes (drive) form the beach 4) presence of security personnel at night puts one’s mind at ease.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KleinWelmoed, Manager at Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi,

Many thanks for the kind words. It is much appreciated and we are looking forward to welcoming you to our estates again in the future...

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
4.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Stellenbosch
4.5 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
7.9 mi away
Sugarbird Manor
Sugarbird Manor
#19 of 111 in Stellenbosch
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eikendal Lodge
Eikendal Lodge
#10 of 111 in Stellenbosch
288 reviews
10.4 mi away
Banhoek Lodge
Banhoek Lodge
#1 of 111 in Stellenbosch
218 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bonne Esperance
Bonne Esperance
#6 of 111 in Stellenbosch
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House

Property: Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House
Address: Raithby/Annandale Road | Off Winery Road, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the Stellenbosch winelands and only 25 mins from Cape Town International airport on a wine and olive farm, this guest house offers bed and breakfast and self catering cottages. Facilities include internet, DSTV, swimming pool, BBQ areas, fireplaces, birdlife, cycling, walks and fishing. Wheel chair friendly. Facilities available for conferences, small functions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Klein Welmoed Luxury Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing