We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for late arrivals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penelope's Guesthouse
Ranked #13 of 113 Stellenbosch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were fairly shocked by the owner's poor business sense in continuing to complain about our late arrival (10:30 p.m.) the following day despite the fact that we had emailed that we would be late as soon as we had internet access. What is the point of complaining that guests have not accommodated your timetable when they are checking out? The room was lovely, but it wasn't worth the unfriendly reception. If you aren't sure if you can arrive or call/email by 7 pm, stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pigaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope M, Owner at Penelope's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry that you were unhappy with the reception you received on your arrival.

However, I would like to point out the following: our check in time is clearly stated on our website: we sent an e-mail prior to your arrival confirming the check in time. In this e-mail we stated that if you would like a late in check in it would be possible if arranged with us; we tried to contact you telephonically at 20h30pm as you had not checked in yet; we received your e-mail at 20h45 stating that you would be checking in shortly; you arrived at 11pm.

Penelope's is an owner operated guesthouse and we do not have a 24 hour reception. We are happy to accommodate guests with a late check by prior arrangement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

The tranquillity and peace of Penelope's is all that I need after a busy year. She is so professional that I can never stay at another place now.
As the Chinese proverb say:
I hear and I forget,
I see and I remember,
I do and I understand.




  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope M, Owner at Penelope's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you! It is wonderful to welcome previous guests. Looking forward to your next visit in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

....of our 3 weeks trip to SA. After an 11,5 h flight and picking up our rental car, we drove to
Stellenbosch as our first stop. We got a warm welcome from Penelope and enjoyed our lovely room with
such nice details as a sweet treat on the bed, a little bottle of red wine and fresh flowers (even in the bathroom). As others have said, the guesthouse is in Paradyskloof - and it takes about
10 minutes to drive to downtown Stellenbosch. And many wine estates are nearby - but not in walking distance. Breakfast was a real treat every morning. The food was fresh and tasty and all was
lovely decorated in beautiful pottery. If weather was good - we could enjoy breakfast outside
among so many pretty flowers - lovely.
We have enjoyed the hositality of Penelope and her team for 3 nights and we are happy we did it. We had a wonderful and relaxing start of our trip here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiltlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penelope M, Owner at Penelope's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you had a relaxing start to your holiday. We are situated in a tranquil neighbourhood of Stellenbosch, away from the hustle and bustle, but close enough to enjoy all that Stellenbosch has to offer. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed here for two nights from the 10th December. This B&B is so clean and beautiful. Penelope is a wonderful hostess and will help as much as she can. We had the best nights sleep there as the bed is so big and comfortable. It was just gorgeous to wake up in the morning, open the shutters and stare at the mountain and blue sky whilst lying in bed. We never opted for breakfast as we went out for breakfast to a couple of the many wine estates, but I can only imagine, Penelope would do a very yummy breakfast. We would definitely go back in a heart beat. The B &B is wonderfully located in Paradyskloof, just outside the stellenbosch main centre but only a few minutes drive from it. The suburb is beautiful, quiet and upmarket and there's a space to park your car. We loved the area so much we actually now dream of buying a house in that area. Thank you Penelope!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DontDoDissapointment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

An ideal location in a residential area of Stellenbosch, maybe a 10-minute drive to downtown, plus close to several wine estates. The rooms are very clean and spacious; a fridge with an honesty bar and a microwave are located in the hallway. Breakfast is excellent, even with home-made muffins!Penelope is from Namibia, and speaks excellent German, which is a great benefit for German guests. In summary, we felt very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peggy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My fiancée and I stay for 1 night but wished we had stayed for more. Penelope and her husband were very friendly and accommodating as were the rest of the staff. We arrived early in the morning as we had a wine tour booked for that day but Penelope was happy for us to leave all our bags there and had them sent to our room for our return in the evening.

Our room was big and clean including the bathroom but the best thing was the bed; super comfortable. I didn't want to get up in the morning. When we eventually did we treated to a very nice breakfast, all the things you would expect in a breakfast.

Location is a little out of the town centre but we have a car so it was ok.

I would have no hesitation in staying again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Penelopes was the first guest house that we stayed at in SA. We planned to use major hotels in the cities and guest houses during our trip along the Garden Route. We drove to Stellenbosch from Cape Town and arrived a lot earlier than we had planned. Nevertheless we were warmly welcome by Penelope and her husband to their charming property situated on a nice residential estate not far from Stellenbosch itself. Well situated for visiting the wineries in the area. The house was spacious and light with a colonial feel to it. Our adequately sized room was situated at the back of the house, it had a small balcony overlooking the garden all spotlessly clean and a large comfortable bed. In the morning we were given a full English breakfast in the spacious dining room with a view onto the garden where Penelope keeps her English rose garden. The breakfast set us up for the day as we had wine tasting to do at 10:00 am before we began our drive to the next port of call along The Garden Route. All in all a nice experience and good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
1.8 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
10 Alexander
10 Alexander
#2 of 113 in Stellenbosch
447 reviews
3.2 mi away
Lovane Boutique Wine Estate and Guest House
2.3 mi away
Apple Tree Guest House
Apple Tree Guest House
#9 of 113 in Stellenbosch
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penelope's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penelope's Guesthouse

Address: 21 Speciosa Street | Paradyskloof, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £67 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Penelope's Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Penelope's Guesthouse is situated in Paradyskloof (Stellenbosch) which is approximately 3km from the village centre.Our rooms are furnished with king sized beds (twin beds on request), air-conditioning, satellite television, a desk, a hair-dryer, a Nespresso coffee machine, en-suite bathrooms as well as a private balcony.A swimming pool is available.English, Afrikaans and German is spoken.Limited off-street parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Penelope's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing