We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, relaxing, good service & food”
Review of Long Table Restaurant - CLOSED

Long Table Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location, relaxing, good service & food”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a relaxing lunch here yesterday as a family with two kids aged 11 & 13. It was very enjoyable, service was paced as we wanted it without any sense of being rushed. The menu is suitable for most tastes and they did their best to meet the idiosyncratic desires of our kids (none of that and this on the side please!). A little strange to not have enough servettes or bottles of olive oil/vinegar for all the tables but we eventually overcame that problem. Certainly recommend it as a great location for a relaxed lunch with sound, straight forward food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneZeroBravo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    78
    24
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corwen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Our winery experience in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Having been to several wineries in Stellenbosch, this is our first visit to The Long Table. We consider it to be one of the best winery lunches we have experienced and will definitely visit the Long Table again on our next trip to Stellenbosch. I had sirloin steak topped with hollandaise sauce and a poached egg. It was cooked to perfection. My wife chose duck breast, equally delicious. The wine was excellent and the service wonderful. The views were superb. What more could one ask for?

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good, better, BEST!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Sunday lunch in the vineyards - the expectation is high. As expected - the setting is perfect. The restaurant was fully booked and waiters were quietly setting up for a busy day ahead. I found the service exceptional - waiter was neat, efficient and knowledgeable. I ordered the specials as recommended by the waiter - it was perfect! - Starter - baby fig salad with prosciutto and for mains - the best lamb I have ever tasted. Dessert - their famous cheese cake. The wines were excellent and affordable - a good Sauvignon Blanc for R80 is a bargain anywhere. This gem in the winelands is good value for money with great food and relaxed, efficient service. Always good to return to one of my favourite restaurants.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent food, excellent prices, superb location!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The restaurant is located in the middle of wineyards, everything is beautifully green and relaxing.

The menu is a little limited but adequate for lunch. We had the hamburger, sirloin steak, venison and duck. Everything was tasty, especially the hamburger! Nothing stellar but nothing average either...

Service is really slow so be prepared to wait.

Wines are mostly limited to Haskell (the winery where the restaurant is located). I enjoyed my glass of Red Haskell II.

Prices are spot on, very reasonable. Recommended if you want a nice lunch with relaxing views of the Stellenbosch countryside!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TuncY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
296 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“simple lunch”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

decent food but nothing special at Haskell Vineyard. Nice view from terrace. Friendly staff. Can be very busy in the weekend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Table Restaurant also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing