We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood; hit and miss affair with service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Town Fish Market - CLOSED

Cape Town Fish Market
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Description: Stellenbosch Cnr Plein & Ryneveld Street Stellenbosch Tel 021 883 9216 Fax 021 883 9234 Cell 082 887 3998
Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great seafood; hit and miss affair with service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

During our recent visit to Stellenbosch we ate at this restaurant twice. The first time was a Sunday night and it was great: the food was excellent and the service efficient and friendly. We saw that they have an all you can eat special on Thursday nights so decided to return here for that.

On our second visit, the experience was still good, but not as great as on our first visit. We felt a little deserted by our waitress at times and the sushi was only from a smaller selection and not from the sushi train.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Henri614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    27
    22
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
323 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Severe food poisoning”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were in Stellenbosch on a busy evening - Valentine's Day - but got a table at Cape Town Fish Market which we had not realised was part of a chain. The food tasted OK but for the next 3 days I was really ill. The only food that I had eaten that my partner had not was a plate of mussels. These can be quite risky if not fresh and stored correctly

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“good location, good food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

cape town fish market is one of a chain of - presumably franchised - restaurants serving a wide variety of fish and steak type dishes at very economical prices. this restaurant is nicely situated in stellenbosch, with extensive (lit at night) parking across the road and is attractively laid out - a very pleasant ambience. when we were there it wasn t overly busy - and yet the service was very slow - and the friendliness of the staff didn t make up for what was a disappointing hours wait for food. good value for money; decent selection of wines (although you can take your own for a nominal corkage fee). recommended with reservations about service standard.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Francis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Old world charm atmosphere and superb meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Delicious fish meal and excellent service. The restaurant is not fancy with high prices, it does not have a view but has an old charm atmosphere. I would certainly recommend this for a casual meal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fast food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Fast efficient friendly service, so not ideal if you want a leisurely meal. A sushi conveyor bar is at the centre and not one person had sushi. A lot of waste and bored staff.

Calamari starter was fine and so was the king clip, but not the best had in SA .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruthven65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cape Town Fish Market also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing