We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork not cooked”
Review of Casparus - CLOSED

Casparus
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pork not cooked”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Uncooked pork carries the risk of roundworm infection...... I ordered the porkloin with shitaki sauce but the first cut into the meat and i saw blood!!!!really.
We sent it back, they cooked it some more.
it was the driest toughest piece of pork loin I have had in my life. i had one bite and only one bite.
I donated the rest to a homeless person because i do not waste food.
I hope they enjoyed it!

Not worth the expense at all!!!!!!!!luckily we took along our own bottle of quality red wine that we could enjoy

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    23
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, but empty - oddly....”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We ate here, on the recommendation of our lodge owners. And it was delicious, definitely one of the best meals of the holiday. However the restaurant was empty, which did mean we got really attentive service, and it made it feel really personal. It was just a shame, because the people of Stellenbosch are missing a trick.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“excellent food!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Highly recommended! Fine dining at its best. Wonderful experience! The best restaurant in Stellenbosch. would definitly come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Plattelander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We successfully completed a conference, so the chair invited us for dinner at Casparus to celebrate.

Casparus is located where the Dorp Street theatre used to be, and is a little difficult to find if you do not know where to look!

A very funky interior - maybe a little cold for winter. But the food absolutely compensates. I had the poached oyster with grenadilla starter, and the fillet with red wine sauce - fantastic. All my colleagues were also happy with their choices.

Also an excellent wine list, and friendly service. Yes, the service is maybe a little slow, but a lot of care clearly goes into the food preparation. So, enjoy the wine and company while a masterpiece is prepared!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Corne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Imaginative cooking”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This is the third time I have visited Casparus and have never been disappointed.
The oysters in Cape Classique (champagne equivalent) are simply outstanding. Still a lovely sea flavor and not too rich on a bed of potato mash. Simple - but simple with quality ingredients is always reliable and rewarding.
Our other dishes were good but not outstanding - the lamb rump was too rare. Rare or too rare might be smart in "chef talk" but seems always to result in meat that is a bit rubbery and not as tasty as it might have been if more care had been taken. Pink but not over rare is the answer.
(hope the chef reads this!)
Every thing else was good puds included.
I notice another comment re service, and must agree. VERY Amateur.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casparus also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing