We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ITALIAN FAMILY RESTAURANT”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Masseria - CLOSED

La Masseria
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ITALIAN FAMILY RESTAURANT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Reunion of friends who visited Italy earlier in the year - wanted to "re-live" the Italian cuisine we experienced in Italy. Good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARIANNE1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was a very disappointing evening after having heard excellent reports about this restaurant in it's previous premises. The service was very slow and you are seated on a patio with no atmosphere.We were a big group and came away not having enjoyed the evening's experience at all .I will not be returning nor recommending to others

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiki C, Manager at La Masseria, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Buongiorno! We are so sad to hear your about your bad experience..was it on April 28th 2031, when the review was posted? (Just want to make sure because the restaurant was closed for 5 months of renovations from 7 April to 6 Aug 2013).
We would love to have you back to see us in our " better shape" - the premises have been renovated and our service upped, to welcome back our patrons who have followed us from Stellenbosch to Durbanville and back again, since 1999!
Hope to "wow" you next time xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
158 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great, affordable food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

If you are after authentic, affordable Italian food, this is the place to go to. On the downside, the cutlery was dirty, and you sit on plastic chairs (epic fail).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nakkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Always enjoyed this restaurant in the past but our first visit to the new venue was so disappointing! The food was okay but the service was shocking! We waited about 2 hours for our meal and when we complained to the owner he didn't give a damn! There are other "branches" of this restaurant and I have only had a good experience in the past so this was very unfortunate but my friends and I will not return there!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJW98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordons Bay, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Saturday night was a real pleasure in La Masseria. My partner had a seafood linguine, apparently the best he has ever had, with generous amounts of prawn and mussel and a fantastic sauce.

I had a pizza (the last item on the pizza menu) with a delicious crispy thin base, a really good quality mozarella, and home-made sausage, salami and ham as topping. I saw they had vegetarian options too.

The atmosphere was great, with both couples and families with children being accommodated as the acoustics are really good. The building that houses La Masseria is from 1948 and very quaint, definitely worth a visit. The one ladies toilet sports an ancient Chubbs safe - I guess they'd have to take the roof off the house to get that out. La Masseria is a real find with great service and pleasant attitude.

I see they do cooking classes too... perhaps I'll try that out some day.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dannerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing