We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faulty towers in Stellenbosch”
Review of La Masseria - CLOSED

La Masseria
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Faulty towers in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Service poor, food ok but not anything more than ordinary, waiting time long, ambience poor. Your order will most probably be messed up with one or more people not getting their food. First time in life where I had a meal at an Italian restaurant where the pasta was completely overcooked... as in completely

BUT

Do not complaint... because a real dose of Faulty Towers behaviour will come your way.

What I do not get is that this is a family owner little enterprise. Why don't they become serious about their little place? Unfortunately with so many places in Stellenbosch La Masseria does not really have a value proposition that ought to attract customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-taste-bud-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved the atmosphere... food&service disappointing”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

2-3 Weeks ago my fiance and I visited this restaurant. Been driving past for years and seeing that we looooove Italian food we decided to go there for our anniversary.
Beautiful views and loved the atmosphere. Being in the restaurant industry myself, I noticed a few things... Glasses given to us was not the same size- seemed like red and white wine glasses, cutlery not as clean just to name a few. Then we noticed there's only a few meat/poultry options in the pasta section. We ordered:
Bolognese and Half moon shaped pasta filled with creamy spinach and ricotta

The halfmoon pasta tasted a bit bland and the pasta was not al dente but rather soft and almost slimy. Tasted as if it was cooked from frozen as center(spinach+ricotta) was colder than rest of dish.
The Bolognese( not even garnished and colour was light brown rather than usual red from tomato) tasted 'weird' and my fiance soon discovered the ingredient which he recognized... Bully beef. I think any person that tasted Bully beef before would be able to identify this by its strong/pungent taste and jelly texture.
We did not finish all our food as the idea of having bully beef in a pasta(described on menu as: Fresh Tagliatelle, served with our traditional slow‐cooked pork, beef and tomato ragu’)
I don't even eat Bully beef at home, but pay to eat it at 'Authentic' Italian restaurant. We waited almost half an hour before they cleared the plates and brought the card machine.

When we were busy paying, my fiance asked the waiter what meat they use and she said sorry I would like to do the payment first as I cannot multitask- Strange... don't you attend to customer first? It was as if she was trying to find words... And then she said that 100% beef and Pork and secret is the recipe and spices. Unfortunately(to think of it now) we decided to leave it there, seeing that she was a bit nervous and was stuttering trying to explain.

What a disappointing evening- will not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosenwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I enjoyed my supper here, although I had to remind the staff about a key ingredient missing from my dish.Beautiful venue for family supper with lots a space and casual atmosphere. Place for kids to play withou distubing other guests. I did miss the singing this time though...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janetdixon12345i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ITALIAN FAMILY RESTAURANT”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Reunion of friends who visited Italy earlier in the year - wanted to "re-live" the Italian cuisine we experienced in Italy. Good experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MARIANNE1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Let down”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

This was a very disappointing evening after having heard excellent reports about this restaurant in it's previous premises. The service was very slow and you are seated on a patio with no atmosphere.We were a big group and came away not having enjoyed the evening's experience at all .I will not be returning nor recommending to others

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank foresthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiki C, Manager at La Masseria, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Buongiorno! We are so sad to hear your about your bad experience..was it on April 28th 2031, when the review was posted? (Just want to make sure because the restaurant was closed for 5 months of renovations from 7 April to 6 Aug 2013).
We would love to have you back to see us in our " better shape" - the premises have been renovated and our service upped, to welcome back our patrons who have followed us from Stellenbosch to Durbanville and back again, since 1999!
Hope to "wow" you next time xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing