We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vibe and food”
Review of La Masseria - CLOSED

La Masseria
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent vibe and food”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

True Italian food, excellent vibe but pricey. Romantic setting, but not a quiet place, its Italian, its loud and lots of fun. They serve local wines that are not that well known but good wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PriveeMarinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Real, traditional Italian Family cuisine”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were so fed up because all we could find was American style Italian food with no resemblance to Italy at all. Then we found this little gem of a place. What a pleasure, real home-style Italian food in an Italian family home atmosphere. Everything fresh, home-made or home grown including all the pastas, meats and cheeses. Such an interesting selection of dishes that actually originated in Italy and not America! The traditional pizzas are spectacular.
Apart from many lunches we have had great fun at special events with special meals and entertainment. An added bonus is their cookery lessons, not only do you learn how, but you get to taste as well.
We are looking forward to joining the family again soon.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank grantandgillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Italy in the winelands!!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have finally found a restaurant that serves traditional Italian food cooked to perfection. The atmosphere is so cosy that you in fact do not want to leave. The staff were very friendly and service was the best I've experienced in the Stellenbosch area.

A must have is the Spaghetti Bolognese. Italy on a plate!! My husband had the Vitello Saltimbocca which he is still raving about (it's been 2 days). My friend had the trio of pasta which according to her was heavenly. Her husband had the Porchetta pizza...best Italian sausage hes ever tasted. The wine list is reasonable and one can see they support the local industry.

A memorable experience. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.

Life is truly beautiful at La Masseria!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nutella234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best time ever.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Really enjoyed the list beautiful little restaurant. I am so happy that I discovered it, quite by accident. Was made to feel like family by the staff and the food was really delicious. Thanks guys. Keep up the fantastic work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misscatuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Faulty towers in Stellenbosch”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Service poor, food ok but not anything more than ordinary, waiting time long, ambience poor. Your order will most probably be messed up with one or more people not getting their food. First time in life where I had a meal at an Italian restaurant where the pasta was completely overcooked... as in completely

BUT

Do not complaint... because a real dose of Faulty Towers behaviour will come your way.

What I do not get is that this is a family owner little enterprise. Why don't they become serious about their little place? Unfortunately with so many places in Stellenbosch La Masseria does not really have a value proposition that ought to attract customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-taste-bud-101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Masseria also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing