We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Rare Treat”
Review of Indochine

Indochine
Ranked #16 of 250 Restaurants in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$60
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian-inspired cuisine at Indochine is an evocative, fine dining food theatre, where delicate flavours come alive and each dish is synonymous with vitality, wellness and healthy living. Discover Asian tapas turned into an art form, or experience a tea ceremony, find signature dishes like pork belly and duck - everything is served to create an all-sensory dining experience. Enjoy every moment of exquisitely balanced Asian-influenced flavours in an intimate setting. Inside, a vibrant blue and copper colour palette creates a calming backdrop. Dine under the stunning Swallows in Flight art installation, sculpted by Lionel Smit and Andre Stead, where over 1300 swallows become part of the incredible views that stretch across to Table Mountain.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Rare Treat”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was a fantastic meal from beginning to end. The beautiful and stimulating setting, from the copper tables, the banzais, and the magnificent swallows to the elegant and mysterious cheetahs, the Shaka saga and the dog in the canoe, made this memorable. The food was art itself as well, and the small menu did not leave one feeling bereft of choice. Each item had obviously been carefully considered and the chef knew what he was about. Service from William was attentive, entertaining and faultless. We wanted something special, and we got it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdamNoelDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    55
    36
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Over the top property with very nice restaurant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice dinner by the fire in this lovely winery. The staff could not have been nice and the food very good. The restaurant is just part of this experience. The have thought of everything here!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cindylouwho4UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE US
Level Contributor
553 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A great lunch with Asian flavors and nice views”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had a great and memorable lunch here. The manager and my wife talked about wine throughout the meal. They gave you some little snacks that were delicious. We shared the vietnamese duck appetizer which was delicious. I enjoyed my beef randang in a rich sauce. My wife loved her lamb rogan josh. A great meal, great view, but expect to pay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central America
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I really wanted to love this place...”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I went to Indochine with high expectations. Unfortunately, my expectations did not come true. I felt the restaurant was overpriced and the food average asian food. I have had much better food at a much more reasonable price. To be fair, it is a beautiful restaurant and the service is excellent. However, the food is just ok. We had the tasting and I would not go back to this restaurant. Perhaps the other restaurant at Delaire Graff is better than Indochine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aff2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Asian food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We had lunch at Indochine while staying in the winelands. This was really really good - probably some of the best Asian food I had. Staff was very friendly and took the time to answer all our questions and recommend correspoding wine to our choices. I was very sad that I couldn't try the desserts but the starters and main course was so good and a lot so that we couldn't eat more. The food was really innovative and with very fresh ingredients. Additionally, the weather was lovely and the view was great. I would love to come back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indochine also viewed

 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Indochine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing