We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A description of my first taste of Uva Mira Sauvignon Blanc 2013”

Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards
Ranked #21 of 143 things to do in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exceptional handcrafted wines with unparalleled views. Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards, as high as 620 metres above sea level on the slopes of the Helderberg Mountain Range, nestles against the Helderberg Nature Reserve. With breathtaking views over False Bay and Table Bay, often wrapped in clouds, a cool climate, sea breezes, a granite foundation and strong minerality of the soil, enhanced by acres of fynbos... nature does her work. Uva Mira - The Wonderful Grape.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“A description of my first taste of Uva Mira Sauvignon Blanc 2013”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Last night I put a bottle of Uva Mira Sav Blanc on ice for an hour. There were three of us “a la table” and I opened the screw-cap. We then sat back to evaluate the whole experience. We love your wine labels. Sophisticated-simplistic-great brand name-unpresumptuous and somehow the label left us believing that the experience WAS going to be worthwhile. I found that in itself interesting.

I poured the wine, filling the three glasses a third full. The wine seemed to flow in a sort of rhythmic way, a bit like a very low viscosity oil. And it’s colour of light citrus honey seemed to help it flow in a sort of particularly unique, pleasing way. When wine reflects light through its colour its somehow more inviting. This Sav Blanc did that.

I do believe in ‘the nose’ but it must be a brief encounter. That quick ‘hello’ is enough to say “yes please” , or produce a few half mooned creases on each side of the mouth. Moya’s eyes sparkled. I tilted my head with a Dickens title. There were clearly great expectations in the offing.

Then Moya and I suddenly had to serve the evening meal. That to was interesting because in hind-site, and without trying to imagine it, the smell of the wine seemed to linger. 10 minutes the memory of the smell was still there to confirm that Dickenstonian sentiment. There was an infusement of oak.

I lifted my glass and the three of us offered the wine maker and owners a toast of well being.

And then we drank. All that I had hoped for, came to fruition. This is a great wine. It is balanced, wholesome and extraordinarily elegant. Full of fruit. It washes so well throughout the mouth. Bombarding the taste buds with wonderful things. An hr later one still tastes the wine and the memory. That’s a great test too.

Go well and thanks for the experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Blight2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvaMiraVineyards, Front Office Manager at Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for the time and effort that was put into this world class review! Kind regards from the Weedon Family, who greatly enjoyed reading this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    30
    6
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Probably the most spectacular wine tasting experience in the Cape. Panoramic views, GREAT wine, knowledgeable staff. Great experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johandb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvaMiraVineyards, Public Relations Manager at Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your short, sweet and very much to the point review! Hope to see you in the Uva Mira tasting room again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Scenery, Great Wine”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

What a lovely estate to go for a tasting. Spectacular view, Excellent wines and awesome platters. Friendly staff and the Chardonnay! Unbelievably good and so distinct

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alishia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvaMiraVineyards, Public Relations Manager at Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your gracious review. It is wonderful for our staff to receive this positive feedback. Please do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Winelands
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Certainly worth a visit!”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have lived in the area for two years and had never heard of this vineyard. We found it by chance as we were turned away from a nearby, better known estate and were pleasantly surprised! The place is small, but the views are remarkable! We had a bottle of their Sauvignon Blanc and a mixed meat and cheese platter. The wine was fairly ordinary, but the platter superlative! Just a pity that the waitress had no idea where any of the products originated from. Will definitely go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyW23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UvaMiraVineyards, Public Relations Manager at Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review Uva Mira Vineyards. Since your review, we have made sure that all staff are aware of our suppliers details to communicate to interested customers. We take our platters seriously and by all means we would like to recommend our suppliers.
Artisan cheeses are sourced from Dalewood and Get Stuffed. Savoury Meats are from Ollie's Sausages.
We have recently upgraded our platters further so they will be sure to impress. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breganze, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“The view is worth a visit!!!”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

First of all: the view that you can enjoy from this place is worth the trip! You're on the top of a hill, surrounded by vineyards and, not so far,...you can see the ocean! All of this can be enjoyed with a good glass of wine sitting on a balcony outside, if the weather is warm, or inside in a cosy environment in it's cold. Perfect for a Sunday trip!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Uva Mira Mountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing