We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misleading name”

Giraffe House Wildlife Awareness Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Misleading name”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My son's favourite animal is the giraffe so we thought we would visit while in Cape Town on our holiday. It really is misleading to call it the Giraffe House. There was only one giraffe, although I believe another will be introduced soon. Also, the enclosure for the giraffe really does not look suitable for her. Very little vegetation there. No guide to talk to us about Gerry, but there was a poster with some details. We enjoyed seeing the other animals and my son participated in the snake / reptile encounter. Perhaps they would be better keeping to the small animals and not have a giraffe or eland in small (for them) enclosures. Gerry's head got stuck in the fencing and my son got quite distressed. It took over a minute for the giraffe to maneouvre her head out. Also agree that there is very little shade for summer time. Would have given a higher review without the giraffe. She seemed very lonely and just paced back and forwards along the fence.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy1038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    33
    18
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bellville
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome party venue !”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My daughter was invited to one of her friends b-day party held at Giraffe House.
She had the time of her life - seeing all animals.
The best was the live animal show.
We will defnitively go back in summer time !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod_MelBellville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great park, cheap and nice staff!!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Small park but a good size for a quick trip when you are in the area and want a break from wine tasting. The staff are knowledgeable, nice and seem genuinely interested in caring for the animals.Try to go in winter, cloudy days, etc as it is a large open park that could be rather hot during peak summer months. Gerry the giraffe is AWESOME and very friendly. It's also a great value for the money!

Light snacks are available and there are a few wineries down the road if you want to stop after.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CommissionerRama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fun day out”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Took my 5year old twins out for the day, they loved feeding the animals. Hubby enjoyed the snake show as he was called up to hold a very large and heavy snake. Definitely not enough shade but saw that there were trees planted recently so in time that would be sorted. Yes there are no restaurant options and it was be wise to take some snacks along for the little ones as they tend to become thirsty especially in the hot weather. The staff were very friendly and inviting. I do hope that in the future they up grade a bit (especially at the snake exhibit) and get in more animals. I would also recommend they have a little coffee shop for the parents. enough said. My family and I had a funtastic day.

Helpful?
Thank Bettina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Family friendly attraction.”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We visited Giraffe House during the summer season on a Sunday. It was advised to take a picnic along as there is no restaurant facilities on the premises.

The bathrooms are present but were leaking with urine everywhere.

The entry fee was very reasonable and included a bucket of food for the farm animals. The lady at reception was very very friendly.

The enclosures were very basic and arid. The smell was terrible ( I am not sure if it was due to the nearby pig farm) the cows looked thin but the goats looked quite healthy. There is a bit of landscaping but huge lack of large shady trees.

There was enough animals to keep the kids entertained. The name Giraffe house is a tad bit misleading as we only saw one ( albeit very cute) giraffe. There were also a few fabulous jungle gyms for the kids.

The animal encounter show was very informative but certainly not for the faint hearted. If you are scared or weary of reptiles rather don't attend as you are called up randomly by a very pushy host and presented with a "lucky packet" with a secret animal inside. Varying from spiders,toads, dragons and snakes.

There is a little kiosk to buy some refreshments. We didn't end of having our picnic due to the revolting smell and lack of adequate shade.

A very well priced and interesting outing. Reserve the lunch at one of the nearby wine estates though.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gubby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giraffe House Wildlife Awareness Centre also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Giraffe House Wildlife Awareness Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing