We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage quality with a dash of modern chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Schoon de Companje

Schoon de Companje
Ranked #3 of 6 Nightlife in Stellenbosch
Attraction details
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vintage quality with a dash of modern chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Consistently great food and coffee, freshly baked bread, freshly squeezed juices - this has rapidly become a 'must do' brunch institution in Stellenbosch. The expanded premises mixes shanty zinc iron with recycled wood and vintage prints for an eclectic cosiness that welcomes all. Highly recommended, but avoid the queues on a weekend morning - sneak in off-peak in the week for smooth cappuccino with the charming barristas.

Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    12
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a wonderful place! love the coffee, breads, cheesecake, and service! beautiful interior! See you soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank minnie333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
Level Contributor
127 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Dutch experience in Stellenbosch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place is simply awesome, great coffee, amazing chocolate bread sticks and definitely somewhere to sit and watch life pass you by.

look forward to seeing you again to get through more of your menu, keep up the great service and awesome menu.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Too rigid”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Although we had wonderful breakfasts here in the past, I was very disappointed today when I took friends there from Limpopo and we arrived at 11:35. We got a table outside and waited 10 minutes to be served. We actually went in to ask for menus. When we wanted to order from the breakfast menu, we were informed we were too late. Even just to have the banana bread which doesn't require cooking. We tried negotiating but without success. I really think waiters/managers should not be so rigid.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
328 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent place for breakfast in the old Dutch area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had an excellent reasonably priced breakfast here. Fresh juices were fresh and excellent and the creamy scrambled egg had bacon and was a complete meal in itself. It was enjoyable sitting out on the pavement watching the world go by as we had our breakfast. The area is very pleasant with many old restored buildings. We'll be back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank OceanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schoon de Companje also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 

Been to Schoon de Companje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing