We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still very nice but.....”
Review of Schoon de Companje

Schoon de Companje
Ranked #3 of 6 Nightlife in Stellenbosch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still very nice but.....”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I love this place but the service needs attention. I want to firstly say that no one was rude but the friendly efficient service that we got the first two times was missing this visit.
Still recommend this eatery but hope that management can sort out front of house.

Helpful?
Thank Cagrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We aim to ensure our service is efficient and always given with a smile so we apologise for your recent experience. Your review has been noted and followed up on internally. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    6
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rustic and authentic excellence”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

*One of the best Cappuccino's I've ever had in Stellenbosch.
*Village market/Colonial feeling inside
*Food is great, authentic and fresh.
*You can see the bakers and butchers working with your food behind the counter.
*Drinks are creative and tasty, stick with cappuccino's and basic espresso's as the hot chocolate has the texture of nutella mousse so keep in mind things can be very sweet.
*A hamburger is R100 so it is a bit pricey if you're on a budget.
*Did I say great Cappucino's!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Biscuit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you so much for your support and review. I'm sure we'll see you again soon for a cappuccino and, keep in mind, if you come after 3pm we serve pizzas at R55-00.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very bad experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Service was very slow, granted it was busy, but drinks dont arrive 5 minutes after food and the drink order was wrong. My real hot chocolaye was cold and the chocolate was regulat cooking chocolate.

Food was nice. But bread and a few pastes and oil is a bit pricey. We weren't the only ones having a bad experience as I noticed the table next to us complaining about their service.

I might come again. If there is no other tables as the service gets a 0.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DBZietsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De_Companje, Public Relations Manager at Schoon de Companje, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
We are sorry the hear about your recent experience here at Schoon De Companje. Your feedback has been noted and will be followed up on internally. We are an incredibly busy establishment and, having been open for less than a year, we still experience the odd hiccup. We strive for excellence and will hopefully get to prove that to you upon your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Vintage quality with a dash of modern chic”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Consistently great food and coffee, freshly baked bread, freshly squeezed juices - this has rapidly become a 'must do' brunch institution in Stellenbosch. The expanded premises mixes shanty zinc iron with recycled wood and vintage prints for an eclectic cosiness that welcomes all. Highly recommended, but avoid the queues on a weekend morning - sneak in off-peak in the week for smooth cappuccino with the charming barristas.

Helpful?
Thank christine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paarl, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a wonderful place! love the coffee, breads, cheesecake, and service! beautiful interior! See you soon!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank minnie333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schoon de Companje also viewed

Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
 
Stellenbosch, Western Cape
Koelenhof, Stellenbosch
 

Been to Schoon de Companje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing