We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wineland Visit”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2012

As a part of a recent visit to Capetown we stayed for 2 nights at the Spier Hotel for a winelands visit. This hotel was added by Travelbag who arranged the visit for us. We were not sure what to expect, and were very pleasantly surprised by this 4 Star rated hotel. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, but ate at the hotel for lunch and dinner on the first day and dinner on the second day.
The standard of the rooms was very good, Te bedroom was clean and well presented with a large bathromm having both a roll top bath and separate walk in shower. The rooms are set in blocks around the main building and each block includes a grassed terrace with a small pool. There is also a larger pool outside the main building. The views were stunning looking out over the terraced vineyards. The meals in the main hotel were of a very high quality and not too expensive. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. A unique experience was transfer frlom the reception to our room on arrival in a golf buggy.
Over all a very pleasant stay but the hotel is a little remote and I think 2 days was sufficient to see the wine production and sample some wines.
I would recommend it as a quiet retreat in excellent surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,063)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 2,063 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have just returned from a 2week holiday in South Africa and stayed at the Spier for our winelands experience.The service from start to finish was amazing..nothing was too much trouble.Its situated right on the wine route with plenty of vineyards nearby.Rooms were huge with gorgeous bathroom..really light and airy and best of all the drinks from the bar were incredibly cheap!Wine tasting excellent too.Would definitely recommend a stay here..wish we'd been able to stay for longer!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah_oley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the review, it is wonderful to hear that you had such a great experience. We like to think of our wine pricing as “Affordable”, the reason for this is that wine is sold at cellar door prices across the entire farm no matter if you are in the wine tasting or in the hotel restaurant.

I have also passed your positive comments on to the service teams.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Impressive.
This is a wine estate with a few extras.
Rooms were extremely comfortable, clean and spacious and of a high standard. The hotel restaurant served delicious food in a bright and spacious dining area. Not to be confused with the on site Mayo Restaurant which was disappointing by comparison. Wine tasting was available and certainly worth doing.
Also on site is the Eagle encounters which has a large range of birds to view together with flying exhibitions that you can take part in. Informative and fun to do. There are some lovely walks also bikes you can hire if you want to work off that lunch. We were disturbed by the early morning trains that run close by and it would be worth asking for a room that is closer to the river. Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: early morning trains run close by and it would be worth asking for a room that is close to the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabletopmountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed here in a suite which was incredible. The day bed on the terrace was a lovely touch, and the furniture is beautiful. Very spacious with a beautiful bathroom and living areas. One of the best place I have ever had the pleasure of staying. We stayed after our engagement on table Mopuntain and were delighted to find a gorgeous bottle of red waiting for us in our suite when we arrived :) The pool is beautiful and the whole place is just so peaceful. The winery is fantastic, delicious wine and lots of great details like a shop to buy a picnic and a lake to sit next to. All in all just perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaCHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Room delightful. Stunning gardens. We stayed on a B & B basis, and breakfast was fine. Too cold for the 'tree house' dining, but on- site restaurant was fun. Also, cafe / deli served really good snacks and 'goodies'. Really friendly staff. When we booked, we thought the cheetah sanctuary was there, but its now about a 20 minute drive away. Best of all - the original artwork adorning all the main buildings.

Room Tip: Ensure a room with outside space or balcony if you're a smoker!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

A mere 20 minute drive from Cape Town Airport puts you in this beautiful wine estate and hotel. We were travelling with our 2 young daughters but love wine so found this to be a great place to stay. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite over looking the river and found the staff very helpful indeed. A swimming pool, a bird experience, protea garden and swing kept us all entertained. A must however if you are staying here is to go to MOYO for lunch or dinner in a tree house. We loved it all. Thank you.

Room Tip: On booking we were given an opportunity to upgrade on arrival if there was availability at a discoun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I chose Spier as it's on the Fair-trade Africa website and I think they do a good job of employing lots of local people. Everyone seems happy with their jobs anyway.
There's lots to do at Spier with wine tasting, segway tour (although this wasn't ideal as I fell off mine) and a fantastic bird of prey sanctuary. This was the highlight, we caught the display at 2pm and learned loads, great for families too everyone got to stroke owls and kestrels.
The food at Spier is fine - we went to both restaurants, but not amazing, however the wine is so good, it makes up for all that.
We had an enormous room with a huge fire and massive bed, so were very comfortable here and impressed with their sustainability. The grounds are nice for a walk round and we saw a few species of birds that we hadn't encountered yet so very pleased.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clfm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear Guest

Spier was one of the first hotels in South Africa to become Fair Trade accredited. As you have found yourself we do not only talk the talk. Employment from local communities is just one of our many sustainable business practices. Spier has been a pioneer for many years in South Africa in both the hospitality and wine industries.

Hope you enjoyed your trip to our magnificent country.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
950 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
946 reviews
6.6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
417 reviews
5.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £89 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing