We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Beautiful location - in heart of winelands. 10 minute drive from Stellenbosch and about 35-40 from Franshoek.

High quality accommodation. Huge room and bathroom. There are about 6 or seven plunge pools scattered around the little 'village' of accommodation and a main pool a short distance from the accommodation.

A real sense of peace and tranquility. Great deli to go and buy a picnic and then eat by the lake or somewhere in the grounds.

Good wine tasting. Friendly staff.

Super hotel restaurant. We ate there on our first night and were expecting average hotel food but we thought it was superior.

Cheetah sanctuary to go and visit if you wish.

All in all, excellent and I would definitely recommend this place to stay. It is a large hotel, in large grounds and yet it has a very relaxed and intimate feel about it, without making you feel like you're in a hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AgeEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2008

Stayed in Stellenbosch for a week on business, specifically at Spiers since our whole conference was setup to be there (working sessions plus stay). The first impression was a little disapointing since I got there at 9 am after a long haul from Chile and my room wasn't even close to being ready (our arrivals had been communicated well in advance) and it wasn't ready until past noon. Thank God my colleagues gently offered their lodgings for a quick shower and getting a fresh set of clothes form the suitcase. That was the only low point of the whole stay.
Spiers set us up at the "Manor house" for our work week and really pampered us, we had everything we required at our disposal...WiFi, snacks, water, lots of tea, coffee (superb), luncheons, etc.
The restaurants on the premises were more than fine, the Bar and Terrace had great burgers and beer (I really miss Hansa and Castle beers), Jonkershuis (do try Bunny chow with a Castle!!!) and of course the Moyo experience, that included face paint and wine tasting (I got acquainted with Kanonkop...a vice until today).
There's lot of space to walk and relax, a fine pool, a cheetah outreach (shelter/petting zoo), eagles, golf, the wine estate, etc..
The rooms were ample, great lighting and ventilation, excellent bathroom, in-room coffee machine and mini-fridge.
Service was very good, and helpful (especially when trying to go through a really local menu...)
Go there and enjoy!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ingeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

We returned to Spier this trip as we had loved it so much in 2004, we took our youngest daughter along too this time. We were a little disappointed this time as we were not given a ground floor suite, so had no outside space ( apart from a small balcony area but it had no table or chairs). As we had an 8 year old we would have really used this space, to sit out after she had gone to bed and enjoy the evening. Also this time we had no complimentary half bottle of Spier's own wine or fruit bowl. However we did get a dinner and wine voucher, but that was because we booked through a travel agent apparently. The suite was nice although the kitchen area had hardly anything in it, not even a bottle opener which is a bit bonkers on a wine estate!! It has to be said the pool area looked a little tired, the water was green and cloudy and freezing, and the sun loungers were stained and in need of replacing. On the plus side, the interior of the hotel looked fab, very newly refurbished and stylish. The riding was excellent thanks to Lucas, who let us ride at our own pace so lots of cantering around the vineyards which our daughter enjoyed, even if dad was not so convinced!! The birds of prey, cheetahs and other activities were all good, although not included and need to be paid for. Lovely gardens and extensive areas to picnic, great restaurants, still love Moyo!! Used the spa and had 2 very nice treatments, also purchased some Thalgo product at about half what it costs in the UK. The staff were all great as is usual in South Africa, especially compared to the standards we are used to in the UK !!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We spent 3 days at the Spier Hotel and found it to be a lovely, peaceful haven. The bar/lounge area is beautiful in quite a modern style. We ate at the restaurant which was OK, but preferred our meal at the MOYO restaurant in the Spier grounds (face painting, African music etc). Our room was in a small block which was built around its own pool and we assumed that all the rooms in the "village" were like that. There is a larger pool which is open to all guests. I didn't actually swim in the pool (it looked a little murky) as I didn't get the chance, but dipped my feet in! Some staff were very friendly, others were more reserved, but I guess you get that anywhere in a large hotel. We found the grounds lovely to walk around and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We did enquire about a wine tasting trip, but found the trip that the hotel offered to be very expensive. We had our own car, so decided to visit a few wineries by ourselves and this was a MUCH cheaper option.

All in all a lovely stay - we wished we had spent more time in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemontaigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Agree the hotel is rather impersonal compared to the others we'd stayed in and on the first night had a problem sleeping as we had an upstairs room and the wooden shutters banged in the wind all night. Still they sorted that out the next day so the second night we slept soundly, was a bit jealous of the garden rooms which backed right out onto the pool as we had to go down the outside stairs and down a little alleyway but still it was fine.

Load to do at Spier, picnics by the lake, wine tasting, horseriding up in the vineyards (really recommended), visiting the cheetah sancturary adn more. We didnt' go to Moyo and ate in the hotel restaurant which was good and we got to watch the Liverpool match in the bar afterwards (for some reason most SAs are mad about UK football!)

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Black-eyePurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Overall the hotel is set in beautiful surroundings. Check-in was a little impersonal and generally the service was functional - no one was overly friendly or helpful.

The rooms were large, airy, comfortable and well maintained (except the front door which urgently needed a coat of paint).

Business facilities were limited - there was only wi-fi in the main reception area - however this cost R350 for 24 hours which seemed rather excessive.

The pool looked very green and I didn't see anyone brave enough to try it.

There's a pleasant, large bar area, but the staff kepting mentioning 'I've not added the 10% service charge' which seemed inappropriate when it should be up to the guest if they wish to tip.

Overall a good hotel, but read all the comments to be sure it's right for you.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2008

Really really enjoyed my stay at the Spier Hote. It is set on a wine estate, with lovely gardens and pool areas, several resturants and a generally very relaxing atmoshpere. While I agree with the view that it is slightly impersonal (compared to more boutique-type hotels), the rooms are big and stylish, the service is superb and the setting really makes your stay worthwhile!

And don't miss moyo! While it might seem a bit naff, it is really good fun and the food, setting and entertainment is great!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Apple75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
423 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £82 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing