We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real Honeymoon Experience”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Real Honeymoon Experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on our Honeymoon trip.
We found it hard to locate though, it doesn't appear on google maps for some odd reason!

We arrived and checked in, our room wasn't ready yet, as it was before 2pm so we didn't mind sitting in the fantastic bar, sipping the lovely wine.

We where then brought by Golf Buggy to our room, room was lovely, like a little house, the Bed had rose pettles layed out spelling out honeymoon and the bath also had rose pettles, was such a nice romantic touch.
Later someone arrived with a complimentary bottle of wine for us which again we thought was very sweet.

We then did the wine tasting and had great fun.And loved the local Spier Wine, just wish now i had of got some shipped home as cant find it here. Grounds are amazing and so well looked after, there is a real romantic magical feel to it.

We had dinner that night in the restaurant and afraid to say we were a little dissapointed, we where 1 of 3 couples dining there with loads of staff yet we were kept waiting constantly and having to call a staff member, to clear the plates, order our next course etc, as it was so quiet you would expect the service to be top notch! but was very bad, staff where just standing around chatting rather than looking after us. Food wasn't fantastic but was nice enough.
Service was that bad that we didn't even tip - which we would always do, but just felt they didnt deserve a tip as they didnt really do anything.
That is our only complaint the lounge area outside the restaurant is so nice and relaxing.

Would certainly come back again - would not let poor service from some lazy staff deter us away from this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toolerbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear toolerbun

Thank you for the review, we are thrilled and honoured to be part of your honeymoon memories. Guest service and satisfaction is at the heart of everything we do, so I and saddened to read that we were not able to deliver in the restaurant. I have passed your comments on to the restaurant team for remedial action.

Wishing you all the very best for your future together.

Warm regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    974
    579
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
435
786
23
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Good choice for hotel, location is good, if you have a car (necessary to enjoy the winelands)
A quick and easy journey from the Airport.
Rooms were good, but the lighting was a little dark, the room instelf in the day however was cool, light and airy,
Fireplace was most welcome at night!
Food was delicious, staff excellent.
Would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessep666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Jessep666

Thank you for the recommendation, it is most appreciated from such a seasoned traveller and contributor on Trip Advisor.

Spier is ideally located as a spring board into both the wine lands and Cape Town and makes for a superb base. As mentioned you will always need a car if you wish to explore South Africa on your own as the public transport system is not extensive enough to take you to the interesting tucked away gems.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Spier. The rooms were clean and the inter leading room for our kids was great. The only room complaint was that the lighting was not great.

There seems to be a slight lack of attention to detail, restaurant bookings weren't made, our laundry arrived back at 10pm (they didn't charge for this) and a few other small issues but the staff were friendly and helpful.

A lot of the facilities weren't available as it was off season, this could perhaps be advertised better on the website or when booking.

Overall, we enjoyed the restaurant, the picnic, the wine tasting, grape juice tasting for the kids and the eagle encounters experience.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear WendyT67

Thank you for the review and the constructive criticism. You have raised some valuable points that I have discussed with my team and we will be implementing some change to ensure that we don’t have a repeat in the future.

I am however happy to have read that you still had an enjoyable time on the farm.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secunda, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We just can't stay away from Spier. I have no idea how many times we have stayed here, but it is just always great. This trip we opted for 4 nights in a Suite, as we wanted the seperate lounge to use after my daughter went to sleep at night. Also, the microwave in the suite comes in very handy when you have kids.
We had a lot of rain and bad weather, but still loved they stay. Our previous stay was December 2012, and I must say, there is a very obvious improvement in the training of staff and the efficiency at the hotel. My daughter loves the gardens and the safe paths to run along. Breakfast was, as always, a very wide variety to choose from. Hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have patios and overlook either gardens, the river or courtyards. Most upstairs r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koala1629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Koala1629

Thank you for such a wonderful testimonial, we are thrilled that you have seen the positive changes. We are thankful for the feedback from a regular guest and hope to see you back in the near future as we have just finished the upgrade in the suites.

Kind regards
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

What an incredible improvement! Went for lunch at the Spier Hotel recently after a long time and what an improvement! The food and service were outstanding and I will most certainly be back and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Johanita H

Thank you for the recommendation, my Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager have been working hard over the past months to elevate the standards of food and service. Judging by your comments I can see that their hard work is paying off.

Yours in hospitality
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My first trip to Spier as a facilitator for a 5-6 day course for Engen Oil. It was a wonderful 5 days with the greenery and fresh air around. Pity could not explore more of Spier since our course took us from morning 8 to 8 at night. The accommodation was good - nice to have a warm fire in the room on a cold night. Enjoyed the walks from the room to the diner and also to the conference rooms for the training.
I would love to come back for a holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gopi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Gopi P

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed you five days at Spier. You will have to come back in summer to take advantage of our beautiful gardens and walks on the farm. We have a number of different walks that take advantage of our heritage and our gardens.

From your profile picture it looks like you enjoy cycling, Stellenbosch is the mecca of cycling in South Africa and offers some of the best riding on and off road, so I would encourage you to bring your bike with you on your next visit.

Yours in hospitality
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

What a fantastic stay over. The room was amazing and well appointed, opening up onto the pool area. From check in to departure, the staff were very pleasant, helpful and professional.
We enjoyed dinner in the manor house and the food and wine was outstanding. A buffet breakfast was enjoyed the following morning.

Spier comes highly recommended.

Gary and Janet Kinsman

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lomokino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Dear Gary

Thank you for taking the time to review Spier on Tripadvisor and for the recommendation. My team and I were pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Yours in hospitality
Wayne Siepman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing