We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Winelands”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location in the Winelands”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights as part of a large group function and the Spier did a good job meeting the expectations of everyone be it singles, couples or the families. Our room was spacious and clean, the bed was comfy and we found it to be very quiet. My only complaint would be that the free WiFI is limited to 100MB per day and you have to ask at the front desk every morning for a new code. (That allowed one picture to be added to Facebook and then we were booted off).
The grounds of the Spier are beautiful and lovingly maintained. I loved the walk across the river and the picnic grounds around the Moyo restaurant. Wine tasting is available but the fee is a bit high. We had a rental car and were within minutes of dozens of wineries that offered tasting too, although not quite as spendy. We enjoyed glasses of wine at the Spier bar that were large pours and ranged in price. The Spier wine is good so don't hesitate to have some with dinner or at the bar.

Room Tip: We were in the 400-row. It seemed to be very quiet on the walkway side and was very peaceful on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,000
    580
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
439
794
24
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Overall a good experience. Clean, professional, comfortable. Rooms are a really nice size and the beds comfortable. Only a few little issues, but they may as well be mentioned:

1. Nespresso Machine in the room but 'homemade' or 3rd party pods. Coffee tasted awful.
2. No mention of free WiFi until I asked on the 2nd day. Limited to 100Mb per day.

3. Breakfast is chaotic with your surname being marked off a long list (many pages) before you can go in. If everyone gets breakfast covered, why bother? Or, use a room list.

4. Many dirty tables (empty) at breakfast, even though staff are available.

5. Bathroom light was faulty; clearly maintenance had been there as they'd left their walkie-talkie behind. Took 2 calls to get it fixed.

6. Dinner in the main restaurant Mondays is a braai, and al a carte was not recommended due to time delays-which is crazy, when the on-site themed restaurant, Moyo, specializes in braais and African culture foods every night.

7. A 4-star hotel / estate in the winelands and no gym? Seriously?

Room Tip: Stay away from the road rooms. Choose rooms in the 600 range - these are river facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyesOpenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Mrs and I stayed for the night.We stayed before for our honeymoon night in 2004. Even though this time it was July it was still a great. The check in went smooth thanks to Shaun. I would say 8 minutes maximum and we were done. We were then directed to the porter who's name I forget. However he did a great job by driving us to the room and once there explained how everything worked. The room had a new modern feel & come with its own espresso machine. We also received a bottle of the wine in the room.

We then went for lunch in the bar and I must say the presentation of the lamb burger was just awesome. After lunch we took a walk around the farm. It did however start to rain.

I will most definitely stay again, however next time it will have to be summer.

Thank you

H & B Abrahams

Room Tip: High Floor/Corner room or Corner room with access to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HABRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirksworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent the last two nights of our South African adventure here and were not disappointed. Rooms are huge and very comfortable with access to a lovely courtyard garden with pool. On arrival we were checked in quickly and efficiently and swiftly taken by buggy to our room. the bath taps didn't work but a member of staff arrived within five minutes of our reporting the problem. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast. The hotel was spotless and the staff in all areas were friendly and helpful. Although quite a big place the layout gives it a more intimate feel. overall a lovely, relaxing place to stay - and great art!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlandiafaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We decided to splurge and stayed a winery for one night during our time in Stellenbosch. The porters and reception staff were extremely accommodating and excellent, a very nice introduction to what (a little unfortunately) immediately looks like a very commercialized winery.

Even though our room was very nice, huge bed, beautiful big bath, and large tall ceilings... Our first disappointment was that the room also smelled of smoke even though there are non-smoking signs everywhere.

My second disappointment was my dinner at the Hotel restaurant, which although the mussels starter was amazing (very creamy and rich but started off on a delicious high note and totally recommend) my chicken roulade itself was almost tasteless and had been overcooked (dry). My husband had the lamb and enjoyed it so it could have been just my dish.

Our final disappointment was that the hotel cleaning staff and mini-bar staff seemed to arrive quite early to clean our room (about 8:00 - 8:15) from what we'd usually expect which left us with a feeling of having to rush out of bed.

The best was the breakfast, which was included in our stay, and was extensive and delicious.

To sum up: Nice staff but I think we were hoping for something not quite so big and commercial, so if you like that style this might be more your thing. However, we'll try to find something a bit more homey next time.

ps: Even if you don't stay, definitely check out the Eagle Encounters at Spier, totally worth the visit. We learned so much and was an amazing opportunity to see these beautiful creatures close up.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Had 4 nights at Spier with friends and family from Australia and South Africa. We were all there for my daughter's wedding at Hidden Valley on the Saturday night.
Spier was perfect. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us in every way. It is graet value. The accommodation was excellent. Breakfasts superb. The grounds are amazing with wonderful oak trees scattered throughout the grounds. We had a sensational wine tasting. We didn't have time to experience all that Spier had to offer.
I'll be very happy to go back. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie0901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have stayed at many hotels in the region, but Spier was not a good experience at all.

We arrived and after some confusion with the porter, we got shown to our room. The room was large and clean but there was a lot of traffic noice from the road (room 120) so would not recommend this room for a relaxing get-away.

We were relaxing in the room when suddenly housekeeping entered without knocking or anything. They thought the room was unoccupied and apparently they were not done prepping the room. I wanted to iron my dress for a wedding we were attending the same night but was told that I could not borrow an iron but housekeeping could iron the dress for me. I sent the dress to ironing and when it came back there was a big stain on it (10 minutes before we had to leave for the weedding). Spier made sure to get it dry-cleaning so that service was good but still this should not happen at a place like Spier.

When we were about the leave the room, a handy man was walking up the stairs because he had been told that the needed to fix a lamp in our room but we had not been notified or requested this and could not see any lamps that needed urgent fixing. It seemed very unorganized to have maintanance done on the rooms while there are guests in them.

The next morning (Sunday) housekeepeking called to give an update on the drycleaning on the dress. This was fine, but they called at 7.30am on a Sunday morning!

Breakfast and cleanness of the room was fine, but the overall experience was very poor especially taking into consideration that it is a large venue that should be well-organized.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 120. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofialie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
863 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
379 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
581 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing