We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South African Wine Country experience at Spier” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“South African Wine Country experience at Spier”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Spier is a fantastic experience from the 4 star hotel in a relaxed wine country setting, to wine tasting of Spier's excellent wines, restaurants offering organic and biodynamic foods grown on Spier's own farm, to off-road Segway organic vineyard tours not to mention the amazing art collection on this historic wine farm from 1692 with 21 preserved gables. My daughter (14 yrs of age) and I had an amazing time! I particularly love to know that Spier is committed to sustainability, recycling both of water and waste, social-good tie-ins to the business from micro-loan laundry business, Bernie's, to Wellness Clinic, Treepreneurs etc. A top notch relaxing wine-country experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandieAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words, we are really proud to hear that you have thoroughly appreciated Spier.

Indeed Spier and its people have a very strong commitment to sustainability and its very comforting to know that you have experienced our efforts.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy our planned future enhancements to Spier.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    552
    143
    49
    15
See reviews for
399
737
23
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a lovely stay. The hotel is really lovely and the breakfast very very good. We did the wine tasting which was lovely. The sedgeway tour was definately our highlight its a must. Also went to the eagle encounter which was also so memorable and different. All in all had the most amazing romantic wkend. Their picnic area is fantastic and would also be great to visit as a group of friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca_1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Francesca,

Reading your review is a pleasure, we are very proud to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of Spier.

It is clear from your feedback that our efforts are on the right track to amaze and delight with different experiences all on one farm.

Please do let us know when you will return so we may assist with your future booking.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Spier was very good. The rooms are large, well equipped and some have stunning views over the river. The staff were courteous throughout our stay and the Spier Restaurant was EXCELLENT! On day 4 of our stay, the municipal water line blew and the whole Spier estate had no water. This was a major inconvenience for the guests but the staff remained cheerful despite all the complaints. When the water was turned back on 24hrs later there were MANY rooms (including ours) that were flooded due to taps being left on while the water was off. Yet again the staff were extremely helpful and always smiling despite what must have been very frustrating circumstances for them as well as the affected guests. We were quickly moved into a new room and the whole situation was handled well.

Special mention must be made of Nikki our excellent dinner waitress at the Spier Restaurant.


All in all a great stay despite a few hiccups.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PeanutJHB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on your stay with us, We are very pleased to know that despite the inconvenience caused you rate your stay so highly. Nikki is very proud to know that you have really appreciated her personal service.

Indeed the hotel experienced a major calamity over the time frame of your stay here at the hotel, this was a totally unexpected breakdown of our main municipality water supply that affected the entire property. The team did their utmost remedying the situation as best they possibly could, in light of the gravity of the situation. Priority was given to ensure that our guests had access to fresh water by the handing out of bottled water in the rooms as well as at strategic points in the hotel. An abundance of fresh water was also used in the back of house areas to ensure hygiene standards were adhered to.

Naturally the situation did prevent us from delivering on our guest’s expectations, a fact that we regret immensely, and the team have tried to manage the expectations as well as one could possibly do under the circumstances.

We do hope that we can welcome you back at Spier soon so that we have an opportunity to restore your faith in our ability to deliver the Spier experience.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Spier for our anniversary and had dinner there in November. We had a lovely waiter and the food was great! The mussel starter was by the far the best dish of the night!

The hotel was lovely - good service and a beautiful fireplace in our room which was easy to start. The bed was comfortable and the room clean. Loved it!!!

Also went to the Spa it was ok - it felt a bit rushed and you would have expected a bit of a bigger premises.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJW79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have to admit I wasnt overly excited at the prospect of staying at Spier Hotel as I have never enjoyed the wine tasting experience there (too commercial and too many people), but was so overwhelmed at the service, food, acomodation standard and would happily return (and highly reccomend!). Service received at recpetion by Tashwin & Olga, paved the way for an incredible stay. Well done and thank you !!
Only thing I have to fault is the cleaners making an enormous racket outside rooms around 08 am - shouting. Most unpleasant

Room Tip: Away from the main road (as close to the river as possible)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Overall, a great place to spend a weekend, but slightly spoiled by a couple of issues. We stayed for the weekend in October, but booked ( and paid for the trip in February ) asking for two downstairs adjoining rooms. On arrival, we were given one downstairs room, upgraded to a river view, whilst the other room was on the first floor. Both rooms were fantastic, but travelling with friends, we had wanted to be next to each other on the ground floor. Reception could not help us and we had to grin and bear it. may be worthwhile phoning ahead to confirm neared the time of the visit.
Very impressed with the bar area, and the quality ( and price ) of the wine.
We tried to book the Spier restuarant for 7.30pm, but were told it was full for the night. By chance we got chatting to an American couple who explained that there were ususally several sittings and after chatting to the manager, we were given an 8.30pm slot, as well as a free bottle of wine as recompense. Food was great, but very noisy due to a large party celebrating next to us.
We tried again the next night, and after having booked for 8.30pm, were told on arrival that we would not be seated until gone 9.00 because the chef was sorting out starters for a large party who were there for the day! We were unhappy about this, but, what can you do. Eventually managed to get seen about 20 minutes later, and food was delivered soon after.
It's a real shame, as this sort of thing can really take the edge off a great weekend.

Room Tip: River view is the one to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

This hotel was extremely beautiful, and scenic. Golf cart pick up and drop off. I stayed for 7 nights. The Spier Staff were professional, knowledgeable, and gave 200% PLUS to make my stay as comfortable as possible. I met Frank who drove us around, answering an abundance of questions from myself and 2 other ladies I traveled with. We booked a safari tour with the hotel. The hotel has a program where they donate supplies to local elementary schools. Check out their website. Bicycles are available to rent to tour the hotel grounds. The rooms, facilities, and food were wonderful! There is an african restaurant with tree top dining, steps leading you to the top. Very serene. The worst part of my trip was leaving this wonderful property and staff, which I will think of as a friend. I could not thank you enough for this wonderful and unforgettable experience. Special thanks to Frank for your professionalism, education of the area, and patience with the abundance of questions. If I could, I would move to the hotel!

Room Tip: My room was on the first floor with a patio. Very beautiful and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.6 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.2 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
5.1 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing