We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, rotten wifi”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

It is perhaps being too picky to point out that the wifi is poor at this little bit of Eden. The food is great, the art is wonderful, the vibe is very relaxed and the grounds are beautiful. I was there, however for a meeting. While enjoying all the beauty and ambiance of the place, I also needed to get some things done. The system of voucher cards and the need to log in every time your computer or pad timed out was a fly in the ointment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier2011, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your posted review above, we appreciate your comments as we can use them to improve our offering.

We are so pleased to hear that overall you have appreciated your stay at our property.

With regards to your comment about the Wi-Fi, I am pleased to say that an upgrade to the Internet offering is imminent. As one of the first properties in the area, we will be changing over to an Optic-fiber solution offering our guests reliable and unlimited Internet at benchmark setting speed.

We have realized the importance of Internet accessibility for our guests and our IT team has worked hard to be at the forefront of what hotels can offer.

The mentioned upgrade is scheduled to take place this week, and a further solution to simplify the login process is planned for installation in the next few weeks.

I would welcome your feedback on the improved speed and process on your next visit.

Please do contact me directly if there is anything further I can do for you.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof
General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,501 - 1,507 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, but enjoyed a leisurely glass or two of wine at the main bar. Loved the ambiance and, above all, the contemporary artwork and furniture, which blended beautifully with the traditional whitewashed walls, thick wooden doors and tile floors. It was classy and unique!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Karen,

Thank you very much for your feedback and kind words on your experience here at Spier Hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you appreciated the artwork and the design.

We do hope you will re-visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel several times. It is still a great facility, altough the standard this time was not as good as usual. Porters were hard to find, no directory in the room, wifi not offered at check in etc. despite these minor problems it was still good. Staff are very friendly, rooms big and a very good breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank PierreZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Pierre,

First of all thank you for your feedback, it is really meaningful for us to receive your comments so we can use them to improve your experience at Spier.

We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff in general, the large rooms and the breakfast offering from our Chef's team.

I have noted your comments on the availability of the porters and have addressed this with the team, we will have more coverage at the entrance during peak periods.

As to your comment on the WiFi, we realise that this is a highly rated need for you and our other guests and are therefore changing over to a Optic Fibre solution, which will be offered on check in to our guests.

I look forward to welcoming you back here at Spier and show you the improvements we have made based on your feedback.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We spent 6 nights here to finish off our 3 week tour of SA, all the rooms were very spacious, we found the staff to be just great especially Zuki. Michelle & Joyce 3 lovely ladies, we found the food to be excellent but when your staying 6 nights we asked the Chef if he could give us some different choices which was not a problem, If you eat MOYO i would suggest you eat early rather than late as some of the food on offer had dried out ( not later than 7 ).
There are also some very nice walks in the grounds and just a short dive to Stellenbosch, you also must visit Paarl & Franshhoek which are only a 30 minute drive away

Room Tip: Choose a room that a room number that starts in the 200s anything is in the first row near the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Barry,

We really appreciate your kind words and feedback on your stay at Spier, it is so good to hear that you have had a memorable experience.

Zuki, Michelle, Joyce and the Chef are proud to know that you have appreciated their personal service!

With regards to your comments on your Moyo experience we have forwarded these on to the management team and will be sure to check on this regularly to ensure your and other guest's expectations are met and exceeded.

Please do let me know if I can be of assistance with making your booking for your return stay at Spier.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

When you need to get anywhere a golf buggy come to collect and take you!.

Rooms are large and very spacious, we had a river view with large lawn from veranda to the river.

Make sure you visit MOYO restaurant. Its an experience.

Breakfast was also very good with large selection of hot and cold buffet.

The raptor park is also great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hongkongandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Andy,

Reading your review was a pleasure, thank you for being so complimentary about Spier.

We are very grateful to have had you here as our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Spier is a fantastic experience from the 4 star hotel in a relaxed wine country setting, to wine tasting of Spier's excellent wines, restaurants offering organic and biodynamic foods grown on Spier's own farm, to off-road Segway organic vineyard tours not to mention the amazing art collection on this historic wine farm from 1692 with 21 preserved gables. My daughter (14 yrs of age) and I had an amazing time! I particularly love to know that Spier is committed to sustainability, recycling both of water and waste, social-good tie-ins to the business from micro-loan laundry business, Bernie's, to Wellness Clinic, Treepreneurs etc. A top notch relaxing wine-country experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandieAmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are really proud to hear that you have thoroughly appreciated Spier.

Indeed Spier and its people have a very strong commitment to sustainability and its very comforting to know that you have experienced our efforts.

We do hope we can welcome you back soon to enjoy our planned future enhancements to Spier.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

What a lovely stay. The hotel is really lovely and the breakfast very very good. We did the wine tasting which was lovely. The sedgeway tour was definately our highlight its a must. Also went to the eagle encounter which was also so memorable and different. All in all had the most amazing romantic wkend. Their picnic area is fantastic and would also be great to visit as a group of friends.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesca_1982_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Dear Francesca,

Reading your review is a pleasure, we are very proud to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of Spier.

It is clear from your feedback that our efforts are on the right track to amaze and delight with different experiences all on one farm.

Please do let us know when you will return so we may assist with your future booking.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
954 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
948 reviews
6.6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
419 reviews
5.3 mi away
Batavia Boutique Hotel
Batavia Boutique Hotel
#2 of 17 in Stellenbosch
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £90 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing