We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I attended a conference at Spier. The food is excellent, the accommodation comfortable and the conferencing facilities great. The rooms, hotel reception, bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated and the artwork is gorgeous. Highly recommended. It goes without saying that the wine was excellent as well

Room Tip: try to book away from the road passing the estate as there are road works which can be noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your most positive feedback on your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,985)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We are from Germany but since two years in South Africa
We are the 4th time in hotel Spier and every time it was wonderful
Many thanks to the Management and Service personal
We cannot say to everybody thank you but representative for the management Gallo and for the service Lebo
We are coming back soon
Juergen and Bettina

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your continued support and kind words in your feedback to us.

It is very comforting for the team, and especially Lebo and Gallo, to know that you have appreciated their efforts.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Spier is not only a hotel but a total experience. This 4 star hotel is absolutely gorgeous & from my experience should be a 5 star! What I loved about this hotel is that it didn't feel like your normal stuffy hotel room. When walking around you feel so close to nature, so many trees, a river runs through the grounds & dams (which you can sit around & enjoy the views).

Situated in the wine lands (just outside Stellenbosch) it has so much to offer for every one. Top of my list to do will be, Wine Tasting (ask for Kyle to do your tasting for you, he was incredibly knowledgeable), Picnics (The Farm Deli you can buy various of delicious goodies & pack it into the basket provided & then find a stunning spot in the sun or shade & enjoy your picnic), Camelot Spa, Bird Sanctuary... to be honest there are a few other things to do if you have the time. If non of this interests you, Spier does have a desk where they can assist with arranging any kind of touristy trips & transfers.
Rooms are beautiful & so spacious, we had the river facing view. Staff (namely Charlotte & Nikki) were professional & so friendly & went out of their way to make us feel welcome & at home. After chatting to the staff it was wonderful to see that Spier not only looks after their staff but also takes a great deal of pride in helping the local community.
Well done Spier, Ill be spreading the word on how fabulous my visit was.

Room Tip: select a river view rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

What a pleasure to read your positive feedback on our establishment and people.

We are very fortunate to have so much wonderful space around our property as you have enjoyed it.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights in April 2014 at the Spier Estate with our 2 Children, Ages 2 1/2 and 4. For Families like ours the best place to be in Stellenbosch and suroundings. Loads of fun things to do for the Little ones, which gave Mum and Dad some time "to breath" during the Holiday: Kids Club with full care arranged, making Pizza, baking cakes, Painting singing etc. (convineint when you want to enjoy a massage at the spa for a few hours); Bird sanctury; wine and Grape Juice tasting and lots more. Breakfast was good, but dinner could have been a lot better, hence no full points. Lovely rooms to accommodate a Family with easy Access to a lovely garden. Definately an exception amoung the other places, who were not so children friendly. Relatively central / quick access by car to other surrounding estates in Franhoek. So, if on the garden route with family with younger Kids, this is the place to have your base. Enjoyed and will be back soon.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

It was great to read your positive and comprehensive feedback on your family's stay with us, we do like to look after our little visitors.

It is also rewarding to know that you have truly explored all the activities we offer on the farm; that is what makes the difference here at Spier.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This was a great place to be at, so many things to do both in the evening and in the day. We only stayed one night ut we regret we didn´t stay more days as it was a very nice place to be at. They had fantastic wines and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your most positive feedback on your stay with us here at Spier.

We appreciate your kind comments on our food and wine quality and would like to see you stay for a few more days on your next visit.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Nice hotel located close to Stellenbosch. Rooms are actually located in small townhouses with direct access to pools and garden. Rooms are very nice and in a typical wineland style.

Service is great and the entire hotel premise is huge. Picnic opportunities onsite available in the vast hotels garden area.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, preferably go for downstairs rooms with access to garden and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your positive feedback and kind words on your recent stay with us here at Spier.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

The breakfast is fabulous and the wine tasting is a must, unfortunately the day we spent at Spier it was raining so we were not able to do a tour of the wine farm. The warm fireplaces in the hotel as well as the room were wonderful on a cold day however the bathroom was not the best and the highway noise quite bothersome at night. The kids club was not worth sending kids to on the day we were there. Some of the staff were very friendly, others not. If you have kids bare in mind the beds are made up for them on the floor which is a nightmare moving around the room although the kids enjoyed it. Probably wouldn't return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank SamhHolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We appreciate hearing your honest feedback on your stay with us, sadly it is not as positive as we would have liked it to be for you.

We are upgrading our rooms currently and are make vast improvements to the bathrooms.

For the little visitors we have prepared an expansive program that we now run in the holidays, so we would welcome you to return and have your little guests looked after by our team.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
917 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
403 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#4 of 17 in Stellenbosch
422 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £82 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing