We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spier is a great conference venue in an amazing setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spier is a great conference venue in an amazing setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Managed an event with 70 overseas delegates from 23 countries attending an international distributors conference over 3 days. Spier is a great venue with fantastic accommodation and really good food. It has numerous eateries. It has good size conference rooms but do not use the Historical Wine Cellar for conferences as there is NO airconditioning, it is very noisy and folk simply walk through. The staff at the conference centre are really good and helped with set up. They did not get the halaal meals right each time and that was surprising, as it is a basic. The sound technicians were good and were at their stations all the time. They do great wine tasting. I highly recommend Spier for business or pleasure and will stay there in my personal capacity.

Room Tip: The rooms are like 'bo-Kaap' in a village setting. They are all really large and some are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeleine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Madeleine,

Thank you for your overall very positive feedback on your recent conference here at Spier, the team is very proud to hear that you have had a good event with us.

I have taken note of some of your suggestions and have shared this with our team to improve upon it.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    565
    145
    50
    15
See reviews for
422
764
23
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked to stay here as part of three week tour of South Africa for our honeymoon. Having been to South Africa before we were already familiar with the high standard that is throughout the majority of hospitable hotels throughout south africa. We were in no way disappointed. From the moment we arrived at reception we were greeted with a smile and the offer of a refreshment. Our room was fantastic, comfortable and little touches were made to make our honeymoon truly special. We really enjoyed the wine tasting session and the meal in the evening, and left the following day only wishing we could of stayed for longer. Best to leave on a high though! The grounds at Spier are fantastic, beautiful and vast-take your camera!! You will not be disappointed. The staff are very welcoming and professional throughout the hotel too. Would happily return or recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for your most positive feedback on your stay at Spier, the team is very proud to have made such an impact on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Superb grounds beautifully landscaped right on a river. Set in Stellenbosch Valley with awesome views of surrounding mountains. Huge spacious hotel rooms set up along narrow avenues reminiscent of a small Mediterranean village. Each block of a dozen or so hotel rooms with balconies and patios surrounds its own small swimming pool and manicured grassy yard. The main pool is next to the delicious restaurant that serves breakfast and was included each day through our package booking with Kanyezi Africa Safaris.

Spier is a working wine farm (South African for winery) and has tasting on the expansive grounds. Excellent location on Baden Powell Road approx 5 miles of the freeway and 25 minutes from downtown Capetown. There is a bird of prey rescue center on the a short stroll along the river from the hotel but still on the Spier Estate which is fenced and securely guarded 24 hours a day. We felt very safe.

Free wifi, 2 restaurants, a business center, lovely rooms, incredible setting. What more could we ask for (maybe a gym??? hint hint Spier folks). Very gracious and helpful staff. We were especially impressed with Lebo the greeter and Nadeema at the travel desk who made all our dinner reservations and some of the amazing restaurants around Stellenbosch. Highly recommended, don't miss this when you come to South Africa!

Room Tip: Rooms by the river are peaceful and relaxing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suej291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
What a pleasure to read your stunning review on Spier! Thank you.

The team, and especially Lebo and Nadeema, is most appreciative of your comments and are proud to have made your stay so welcome.

We have taken note of your hint for a gym and have been working hard to see if we can add this to our line-up of our facilities. I am hoping to report back to you soonest with our plans.

Please do re-visit us on your next trip to South Africa, we look forward to it.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had the opportunity to spend 3 nights at Spier Hotel during May 2014. I was there on a business trip and found the environment very relaxing.
I did not have the chance to go to the wine testing due to my late return every evening. The reception was very service minded and arrange and wrapped up the bottles that is wanted to purchase and bring home to be able to share good wine with my wife.
The restaurant offers very nice food. The number of dishes was a little restricted.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jonas,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay, we are very happy to hear you have had a good experience.

I am pleased to inform you that we will introduce our new Winter Menu this week with a larger variety based upon yours and other guest's input.

We do now offer the Spier wine tasting in our hotel until late in the evening to ensure you are able to experience our wines.

I am looking forward to host you for a tasting on your next visit to Spier.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I left my wallet inside my suitcase, i know it was my fault, as there was a safe case inside the room, but i was busy to realize that
I reported to the security but nothing happened
I spent 5 nights in this hotel and i realized the missing of the money after 2 nights
Also i had every day a problem with the room key, especially my room was about 7 minutes walking from the reception!! sometime i did this trip twice because the key was not working
The hotel is very classic and basic as if it was a military camp in the past
The food was very good and very delicious
In general i didn't like that much my stay in this hotel, beside it's tooooo far from any touristic area and they cannot provide any shuttle service
My friend took a taxi organized by a service provider insider the hotel but the rate to the airport was crazy!

Room Tip: - Ask for a room close to the reception - Put all your belongings in the safe - Bring your shampoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Spier, it saddens me to hear that your visit was overshadowed by the incident in the room.

I am glad to know that we are in contact with you directly to report back on the ongoing investigation into the reported matter.

Please do feel free to contact me directly if I can personally assist in this process.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I attended a conference at Spier. The food is excellent, the accommodation comfortable and the conferencing facilities great. The rooms, hotel reception, bar and restaurant are beautifully decorated and the artwork is gorgeous. Highly recommended. It goes without saying that the wine was excellent as well

Room Tip: try to book away from the road passing the estate as there are road works which can be noisy.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your most positive feedback on your stay with us, we really do appreciate it.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We are from Germany but since two years in South Africa
We are the 4th time in hotel Spier and every time it was wonderful
Many thanks to the Management and Service personal
We cannot say to everybody thank you but representative for the management Gallo and for the service Lebo
We are coming back soon
Juergen and Bettina

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juergen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Thank you for your continued support and kind words in your feedback to us.

It is very comforting for the team, and especially Lebo and Gallo, to know that you have appreciated their efforts.

We look forward to your next stay with us.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing