We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I spent several nights at the Spier for a conference. Old world hospitality, beautiful rooms with charming fireplaces. The staff was completely committed to making my stay perfect, from help with the luggage to special requests in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was so remarkable that I am still thinking about it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you very much for your most positive feedback, we are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay so much.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon with us here at Spier.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,019
    588
    146
    51
    17
See reviews for
453
802
24
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Our stay at Spier was very pleasant and the service from the staff was exceptional. The friendly greeting and wine set the tone. The room was river facing and the view onto the mountains very special.

Room Tip: Ask for river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClemD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
The team is very happy to hear your very positive feedback on your stay at Spier, it is very rewarding for them to know that you had a good time with us.

We look forward to have you back with us in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference and it was very enjoyable. The presence of Moyo is missing and the site where the restaurant was isn't a pretty one, it looks like a building site but I'm sure this is to be expected given the restaurant's closure.

Rooms are beautiful and big. There is a fireplace and an aircon which was very welcome as it was very cold! We also had a resident kitty cat stay around our room and he came to sit in front of the door and indicated to the card slot as if to say "go ahead, you open it there".

He/she was too cute and entertaining :))

Staff were very helpful and professional.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
We appreciate your most positive feedback on your recent stay at Spier, the team, including Jessie the cat, is proud to know you have appreciated their efforts.

I am happy to inform you that we are indeed working hard at restoring De Werf site to its original state, I apologise for the inconvenience caused during this process. I can assure you that the end result will be worthwhile.

I do hope to see you back at Spier in summer when De Werf will be once again the heart of our farm.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulon, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stayed at Spier for only one night which is a real shame. I would of loved to of stayed longer and spent time on the grounds, but I already had plans in Stellenbosch.

The room was very comfortable, I especially liked the fire.
I didn't have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast the next morning had everything you could ask for.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktarmitage10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your positive review on your stay at Spier, it was a delight to have you here.

Indeed the fireplaces are a great source of comfort in all our rooms.

We would very much like to have you back in summer, when you can enjoy the gardens and outdoor swimming pools more, please do let me know if I can assist you personally with your reservation.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel is spacious, with enormous suites, with a huge bed and a gas fire [needed in May - SA's winter], TV, and a great bath & shower room. Dinner was excellent, as was breakfast. Staff were extremely helpful, polite and attentive. The whole setting is huge, with walks around the winery, and a very nice pool and surrounds. A glass of wine on arrival, and 'golf-buggies' to take you to your room, and to collect luggage and people on departure. Unfortunately we could only stay one night - we'll have to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We really appreciated reading your most positive feedback on your recent stay. Indeed our fireplaces in each room are a huge drawcard in the winter and create the ambience you have so enjoyed.

We would very much like to welcome you back for a longer stay upon your return to Stellenbosch.

Please do let me know if there is anything I can personally do to assist you with your next booking.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed in Room 315 of the Spier Hotel for two nights. The hotel is comprised of a number of separate buildings with two rooms at ground level and two on the upper level. My room was at ground level. The room was huge with a king-sized bed, gas fireplace, nightstands, desk, flat screen TV, a small table and two comfortable chairs and a wine refrigerator. The room was air conditioned, as well as having a ceiling fan over the bed. The bathroom was large and well-appointed with a soaker tub and large shower with a rain shower head, two plush white robes and assorted toiletries. The room had doors leading out to a private patio with two rattan chairs overlooking a small pool - a very nice place to hang out at the end of the day. The hotel was very quiet at night. My only minor complaint, being sensitive to light, is that there was a small rectangular window over the entry door and there was no way to turn off the outside lights, which caused a lot of light to shine in the room at night.

The hotel puts out a beautiful breakfast buffet with assorted breads, fruits and pastries in one room and hot dishes in the dining area. You can also get eggs made to order. As the town of Stellenbosch isn't in walking distance, we also had a couple dinners at the hotel - one with the group I was with and another with a friend. The group dinner was a buffet, which was better than average for a buffet. The other dinner was off the menu. I had soup and a duck salad, both of which were excellent.

The hotel has a nice pool and an upstairs deck where you can sit and enjoy the views. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again if I were to go back to Stellenbosch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschneider703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you very much for your most positive feedback on your stay at Spier. The chef's team is very proud to hear that you have appreciated their culinary efforts.

I am glad to inform you that with the room upgrade project for this winter we will be addressing your point raised. All rooms will be fitted out with curtains in addition to the shutters and we will block out the small window above the door.

We look forward to having you back here at Spier on your next visit to South Africa.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We recently spent 3 nights at the Spier Hotel in Stellenbosch. Older, but well cared for property.
Good food at very reasonable prices. Generous servings. Comfortable beds.
Request upstairs rooms and sound insulation not ideal. Their own wines are good and well priced.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJR1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to inform you that this winter we will spend considerable effort into the upgrading of our rooms.

We hope to be able to show you the results of our work upon your return in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing