We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stay in the winelands with kids!”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Our family of 4 (incl. 2 kids 4 and 7 yrs) stayed for 2 nights. The room was very spacious and open. The staff was very child friendly and food was very good. The highlight for us was the beauty of the vineyards surrounding, I strongly suggest doing a picnic by the wine tasting area - we thoroughly enjoyed it! Perfect location to get in some wine tasting and also to visit other sites like cheetahs, eagles and other amazing restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

How wonderful to read you positive feedback on your stay with us, we do enjoy looking after our little visitors.

It is good to read that you have enjoyed your picnic from our deli, it is indeed a real treat sitting on the lawns.

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,910)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 1,911 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We absolutely loved our 2 weeks here, this was my 60th birthday present from my husband as I wanted to visit Cheetah Outreach which is located within the hotel's extensive grounds.
Staff were helpful and very friendly, food was great although a little limited in choice as I do not eat red meat. The only real downside for us was the cost of getting anywhere by taxi as we chose not to hire a car. A return trip to Cape Town cost almost £98.
Lovely grounds, nice pool, lots to do if you like birds/animals. The Birds of Prey centre was amazing and we had a one to one tour which was well worth the money, the Eagle owls were my favorite and very friendly.
Watching the cheetahs and being able to touch them and appreciate them and the way they are helping the local farmers to deal with them was educational and will encourage people hopefully to preserve this beautiful animal.
If you love wine and can appreciate good wine then go for the special tasting - well worth it. Chenin Blanc has become my fave white wine rather than the overated Chardonay and less acidic than Sauvignon Blanc. All in all a very nice hotel with extra's.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriswey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

What a pleasure to hear back from you on your holiday with us, it was a pleasure looking after you on your special occasion.

For your information the Cheetahs have relocated to wonderful grounds not too far from the hotel, whilst the Eagle Encounters are still on our farm and a real treat.

The winemakers are very proud of our Chenin Blanc and it is great to hear that you have appreciated their quality craftsmanship.

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

• Very impressed with Spier
• From the check, staff is friendly and helpful. The person that showed us to our room was very funny and such a refresher.
• The room is spacious, bathroom big
• It was cold and so assisted by showing how to light the fireplace
• Dinner was absolutely delishes, well presented and tasted great!
• Services was really good too
• Really enjoyed my stay at the Spier was homely and welcoming!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LucyBerndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your most kind words and appreciation of our efforts to make you feel at home.

Reading your review we have succeeded and the team is very proud to hear this.

Thank you.

Warm regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

What a great hotel
We arrived to check in at the reception and while we waited were served a glass of wine and then another! My best check in ever! The rooms were good and the gas fire added a cosiness to the room . A nice touch. The staff were all friendly and nothing was too much trouble. A special mention to Jacki with whom we had great fun tasting all the wines. Her enthusiasm was quite infectious.. The dinner menu was a bit limited but was very tasty. I did love the idea of a glass of wine being included. Breakfast was excellent ( no wine though!!!)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, indeed with such quality wine from the farm we only felt it just to offer this complimentary on check-in.

The team is specifically happy to hear back that you have appreciated their efforts to ensure you were looked after.

Thank you.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at Spier for 4 nights in July, and found the hotel to be exceptional in every way. Staff were all friendly, helpful and courteous, and we felt well looked after. The room exceeded expectations even though it wasn't one of the newly refurbished ones, with a big gas fire to heat the place up, comfortable bed, and a good bathroom (though this was a bit chilly with no heating in Winter!). The minibar with nespresso machine and reasonably priced Spier signature wine was a bonus. Food at the restaurant was excellent every time we ate (3 evenings from 4), and the breakfast was outstanding too. The Spier estate is beautiful to wander round, and the wine shop is good too- we stocked up on plenty of treats to take home, including some not sold outside the Spier farm. My car wouldn't start one morning (flat battery), and the receptionist had someone from security come over with a truck and jump leads and had me started within 20 minutes. The place has a great atmosphere and we'd love to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We really appreciate your kind words and feedback on your stay with us at Spier.

It is evident that you have been able to explore so many of the activities we offer here on the farm, which is great as it gives you a good overview of what we stand for.

We are very happy to hear that we were able to help you with even the basic requirements in life, jump starting your car.

We look forward to having you return to Spier soon.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Entrance and service at reception was excellent however the rooms were a bit of a disappointment. Very bare and chairs were uncomfortable. One good touch was the live fire which improved the ambience. We were quite a big party of six couples and ate together in the restaurant. Food was very disappointing as was service. It appeared that the kitchen could not keep up with the orders. The restaurant was by no means full. Food in South Africa had been excellent up till this experience.breakfast was much better having a great array of fruits, cereals etc. You would not have thought it was the same restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback on your stay with us, it helps us getting better at how we deliver our service.

With our room refurbishment program we will address your feedback on the room and I am confident that you will appreciate the upgrade upon your next visit.

We have discussed your feedback on the restaurant experience and have put measures in place to ensure that we excel in our delivery as we have done before.

Thank you once again for sharing your views, we look forward to your next visit upon your return to South Africa.

Warm regards,


Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for only one night and really wish we could have stayed longer. Sadly we arrived quite late, in the middle of a thunderstorm, however we were greeted with a glass of delicious chilled wine whilst we were checking in (very pleasant, every check-in should be like this!), and taken to our "room" by golf buggy.
I say "room", but this was not a room! This was a huge suite, with a total of 3 balconies, a huge bed, fire, seating area, Nespresso coffee machine, and massive bathroom with an excellent shower. We'd emailed ahead and asked the hotel for a specific room, they were lovely enough to upgrade us for free, so we had a great room overlooking the river. I'd describe the rooms more as mini town houses, in a lovely little village.
The staff are great, and can't do enough to help, even collecting guests in the golf buggies and ferrying them around the resort whenever required. The bar area is really comfortable and very reasonably priced. We tried room service for a quick snack, and ate a really delicious meal in the restaurant on the evening. Even the prices in the hotel restaurant are good value, and the wine is delicious, especially the dessert wine!
I can't fault a thing about this great hotel. We were sad to leave the following morning, not really able to experience everything that Stellenbosch had to offer, and treating the place more as a stopover en route back to the airport. If I return to this lovely hotel I'd definitely want to spend more time here. It's also perfectly located only about 30 minutes outside of Cape Town too, with the airport very easy to get to.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mrs_W_01032017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spier_Hotel, General Manager at Spier Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

It is such a pleasure to read your most positive and comprehensive feedback on your short stay with us, indeed we would have liked to have you stay with us longer.

The team responsible for your enjoyment is very proud to know that you have appreciated their efforts, thank you.

We look forward to have you return to us at Spier on your next visit to Stellenbosch.

Kind regards,

Joep Schoof

General Manager
Spier Hotel & Leisure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
897 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#7 of 17 in Stellenbosch
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
406 reviews
6.6 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#10 of 17 in Stellenbosch
389 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £95 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing