We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for families with young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent for families with young children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights over the New year period and really enjoyed our stay. We had a great room on the ground floor backing onto a small garden with a small pool shared amoung another 5/6 rooms. The place is huge with lots of different things to do. The Cheetah and Bird encounter place is great. They have lakes and a river, lots of things for the kids to see. Big lawns for them to run around in. The food was good with service friendly but a little slow. Chilled out atmosphere. Really enjoyed out time there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    565
    144
    50
    15
See reviews for
422
761
23
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2010

Spier is just a few miles outside Stellenbosch and the hotel is part of the Spier estate, which has extensive vinyards, a cheeta outreach centre, a raptor centre and other attractions. The "rooms" are in a "village" a short walk from reception, in a beautiful setting. All the facilities are very good and the service was fine. I can recommend their wine too!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigJemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

We spent two nights here in a superior room overlooking the river. The room was beautiful with a huge balcony, however the weather was cold & wet. We booked our eveing meal in the hotels main restaurant in advance & the booking was confirmed as we checked in, however when we got to the restaurant we had no table. We had to wait 1hr 30 mins for a table, I wasn't pleased! It was worth the wait as the food was fabulous. During the week the hotel is popular with corporate groups on training days/conferences therefore they dominated the restaurant & the bar area, not great if you want a romantic meal.
Our second night we ate at Moyo but we were so full from our lunch that we hardly ate anything. The atmosphere in the main tent is great, it really is worth a trip.
We each had a massage in the spa which was delightful.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dora_the_explorer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights where we watched a cultural show in one of their restaurants called Moyo, saw cheetahs & eagles as well as wine tasting, eating well and relaxing! the staff are very friendly and all food and drink is very reasonable in price. The pool is kept very clean and a lot of guests used it. The hotel is easy to get to by car.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sneha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We stayed here as part of our two week trip to Cape Town, Wineland and Garden Route. The hotel is lovely, modern looking with massive rooms. We ate in the main restaurant in the evening which was really good. We could have eaten at MOYO which is a buffet restaurant but speaking with other travellers later on in the holiday there were mixed reviews on this. The wine tasting area is quite commercial and busy but well worth the R20 or R30 payment. We went quite late in the day (when it was quieter) and the lady explaining the wines to us was quite generous with her measures!! The deli is really good and there is a large picnic area behind it to eat your purchases. Definately recommended for lunch. All in all a good hotel and a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hernextdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We weren't sure what to expect when we arrived at Spier. However it didn't take us long to work out it was a beautiful place with plenty to keep us occupied on our 2 night stay. The food and wine is superb at all the venues. The African buffet and Moyo experience is one not to be missed as is a visit to the Cheetha sanctuary. However as you would expect the highlight is the wine tasting, with really knowledgable, friendly people taking you through some exceptional wines. Don't just visit for the day stay over so you can really enjoy it.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BucksAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

This hotel is a small part of a very large complex which is maintained to an excellent standard. The fact that it is also a conference venue means that it is visited by South africans as well as tourists and I think this helps it to keep an element of the culture at the same time as offering imternational standards of service.

The rooms were a little in need of refurbishment with windows and doors looking a bit past their best but the rooms were comfortable and very clean. The staff working in the hotel were all very helpful, efficient and incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saarj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#5 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Property: Spier Hotel
Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing