We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way below average”
Review of Spier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Spier Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The visit to Spier was a disaster.
Not only is the overall service VERY slow but the whole process is completely disrupted and non-functional.

Three tippings on the ice that made us run away from this place:
- rooms that do not allow to darken, so morning light and noise make you wake up way too early
- chefs who drop a poached egg to the floor and then put it back in the boiling water just to be put on the next customers plate
- Dinnner at Moyo, which was the prime reason for us to visit this place, was deep below average on a number of scales including quality of food and the non-matching reality of what they call a tree house

Recommendation for folks who want to earn value for money: stay away from Spier

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i-love-zermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,871)
There are newer reviews for Spier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,577 - 1,583 of 1,871 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2010

This is a beautiful place with plenty to do. Go! But don’t expect anybody other than the cart drivers to know anything (or at least to tell you) Services are fragmented and people serving don’t seem to have the habit of talking to each other. Reception was not aware of some special requirements long before fixed. We had two rooms. One adult an one child each. One of the rooms had a third bed prepared. We insisted we did not need that but it was made up every day. One room with full fridge, the other empty. Notified to reception. So? Reception had ZERO knowledge of the restaurants in the area ( some of them very good). We shared some of the ‘inconveniences’ with the duty manager, he apologised but nothing changed. All these not life or death so you will survive! It just frustrates me how a fantastic place can be so poorly managed. For those of you thinking ‘that is South Africa’ I can tell you I have been in four stars hotels in SA managed with the exquisite ways of a Four Seasons. It can be done! Spier is overwhelming on its insistence of green and sustainable environment credentials. You are told hundred times about the good things they do for the environment and for those green lovers this is paradise. But You can’t have a sustainable, ecological business run with un-sustainable, eco-illogical management. Well, you can, it is Spiers

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelPlaces2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 January 2011

Dear Foodlover2010uk

Thank you for your feedback.
The service you experienced is indeed shocking and I acknowledge that we went through a period where our service was below standard or at best, inconsistent. This is deeply regrettable because we know our guests experience must exceed our promise. For this, we have let you down.
For the most part, Spier has a reputation for excellence in not only our environmental and social approach to business, but also for our exquisite accommodation, restaurants and our service. It is not always clear why we can offer such good service for much of the year and then seem to drop the ball on other occasions, but it is a management issue which we take very seriously and are addressing as it is the heart of our business.
Kinds Regards on behalf of the Spier Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Our stay at this hotel was fantastic!

From the wonderful wines to the helpful staff to the cheetah reserve on site it was superb.

The room was spacious and the bed comfy.

We ate in the hotel's restuaurant for dinner and breakfast. Both of which were very tasty. If you would like to eat at either of the other restuaurants on site you'll need to book in advance as both were fully booked.

The highlight of our visit was the cheetah reserve.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 January 2011

Dear CK2211
Thank for posting your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.
The team at Spier.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

This hotel is really lovely, the gardens and surrounding countryside are stunning. The pool are is also really lovely and peaceful.

The hotel itself is set in small blocks. The rooms are enormous with huge comfortable beds, stone floors, and shutters at all of the windows instead of curtains, the bathrooms are enormous too. At night you could hear a pin drop it was so quiet.

The complex is laid out over quite a distance so if you want to see the Cheetahs or birds of prey they are up the far end from the hotel. They get a lot of day visitors but you are not aware of it at the hotel as you are away from it.

We went to MOYO for dinner. Yes it was a bit touristy, yes it was also the most expensive meal we had all holiday (£60) but it was definitely an experience, and the ambience was great. At the end of the day I was a tourist and i was on holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. There are two other restaurants at the hotel so you don't have to go there. Breakfast in the hotel was another huge buffet with something for everyone.

I loved this hotel and would thoroughly recommend it for one or two nights.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCoulson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

A touch of the 1930s decadence about this luxury hotel on a wine estate with wild life park and lots more.
Service absolutely first class and the rooms outstanding.
Like most South African wines they look good and are well promoted but unfortunately Spier and its neighbouring Stellenboch wines are still not in the same league as the Australian/Chilian, Californian reds, nor the New Zealand, Australian and Californian whites INMO. Thats why they are always the cheapest in the UK supermarkets. Even the supposed better wines fall well below the competition however as good genuine gulpers they slipped down a treat.
If you want to stroke cheetahs and see white lions on the next estate, a trip to Spier is recommended, but it is very very commercial

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKTravellers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We spent 2 nights here as part of our holiday to SA for my wife's 30th birthday and were generally impressed with the overall experience. The staff were friendly and efficient from reception to bar/dining and at the wine centre and the food in the hotel restaurants & deli was very good. The room was spacious and nicely made up although the bathroom was a little bit tired.
There was plenty to do in and around the hotel grounds which were immense, the Cheetah Outreach centre was a highlight for us and it was amazing to spend time with the Cheetah and learn about them.
Wine tasting was also very reasonably priced and our sommelier Tyson was an expert in his field. Well worth getting the premium tasting (R80) as Spier make some cracking wines, especially Pinotage.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JumboMumboLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2010

We stayed at this hotel with our young family while my husband was attending a conference here.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay; this is a very family orientated hotel and there was plenty to amuse my young children without the need to leave the site (although the surrounding area is lovely). The grounds are very well maintained, with fantastic picnic areas and great playgrounds. Unfortunately the very nice pool is not heated, so mild hypothermia was an issue once or twice!

The rooms are pleasant, and large enough to accommodate an extra bed and a cot. I liked the fairly sparce, traditional style of the rooms, although as others have mentioned, the bathrooms are a bit rough around the edges. Housekeeping was a little haphazard; some days there was a turn down service, and the number of towels and robes in our room varied.

We enjoyed the extensive buffet breakfast. The restaurant staff were fantastic with my children, and we felt very welcome throughout our stay - not always the case in smart hotels when travelling with young children.

The other restaurants are good in different ways. The food, decor and service at Eight were brilliant, my daughter enjoyed feeding the fish and ducks and scoffing a mezze plate on the Deck, and Moyo was entertaining. For adults the wine is an obvious draw, and it is very reasonably priced from both the shop and the bar. If only we could have brought more home with us!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#9 of 17 in Stellenbosch
887 reviews
5.4 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Devon Valley Hotel
Devon Valley Hotel
#6 of 17 in Stellenbosch
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 17 in Stellenbosch
400 reviews
5.3 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#8 of 17 in Stellenbosch
856 reviews
7.0 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 17 in Stellenbosch
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spier Hotel

Address: R310, Stellenbosch 7599, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Price Range: £87 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spier, in the heart the famous Cape Winelands, is more than a hotel. It is a destination in itself. One of the first hotels in South Africa to be Fair Trade in Tourism certified, Spier offers visitors a variety of authentic experiences - from food and wine to outdoor activities - in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Spier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing