We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful setting, fantastic service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed here with our 10month old baby and felt very relaxed and at home. Our room (in the new block), was beautifully appointed and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a cot set up for the little one and housekeeping did a fantastic job cleaning up his mess.
Breakfasts were a delight, and every assistance was offered with the baby - a babyseat at the table, preparation of breakfast for him, and plenty of cuddles and smiles from the staff.
In particular, Ana in housekeeping was a favourite friend of Charlie's!
The grounds of the house are beautiful - gorgeous gardens and spectacular views.
It is well situated for visiting the amazing wineries in the area and we would definitely return to this hotel when we're back in SA.
Thanks to all the staff at Devon Valley for making the start of our SA trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bubsinthebackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    181
    47
    23
    7
See reviews for
80
310
10
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tel aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2011

Top boutique style hotel with superb rooms, overlooking the mountains , excellent restaurant ( you must taste the fillet ) Peaceful location. food is fresh and attractively displayed, and hotel is spotlessly clean , and try the cheese basket for 2( at night) it is excellent . The stuff are very nice and wellcome you with smiles service is exceptional . we enjoy every moment at this hotel , wish we can stay ther longer.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dbn32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2011

run down hotel, pool is green, toilet seat is broken, food in the restaurant was very mediocre. Wine on the wine list not available. Alternative Wine of the house vineyard drinkable but did not taste good. From our view the hotel is not recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tevbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SylvanVale, Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am truly sorry for the fact that we somehow didn't live up to your expectations during your stay over. It is always frustrating having to respond to a guest review especially if it is not clear who the person, when he stayed or in which room he stayed. It is also not clear from your review if you discussed your concerns directly with any of our duty managers or reception staff during your stay over, but I would greatly appreciate more details if you are willing to contact me directly. Please see my email address below.

I do feel that your review is quite harsh and very subjective, but of course you are 100% entitled to your opinion and also have the right to post comments about your stay. All I can do is try my utmost to secure as much detail as I can in order to follow up with my team. The only clue I have as to the approximate date of your stay, is your comment about the pool. Two weekends ago (4 & 5 March) our main swimming pool did in fact turn a tinge of green due to an irrigation pipe that burst sometime during the night of the 3rd of March. The water from the burst irrigation pipe flowed into the pool (a saline pool) and unfortunately turned it a green colour literally overnight. If you were part of the tour group that arrived on Friday the 4th of March, you would recall that I specifically made an announcement on the group's arrival on the terrace advising of the pool situation and that we were treating if overnight (on the 4th) and that the colour will return to normal within a day or two (which it did - a bright sparkly blue, as it still is and normally is). Our smaller pool at the Manor House rooms section was also still available as an alternative to use.

The water's saline concentration unfortunately became diluted due to the burst irrigation pipe in the garden next to the pool and it can happen with pools that the colour can be quite dramatically impacted in a very short period of time. I profusely apologised to the tour group on their arrival and my reception staff were also aware of the situation in order to advise all individual guests on arrival. The pool was still 100% safe to swim in though and I specially mentioned that as well. I did what I could to communicate about the matter, but of course a pool with a green tinge is not the expected norm at any hotel and for that I sincerely apologise.

Your reference to our food and wine offerings are unfortunately also relatively vague and again I can't respond with any accuracy given the limited details given in your review. Someone's taste in wine is a very subjective thing and you are entitled to your opinion and unique preferences in wine. It is unfortunate that some of the wines on our winelist were sold out. Your waiter should have advised you about this beforehand. If you did not receive clear communication about this in the restaurant I can understand your irritation. Our SylvanVale range of wines however are regularly receiving rave reviews from guests and wine critics and have received numerous awards. However, I can understand if for some reason it was not to your liking. We do have an extensive wine list which was awarded the Diners Club Diamond award last year and I am surprised that you did not find anything to your liking on the list.

I also don't know in which room you were staying and whether you reported the maintenance item. We do have a system of preventative maintenance checks in place as well as on-site maintenance staff who are able to respond quickly to room issues reported by guests. I do trust that the toilet seat problem was resolved speedily if you reported it to my reception team.

I will greatly appreciate it if you would consider forwarding me more details as I would like to do further follow up and also find out if you will ever be returning to the Stellenbosch region and be willing to give us a 2nd chance at offering you a truly superb stay over experience. I look forward to hearing from you!

All the Best & Kind regards,
Marlize Stander
Assistant General Manager
Email: info@devonvalleyhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towcester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

We had a wonderful 6 day stay at The Devon Valley Hotel. Staff were most helpful and friendly. The room we had was superb with balcony at the front and a small swimming pool at the back, which was almost to ourselves (about 5 rooms share it).
Food in the restaurant was very good and excellent value, compared with European prices.
Gardens around the hotel are extensive and beautifully maintained and we also took advantage of the boules court and the larger swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmgtowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

The hotel is located within vineyards, very calm & relaxing. But nevertheless it's close to the beautiful towns of Stellenbosch & Franschoek, with good access to Cape Town and many popular attractions such as Cape Agulhas, Cape of Good Hope, Simons Town ...
The prices are reasonable and the staff is very kind.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UB-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

We've just returned from a tour of South Africa and have no complaints about any of the places where we stayed, but I have no hesitation in choosing Devon Valley as our favourite---the best food and wine, the loveliest location, wonderful rooms and helpful, attentive staff. The pool was superb, and we wished to stay longer---and free, high speed internet too, whereas in other hotels it was 30 Rand for half an hour and sometimes didn't work!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank KlaraZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

The hotel has a real quality feel without being fussy, rooms food etc of a different order to other (good) hotels we stayed in South Africa. It was a special wedding anniversary day for us and the staff really went the extra mile when I asked for flowers, bubbly and chocolates for my wife's surprise. We will be sure to return on our next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IanofCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
Devonvale Golf & Wine Estate
#9 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
3.7 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
3.7 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing