We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie paradise”
Review of Devon Valley Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Devon Valley Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Stellenbosch
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Foodie paradise”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I have been at Devon valley several times for conferences. Part of the reason I stayed there was because I knew of their delicious food. And boy did they bring it! Gorgeous food, friendly staff, and nice rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Shirley M

Many thanks for your wonderful review.

We are delighted Devon Valley is your favourite place to conference!

See you soon.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    196
    49
    24
    7
See reviews for
89
335
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

On approaching Stellenboch from the south you will see a sign pointing to the Devon Hotel. The road takes you through vineyards to this non modern but beautiful hotel.

We went for Sunday lunch and had the most wonderful dining experience ever in a lovely environment.

The meal was a carvery and buffet type . You have a huge selection of starters, then for mains, the chef slices from joints of meat for you. Our choice was lamb and oxtail. Huge tureens hold vegetables and many other items to top up your plate. Go back for more if you can manage it.

The dessert table groaned under the selection of puddings, all delicious.

The wine selection was superb of course being in the wine growing area.

The attention from the staff was immaculate. The price was very reasonable.

Don't miss this gem if you are in or near Cape Town, it's only an hour by car

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_paxton627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear p_paxton 627

Thank you for your review. We agree! Our Sunday lunch is very special and as you saw popular.

We encourage our guests to book early as we are often fully booked.

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay! Slightly expensive but worth every cent. Just round the corner of JC LEROUX sparking wines. The valley is beautiful and is a Great place to go for walks in the vineyards and mountain sides.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Kevin M


Thank you for your review. We do try create value when you stay with us and delighted you felt so.

Not only can you walk in the vineyards, but we do also have exciting Mountain bike trails!

We hope you will be back soon


Kind Regards Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Just about 40 minutes from CapeTown, yet you feel a million miles away, I can not have asked for a better 3 night stay anywhere else. Starting with the amazing staff and their warm welcome to entering our amazing Luxury room with open en-suite, gas fire place and french doors opening to a beautiful big tree in the centre of a perfectly manicured lawn. The food, WOW!
Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Stephanie B

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to have created a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back here soon!

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

This hotel was pure luxury, from the beautiful rooms, bathrooms, views to the food and wine! We really enjoyed staying here, we were given a room upstairs in the furthest block from the restaurant. Which suited us fine. The views were stunning, we couldn't take enough photos! In the heart of the winelands I would not stay anywhere else! The staff were incredibly helpful, and room service is a must for a quiet night. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom well designed. If you are staying here and looking for a winery to visit try Boschendal winery.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room in the furthest block for amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigghogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Tigghogg

Many thanks for your review.

We are delighted we created Memorable experiences for you at Devon Valley.

We trust you will return to South Africa again, to visit you new home away from home

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

I recently had guests from Scotland and England, and was looking for someplace special to stay over as part of our business travel in the Stellenbosch area. All my queries before booking was efficiently answered and responses from Andrew (Hotel Manager) was prompt and friendly. The accommodation was superb, the room ambience with fireplaces and open plan bathrooms was perfect. The views from the hotel are awesome and the resaturant food was top notch! Absolutely brilliant, I will definitely make use of Devon Valley Hotel again and can recommend them to anybody looking for a special venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Deon L

Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted we impressed and created a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip!

Kind regards

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I enjoyed a wonderful honeymoon at the DV Hotel in 1980. The service and hospitality by the staff was wonderful. Everything was special ! What I can remember the food was well served and presented along with a huge room overlooking the valley. In 33 years it seems that the treatment you give to current guests hasn't change a bit just with better more modern amenities. It's about time the I revisit the hotel and relive that special moment again. Unfortunately my wife won't be with my wife as we are happily divorced (after 29yrs) ! Congratulations on your award Jon

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew D, General Manager at Devon Valley Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Jon

Thank you for your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Andrew Dietrich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stellenbosch hotels
5.4 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#4 of 16 in Stellenbosch
1,819 reviews
3.6 mi away
Coopmanhuijs Boutique Hotel & Spa
3.7 mi away
Eendracht Hotel
Eendracht Hotel
#3 of 16 in Stellenbosch
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
Asara Wine Estate & Hotel
#8 of 16 in Stellenbosch
868 reviews
3.6 mi away
Stellenbosch Hotel
Stellenbosch Hotel
#7 of 16 in Stellenbosch
808 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
Lanzerac Hotel & Spa
#1 of 16 in Stellenbosch
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Valley Hotel

Property: Devon Valley Hotel
Address: Devon Valley Road | Devon Valley, Stellenbosch 7600, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Stellenbosch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Stellenbosch
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stellenbosch
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stellenbosch
#7 Business Hotel in Stellenbosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Devon Valley Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Devon Valley Hotel is hidden away in a shady, green and peaceful corner of the Stellenbosch Winelands showcasing breathtaking views of the olive groves, vineyards and majestic Helderberg Mountains, while offering the finest in authentic ‘handmade hospitality’. ACCOMMODATION: The Devon Valley Hotel’s 50 stylishly furnished suites reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel while enjoying unobstructed views of the mountains, vineyards and olive groves. The spacious Luxury rooms and Executive suites in the Manor House are the hotel’s premier offering, ideal for a romantic escape or a rejuvenating retreat. Comprehensive Overview: The Classic Rooms are situated in the historic Cedarwood building and have been tastefully refurbished to reflect the contemporary colonial feel of the hotel. The valley-facing rooms each have their own private decks and the north-facing rooms open onto private courtyards with wonderful views of the vineyards and olive groves. The Manor House is the hotel’s luxury offering. These stylishly decorated rooms are the ultimate in luxurious Winelands accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Devon Valley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devon Valley Western Cape

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing